Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
107
4.0 out of 5 stars
Monopoly (Nintendo Wii)
Platform: Nintendo Wii|Change
Price:£16.42+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 June 2017
Very good thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
it is good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
If you like the Monopoly board game you'll love this. Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
This version is good wholesome fun, with all the classic shapes and a fantastic array of the special edition boards included as part of the game. I also really like the selection of mini games it offers, which are perfect for when we cant dedicate the normal three days to mammoth world-conquering game. These mini games generally run at about half an hour and rely on various changes to the gameplay to shorten the game, they're surprisingly entertaining.

The movement of the pieces is different to previous games too, they move along with less creative animation than previously (on the old PC version the sub was submerge into the board and float along etc but this animation would take forever) it would be great if they could find some happy medium between having some character variety in the animation and the speed of the transition.

With all the praise over, the soundtrack is simply horrendously bad. A lot can be learnt from this on what not to do. Given the length of the games it becomes increasingly more and more grating.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2009
This game is a wonderful compilation of the Monopoly board game. It not only features the original game, but also features the world edition as well as many other board designs. Fun for the whole family although a little boring if played alone. The computer characters don't really have a clear strategy, and often end up buying every property they land on which can be annoying at times. However the games adjustable difficulty settings make up for this.

The 3D style is typical of EA's usual design and they certainly have designed it well.

For those of you who like short bursts of play and get tired of long extended play, this can satisfy everyone. By tradition, Monopoly can last for hours. This game however, features a quick play option so that a game can be completed in 30 minutes or less! It also has an option to save a game so that you can come back and continue playing at a later date.

This game also features mini games in which players can play for fun, or compete for advantages while playing the main game.

Overall, this game is great for family play and a must have for families who are fans of Monopoly!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
I agree with the other reviewers who have given this 4 stars, the game is good but the repetition of the Monopoly man can get a little annoying, I'm surprised that there isn't the option to turn him off. The board game is played as you expect and there are various other boards to try as you play more and get your passport stamped. This is one Wii game you can be lazy about as it requires little movement on the controller just the odd (optional) shake of the dice.
11 Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Bought this game as I thought it would be fun with the family. A fantastic game when you have four human players, but if you have less than four players and need to play against the "computer" then make sure you play with the "easy" settings. Otherwise the experience is dented by the game's AI.

I thought it was coincidence at first, but after a few weekends it was obvious that clicking on a higher skill lever just meant that the electronic dice would work against you - as will the "chance" and "community chest" cards. You'll find that you keep landing on a competitor's property and travel in and out of jail, while the AI-operated players snap up the squares. Disappointing.

I know that the Wii is designed for group gaming and when playing in a group this is a great game - but the family aren't always around so unfortunately with less than three players the game is unplayable.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2009
Once you have played this, you will most likely never play the board game version again. It is so easy to play and is very addictive. Ok so the music is a bit repetative, but that doesnt affect the fun you have. There are lots of options and different boards to unlock so you will have hours on fun trying out new things, or just playing the classic game. If you are a Monoploy fan, this will be a great purchase for you.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
If you like the original type of monopoly then give this a go. It is very clever,works out all the money etc and doesnt need putting away at the end. You can save your game half way through with no annoying bank notes to clear up! It does take a little bit of working out and getting used to to know how to trade properties etc but is worth persevering as gets easier with use! My husband finds the graphics a little hard to read on the tv screen although we have a large tv, but I think thats more a problem with his eyes rather than the game itself as I dont have the same problem.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
Got this game for christmas and loving it. Think some of the other reviewers haven't actually played before writing review. The games are all open to begin with; you can buy new tokens and boards to provide a differnt setting. By pressing the number 2 button you can fast forward speaking and movement - this is clear and stated on every screen - therefor you do not have to wait for ages for the other players. I haven't found the music frustrating but i have played with the option menu which allows you to change volumes of speaker and music.
My only problem with it is that sometimes you do not get paid and other times you get double, not sure why maybe i have discovered a cheat code but haven't realised!!
overall, its much better than the board game and love the 3d view as you move round the board.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)