Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 December 2003
This 25th Anniversary Edition (Anniversary of the band, not the album I might add) is Remastered and Expanded.
Bunnymen fans always seem to rate this as their least favourite album, I'm not one of them.
The original release was badly worked and was recorded much quieter than one normally would expect. This Remastered Edition addresses that and then some. The 7 additional tracks just add to the quality of the recording, although there is clearly room on the CD for an additional few tracks from the Bunny vaults.
If I was to record my own best of The Bunnymen CD, Tracks 3 'Bedbugs and Ballyhoo' and 6 ' Lips Like Sugar', would make it on to it every time. If it were a double CD, I would have a good deal of trouble deciding what to drop from the remaining 9 original release tracks. Although tracks 9 'Blue Blue Ocean' and 11 'All My Life', although good songs, are my least favourite.
After the release of the 4 CD Box Set 'Crystal Days 1979-1999', and the additional tracks on the 5 Original Studio Albums 25th Anniversary Editions, it is difficult to see the Bunnymen releasing any more back-catalogue releases.
This is a shame, as I would like to see a box set of live material released, from the myriad of sources out there, be it Bootlegs or Radio recordings.
Get this album if you want to be entertained.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Really wanted this 'older'CD to add to my collection. I found the product quickly and was delighted with the price and the support information supplied. However, just having aquired an IPod, I decided to download it instead. The process was very quick and efficient, literally in seconds and with easy to follow instructions too.
With this download I actually got extra bonus tracks, so the whole experience was brilliant. Looking foward to using Amazon again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
Traditionally, bands have a difficult third album, but the Bunnymen wouldn't be the Bunnymen if they did as others do. Subsequently, they got all the way to album five before having problems. The odd thing is that while the Grey Album lived up to it's nickname in '87, it now sounds fresh and full of life. I can't, hand on heart, say it has the swagger of Crocodiles or the might of Porcupine, but it has something. Time has been kind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2004
Okay so it's not as raw and left field as their earlier albums but this is still a fine collection of songs that most bands would kill for.It's also the last great album they made.Ignore all the flack this record and gets from fans and critics, an 'average' original Bunnymen album is still streets ahead of most of the competition.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
forgotten how good they sound, will no doubt buy more, as they are still on my cassetttes!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2015
Good album, not the best nor my favourite. Good extra tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2014
Classic Echo & The Bunnymen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2014
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
#1 HALL OF FAMEon 10 December 2003
Echo & the Bunnymen (1987)was a major disappointment when it surfaced some three years after career peak Ocean Rain & the lovely compilation Songs to Learn & Sing (1985). Originally titled 'The Game', it was retitled in light of McCulloch's realisation that a Queen album had been called The Game...
This was the point where the Bunnymen were expected to go stratospheric (as too were bands like The Smiths & The Waterboys)- it didn't really happen, ironically the Bunnymen would become most well known at this point in their career for their cover of The Doors' People Are Strange for film The Lost Boys (argghhh!!!). In fact, there were two versions, one closer to the original; both aren't included here- though there is their take on Soul Kitchen. This album was created in a hail of ego and conflict- McCulloch probably drowning in the former (well, he had just made Ocean Rain!) & the latter created by Pete De Freitas' soujourn as a Sex God (a story told in Julian Cope's book Repossessed)- which found him replaced during the recording with ex-Haircut 100 drummer Blair Brown & New Order's Stephen Morris. Other guests include Ray Manzarek (who should have produced- see the X albums he did: brilliant!) & The Christians' keyboardplayer Henry Priestman.
Songwise this is a poor set- singles The Game and Lips Like Sugar stand out, though in the Bunnymen sense of great singles, they're nowhere near singles like Rescue or The Back of Love (closer to Never Stop, I suppose!). Most of the songs sound half-written, shadows of their former selves- tracks like Over You, Lost & Found, All In Your Mind, & New Direction are almost there. Something was very wrong. This perhaps is expressed in the fact that Bedbugs & Ballyhoo (from 1985) was re-recorded; the Bunnymen were over and this was their death knell: McCulloch would go solo (& produce the best post Ocean Rain album so far, Candleland), De Freitas would die tragically in a motorcycle crash & the other two would carry on with a new Bunnymen line-up for a few albums. The Bunnymen, or what was left, reformed but were soon back down to the Electrafixion-duo of McCulloch & Sergeant- making it clear that the heights of Ocean Rain won't be reached again. Sad that the Anton Corbijn cover is the best thing about 'Echo & the Bunnymen'.
While this album is very poor, the bonus tracks are actually quite good- generally focusing on the 1985 single Bring on the Dancing Horses (abysmally covered by Simple Minds a few years ago!). From that release we get the lovely Bring On extended mix (as well as the Jimmy Brown demo)alongside the superior original of Bedbugs & Ballyhoo and the equally great Over Your Shoulder. Then again, much of the decent stuff from this release turned up on the career box-set Crystal Days, which is a more worthy purchase.
In the late 1980s there were many great albums- Technique, Black Celebration, I, All Shook Down, Blue Bell Knoll, Ultra Vivid Scene, Bug, Nothing's Shocking, Playing With Fire, Bleach, Disintegration, 3 Feet High & Rising, Sentimental Hygeine, Eldorado, I'm Your Man, New York, Oh Mercy, 13 Songs, Spirit of Eden etc.- this isn't one of them. If this were a Television album, it would be Adventure; yes, it's that bad...
22 Comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£4.99
£15.19
£9.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)