Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

  • 1984
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
45
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 August 2005
Every review on here mentions the hits on the Album: Jump, Panama, Hot for Teacher, I'll Wait. Undoubtedly, these are all very good songs. But the songs that make this album one of the all time greats are: Girl Gone Bad, House of Pain, Top Jimmy, and Drop Dead Legs.
Girl Gone Bad and House of Pain are perfect examples of why Van Halen arguably can be considered the best Rock band ever. Virtuoso performances from everyone with an angry edge...the type of songs that leave you with your mouth hanging open at a loss for words.
Top Jimmy and Drop Dead Legs are at the other end of the spectrum: Virtuoso performances from everyone with a fun "let's party" edge...you can spend countless hours trying to listen to every riff that comes off of Eddie's guitar.
1984 is a Top 5 of all time album. Buy it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
This a great an album from the days when Van Halen seemed to go into the recording studios and just have a blast! The stand-out tracks are the anthemic "Jump" - nonsensical lyrics but a brilliant track with an awesome guitar solo - a real must for the air guitarist! "Panama" is the kind of track that has to be played at ear-splitting volume while driving a convertible at top speed in the summer sun - guaranteed to get you tapping your foot and roaring along with the chorus. As for "Hot For Teacher" no matter how often I hear it, it always makes me laugh and smile at Dave Lee Roth's spoken lines before the rip-roaring verse and chorus kicks in. The other songs featured are great too, but the above three alone are worth the price of the album. Edward Van Halen's amazing skill with the guitar, Michael Anthony's superb bass lines, Alex Van Halen's imaginative drumming and those crazy David Lee Roth vocals... AWESOME! Buy it now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2015
Van Halen; the genius of Eddie's playing, the pounding of Alex's drums with Michael Anthony's bass rhythm and then the delivery of the unique vocals done by Dave Lee Roth (someone who must be one of the best show/front men of the rock genre) and you have the perfect cocktail that just hits the mark every time !!!!!!! The (probably without knowing it at the time) original innovators of glam metal were just way ahead of anything that had gone before in nearly every respect - Van Halen's classic line-up of Eddie, Alex, Michael and Dave together, were just the 100% perfect recipe!!
This was the final album from the classic line-up and, what an album it is with tracks like House Of Pain and Girl Gone Bad that could easily have been put on their very first debut album as they sound and, are, soooooo good !!!! Other tracks like Panama and Hot For Teacher just kick ass - fabulous!!!

If you wanna listen to Van Halen, buy the CD's with this line-up of the band.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2015
My favourite Van Halen album 1984. It was also a very poignant year for me so maybe thats why it has such impact. Great songs and great rock era the 80's had some cracking rock bands and Van Halen were certainly one of them., This is a Diamond Dave Van Halen not a Sammy Hagar Van Halan so its the big hair skin tight leather trousers and skyscraper styletto heels look and sound - which I personally loved then and now. All of the tracks on this album are fabulous. Jump was my favourite but Hot for Teacher soon became a very close second. Panama is another that sticks. Love listening to this when the roof is down and doing a burn up in a hot rod. Just takes me right back.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 March 2007
As everyone knows, their great frontman left after this amidst much recrimination and blaming-each-other on the parts of EVH and Roth. It`s pretty scary that it all happened 23 years ago (I missed it being too traumatising back then, due to my age)...but if only Eddie wasn`t in and out of rehab in 2007 and they could just get along I`d still love to see the classic VH line-up live, and even better, record some new stuff.

I still think 6 amazing albums is a pretty decent output, and can`t think of many other bands who`ve managed that. 1984 isn`t my favourite, but it`s still a stunning, 5-star effort. The band weren`t all that happy with Eddie starting to throw a few keyboard numbers in and I think I agree with them, but "Jump" and "I`ll Wait" are great songs, just not the hard rock we`d learned to adore from the previous albums. "Jump" has one of Eddie`s greatest guitar solos on for sure. It`s not really that song though that makes the album so special. There a three or four others that are a sign of a band at it`s absolute peak. Firstly, "Panama", classic Roth, with the sort of tongue-in-cheek sleaze that VH never showcased again with Sammy Hagar. Classic Eddie too, he just blows me away every song. Alex and Mike are great as ever too. "Hot For Teacher" is wonderful too, funny and loud and a real party song! "Top Jimmy", "Drop Dead Legs" and "Girl Gone Bad" would be career-best songs by any other rock `n` roll band. My favourite song though is one of the less heralded VH tracks and the album closer, "House of Pain". It`s almost as though Eddie had distilled all his anger with Roth`s antics and released it in the form of this huge, monster of an attacking solo. It was one of the earliest written VH songs that missed the cut on all their other albums but Alex insisted it was on this time and thank God. If I could play the solo I would die a satisfied man...it`s amazing and I`m always stunned by it...I know guitar playing isn`t all about speed, and that`s why I love EVH because the feel is incredible too and it`s perfect.

So, buy it. And revel in the greatest four-piece rock band there ever was (and who knows...perhaps they will be again one day)!
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
love this album and lead to me getting the rest of the dave lee roth albums. great vocalist, brilliant guitarist and most importantly in the world of rock they had fun and didnt take it too seriously compared with other bands of the time. I have noticed none of the first 6 van halen albums last more than 30-35 mins which these days is quite short. However if this is all they had then fine, the quality was generally pretty consistent.

great to see dave lee roth back with the band even the reunion album was pretty decent!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2001
If you take a moment to think deeply about it, the year 1984 was a shining jewel in the very drab crown that was the 80's music era. This album is fittingly titled in retrospect, seeing Dave Lee Roth's departure from the band ending on a high note. Although the band were experiencing considerable personal difficulties throughout the writing and recording of this album, none of that manifests. On the contrary, this album is ultimately a "feel-good" recording, hailing back to a time when everyone wanted to play guitar like Eddie, and get the girls with one-liners spawned from Roth's verbal catalogue with a cheeky grin. The album incorpotated more widespread use of synthesizers, and saw the band more mainstream as a consequence. Despite this, Eddie still continues to amaze us with his matured use of finger-tapping, and guitarists amongst us will undoubtedly remember trying to copy his 6 fret stretch that is the incredible opening riff to "Hot For Teacher." As if Alex's double kick-drum technique wasn't enough! This track starts with drum patterns that sound like a Harley Davidson idling ready to be revved up to produce a staggering sonic boom.......enter Eddie! Other stand-out tracks include the legendary "Jump" featuring more keyboards and another famous guitar solo - just to prove again that Eddie hasn't taken leave of his senses and gone soft on you. "Top Jimmy" sounds like more Roth's work than anyone elses, and no doubt used a formlua that was to ensure his initial solo success. Tracks from his debut solo LP "Eat 'Em And Smile" sound similar. "Panama" is another feel-good song, with it's open road imagery and fast car references. I don't know about you, but I definately drive better when this track is on! If you want to be taken out of your little world for a while, if you want the sun to shine, if you want to imagine pretty ladies, if you want to hang out with the coolest bunch of lads in the universe.........check this out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2016
The original Van Halen at their peak. The blend of keyboard/synth sounds and guitars is superb and absolutely every song is just fantastic. Every person in the band is at the top of their game and it is a MUST HAVE album for every rock/metal fan. Nuff sed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2004
This was the second Van Halen album I bought, and I have to admit it took me a week or so to get into it. I thought, from listening to the first track, 1984, that Eddie was going too heavy on the synth, and then, with Jump following it, I thought I'd made a mistake.
But now, this is one of my all-time favourite albums, which definitely shows that you should give new albums a chance. Let's not beat around the bush here: 1984 is utter quality, and I know people would probably brand me a heretic for what I'm about to say, but...the original lineup with David Lee Roth was as talented a band as Led Zeppelin.
Despite my initial reaction, 1984 isn't too heavy on the synth at all: most tracks are guitar-heavy, such as the excellent Panama (with which I welcomed in 2004) and the awesome boogie Hot For Teacher (which is also a great example of Eddie's brother Alex's superb drumming). Roth is again a perfect vocal choice to put forward these testosterone-laden tracks, able to sound like an obsessive teenager in I'll Wait, to the frustrated roar in House of Pain, the superb closer.
After this, you'll probably agree: it's a shame that Roth had to leave.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
A tight, taught, frantic, sharp album, which has a relatively short running time but is crammed with more ideas, riffs, screams, grooves, hooks, yelps, innuendos, fun and of course brilliant guitar solos, than most records you'll hear.

The amount of ideas falling out of Eddie's guitar on the eight (proper) songs on the disc are worth the admission price alone. Add to that DLR, (who can almost be heard strutting about the studio when you're listening to it) in the peak of his pomp, and one of the best engine rooms in the business,(ever) grinding away behind them, and you have the complete rock record.

If you only ever buy one Van Halen album, make it this one.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)