Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
61
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.29


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
I used to have a couple of New Order on tape years ago. So I thought I would buy a cd. I had forgotten how good they are and have really enjoyed listening to it. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Just excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2015
Good Album for any 80s child or younger
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
the best :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2004
This 16-track 1994 compilation is probably the best single-disc overview/introduction to New Order. Included here are the radio formats of "Shellshock", "Touched By The Hand Of God", 1990's "World In Motion", and "Blue Monday '88", all making it for the first time onto an official full-length release. However, the collection in my opinion is not a definitive Best Of, since some of the New Order's stand-out tracks (True Faith, Bizarre Love Triangle, and Round & Round) are featured in their alternative 1994 remixed versions, which are not by any means better than the splendid originals. The present collection was also released in America in 1995, but with a slightly different tracklisting; in particular the non-album track "Let's Go (Nothing For Me)" was included on the U.S. version. What I would really have liked to see here was a 2xCD set, with the first disc representing the original versions of the best tracks, and then a companion disc featuring the new mixes as well as some rarities. For example, they could have included the rare dub version of "Touched By The Hand Of God", hard-to-find club mixes of "Round and Round", or the instrumental version of "Vanishing Point".
11 Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2016
Can't find the version, I bought, but anyway, new order made unique music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2000
I got this album when my curiosity for New Order's music restarted sometime around 1996, and was after a brief resume of a career which due to my age (then about 14, now 18) I had largely missed. The Best of served a purpose, and was an enjoyable listen. More than that in fact, a superb album. I loved the emotions of 'Thieves Like Us', the orgasmatronic 'Perfect Kiss' and the frankly awesome '1963' and 'Vanishing Point.'
So far, so good. Why only 3 stars, you may ask. The answer is this - the versions of these songs differ to many of the album versions. The 94 rehashes of 1963 and True Faith I consider to be sacrilege to the wonderful 12" versions found on Substance 1987. The version of 'Fine Time' is put to shame by the one off 'Technique' and quite why 'Blue Monday 88' is on the album and not the masterful and legendary original is beyond me.
The album has some nice non album additions on it, like 'World in Motion' and to some, I concede, 'Blue Monday 88.' 'Touched by the Hand of God' is probably the overall outstanding track on the album. However, on an album with versions of songs the quality of 'Thieves Like Us,' 'The Perfect Kiss,' 'Blue Monday,' and 'True Faith,' this properly demonstrates the true position of this album.
After the demise of Factory, this album smacks of London Records on a mony making exercise. Who in their right mind would put 'Ruined in a Day' on the Best of New Order? Other than a record company out for a quick buck, I can think of nobody.
Anyway, back to the point. For an introduction to the band, this is a reasonable start, and if you see this cheap in a bargain bucket somewhere, get it. For a real introduction though, get Substance 1987. 150 minutes of audial ecstasy (except 'State of the Nation' and 'Shellshock') and the best compilation album ever made. Get that instead.
22 Comments| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2000
A truly amazing compilation of pop songs that will never age. From the electro-rock of 'blue monday', to the magical bassline of 'regret', to the best football anthem ever 'world inmotion'. New Order had a knack of writing beautiful, emotional pop songs that you could dance to. Thank you Hooky, Barney, Gillian and Stephen!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
First time that I have purchased a new order album. Does not disappoint. One or two tracks are a bit difficult, but otherwise good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.19

Need customer service? Click here