Learn more Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
41
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.59
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2008
All the songs from both albums are here along with the Christmas single. The only downside is they could have made this a double disc with the b-sides from the singles on the 2nd disc. But other than that 80 minutes of The Darkness, you can't go wrong with that.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2008
I was always put off by the NME but I needed a good present for my Dad.
Really impressed, good tunes with a Queen/Rock feel to them, reminded me of School Discos. Very cheap and you almost get both albums plus Christmas single.
Wonder what Justin Hawkins will come up next with his new band?
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2009
I have listened to both records by The Darkness, which are reproduced almost in their entirety here - some stuff is weak eg Blind Man, but the overall fun andenergy on this record, is a real turn up for the books, compared to most of the half-baked and gutless stuff passing for rock these days
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 19 February 2015
'The Platinum Collection' may seem an extravagant title considering The Darkness only chalked up two studio albums and a handful of hits when this compilation was released, but hey, it was part of a series, and the music here is catchy, very fun, old-school rock music that was remonstrant of Queen. I was a big fan of The Darkness 'back in the day', and still play the first two albums which make up this CD, along with the bonus of having the festive hit 'Christmas Time (Don't Let The Bells End)' included as the final song, which was a nice touch.

Between 2003-2006, the band tallied up six big hits, including the infectious but overplayed 'I Believe In A Thing Called Love', and the superior 'Love Is Only A Feeling', a nice ballad with sweet guitar work, both of which were included on the first album 'Permission to Land'. There is another track on here which is similar, 'Seemed Like a Good Idea at the Time', and this was included on the second album 'One Way Ticket To Hell ... And Back'.

The Darkness have since reformed and have given us a third album with 'Hot Cakes', but this single CD is the best reminder of the band's earliest success. It would have benefited from a few B sides added on, but hey, this is excellent value for what it is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2014
Not sure why I am willing to write a review, as there may be someone who reads this, who actually knows me and realises that I parted with cash for this? In all honesty I really love the music and Justins voice, it's just not cool to tell anyone that! Ssssshhh, buy it and enjoy it on your own, in the dark when there's no-one else home!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2016
Bought this just before Christmas. I'd forgotten how good they can be. Yes, there are some weaker tracks but as all tracks are short it's never long before a brilliant track comes up. As well as the hints of Queen, AC/DC and others, I also noticed hints of Sparks from 1973ish in the vocals, vocal harmonies reminiscent of City Boy. A great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Just buy Permission To Land (the first album) then you will not be distracted by or have your listening experience diluted by the much poorer tracks from the second album etc - sometimes less is more - just put Permission To Land in your player and listen all the way through in the correct order with no cuts or if you've already bought this then programme Permission To Land only for the best Darkness time to be had (that would be five stars rather than the hamstrung three that this bloater got). Bit harsh you say - all the same tracks are on this compilation anyway - ah, yes, but if this collection is someone's first experience of The Darkness they will hear a band which average out somewhere between poor and excellent but if their first Darknessing is Permission To Land they will likely be blown away by a stream of excellence - in both cases their opinion of the band will be formed accordingly - see what I mean ? What was that, Shuck ? You don't what ? ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
So here's the deal. Take the 2 albums you've recorded (this was released before they reformed), add a christmas single and release at best of thing that reminds everyone how good this band are. Works for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2011
I remember seeing television coverage of a festival where there was daytime coverage if floppy fringed indie bands who fell completely flat in that sterile festival atmosphere (or rather lack of atmosphere) but then my first glimpse of The Darkness, not my kind of band at all, although I did link many of the big "Rock" bands of the 1970s. Justin Hawkins in his totally Spinal Tap spandex jumpsuit just lit up the stage, and it was a pretty small stage at that time.

There is something rather magical about this band, it just shouldn't work but it does. When they were on Top of the Pops with Christmas Time (Don't Let the Bells End) it took me right back to the 70s when Wizzard, Slade and the rest made Christmas singles a real event.

This CD contains both albums plus that over the top Christmas single. If you don't have their albums or got rid of them and now regret it then here is the budget way to get them. The CD is cheap but the Amazon mp3 download is cheaper. You can then reorder this into the original albums on iTunes/Window Media Player, or whatever you use, and prepare for the new album due soon, supported by a tour with the full original line up
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2016
Thought it was long about time I bought an album by these guys! It DOES rock, and it does that well. Love the whole production sound. Haven't heard the band for some years now. Could do without the naughty words but the music is rock solid and well performed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse