Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 6 June 2013
"Both Sides Now" probably stimulated the interest of a new generation of music lovers after hearing the song in the film "Love Actually" (which was terrific).
The song here is deservedly given center stage on the album: it is classic,iconic and so many performers(good and bad) have shown that the words and melody of this piece can only enhance their C.V.
Here Joni performs her very own song with a full orchestral backing. At times she seems to merely speak the lyrics, not sing them, and this just adds to the majesty of the song.
A throughly engrossing album which burns into the heart.
Cheekily if you peek into the artwork of the cd you see Joni smoking and drinking at a bar: above the bar is a sign which says "No Smoking".Thats Joni!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2017
So sad that Joni is no longer and will no longer be able to record. Such a huge talent to lose. But Both Sides now is another example of the Queen of Folk at her best! Stunning (though not strictly 'folk.'. This is however another masterpiece (of Jazz and Crooner standards). If you like Travelogue, you will love this too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 October 2016
Must admit I got this just to see what she made of these American Songbook classics. She's astounding (as per) and makes Rod's versions sound laughable (if they weren't so tragic).The arrangements and orchestrations are absolutely gorgeous and the overall treatment sumptuous. These kind of songs are not my normal listening, but I could listen to Joni doing them all day. What a treasure she is. May she long be with us yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 20 September 2015
This is a beautiful album; it really is, super smooth singing and great backing and orchestration.
It’s all quite laid back, but clearly very classy. I really enjoyed listening to this and will easily put this on many times in the future – it’s that type of album. If you just want to relax and chill … then this is the album to do it to!
I have heard better versions of some of the standards on here and that’s why I am giving this album 4 stars, rather than 5 stars! You can’t conquer all just because you’re ‘JM,’ but she makes a damn good try at it here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 May 2017
Beautiful music at a laid back pace. Such a change from her early work. "Both sides now" and "a case of you" will haunt you forever after.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 January 2016
This CD is just perfect - sound, interpretation, all. Mitchell's voice, grown darker and huskier than it used to be in her youth, fits perfectly with these interpretations of the classics of the Great American Songbook. Two of the songs are Mitchell's own: A Case of You and Both Sides Now, and they fit perfectly in this company, which only underlines Mitchell's own stature as a songwriter. Mitchell herself has expressed doubts as to the value of her classic song Both Sides Now; in her book of interviews with Mitchell, Joni Mitchell: In Her Own Words, Malka Marom records Mitchell saying that she has been criticized for writing such a song at such an early age, which somehow, in the eyes of the critic, would undermine the message of the song, which should have required more life experience behind her to be wholly credible. Well, no such worries here, as Mitchell at this point of her career certainly has the required life experience to sing her own song with credibility. For me, Both Sides Now has been, quite simply, one of the most beautiful songs ever written by any composer in any genre, That such a song could have been written by a songwriter at the age of 21, is nothing but an example of an artist using the gifts of empathy and imagination that are the essential characteristics of all great art.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2015
In "Love Actually" this is the present that made Emma Thompson weep! Didn't make me cry, though! Joni's version of Jazz standards with "Both Sides Now" and "A Case Of You" added. I like Joni's slower versions with her deeper more mature renditions! I have ALWAYS loved every Joni records, paints or writes, so, I really enjoyed this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 February 2015
For me there is something about the maturing qualities that reveal themselves as some artists progress through their careers and certainly Joni Mitchell's lyrics are in my view enhanced by coming from a more worldly wise place. The orchestration adds weight to the pieces too - the lyrics stand up extremely well to the passage of time and I find this to be a very enjoyable recording that fans and people unfamiliar with JM can enjoy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2016
The two original songs are exquisite, and the "standards" are very appealing too. The orchestration is OUTSTANDING (compared, for instance, to the orchestral arrangements on Sting's recent orchestral-versions recording) - very rich in colour, not too predictable and developing harmonic content with superb flair. Awesome, and very moving.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
I love her voice , I had this album years ago and am happy to finally have it again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Hits
£6.49
Blue
£3.49
Clouds
£3.49
Hejira
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)