Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2005
I've got the original album what do I need this for? Good question, what would a Killswitch fan want with an album they already have? At least that's what I though when I first heard about yet another re-release.
Well for a start, they don't already have this album, they have 50% of this album. With this special edition version of Killswitch Engage's massive selling 'The End of Heartache', you get a whole other CD, as well as brand new art work, and two much talked about videos.
Unlike many re-releases, you won't have to wait until the end of the CD (or press skip an agonising 13 or so times), to get to the new, unreleased material. With this package, there's so much extra material that it has to be put on a whole new CD. Meaning you can either listen to the original album, or throw in the new CD and listen to all the good stuff straight away. All of which is a must hear for any KsE fan, with live versions of songs new and old, and even older. This CD is an essential release for anyone with even a fleeting interest in the New England metal merchants.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
I like this album when my mood negates it great driving music I think would recommend I always try to buy from zoverstocks as I've purchased a lot from them and Always get great price and never a bad disc recommend them highly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2005
to be honest when this record was re-released i was a miffed, i love KsE and i knew i would end up buying it even though i already had the original, but once i bought the re-release i forgot that feeling immediately! its great! the new cd of material is awesome + very interesting to hear some unreleased/new to me material! so i would definately recomend this to anyone who likes KsE, it is well worth getting the re-release even if you already have the first one, and if you don't have either, what are you waiting for???????
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2004
After listening to the first album(Alive or Just Breathing) then listening to the second i have come to the important conclusion that 'the' Howard Jones is the best man for the job, after taking over from jesse(original singer)he has taken the band onto a new level of greatness, the new songs sound excellent(they make me head bang) and howards voice adds to the whole feel of the band.
'A bid farewell' is a brilliant start to the album, it brings all the ellements of the 'old' KsE and mixs them with the new members, 'Rose of Sharyn' is the radio friendly song off the album, but it gets people into the band. The solo in 'Breathe life' is amazing and brings a new edge to the 'metalcore' scene which so many bands keep appearing from.
All in all i would advise everyone to buy this album, it kicks ass, and its amazing
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2006
This is Killswitch Engage's third album, but their first with vocalist Howard Jones; who replaced Jesse Leach in 2003. The album itself it absolutely superb. Real Metal at it's best, with heavy grungey guitars, acompanied Bass, and fast drumming. However, Killswitch Engage show a very melodic feel to their music. Even the super heavy start of 'When Darkness Falls' has it's area of "singing"; most songs beginning with rage, but entering an emotional chorus or bridge.

The guitar work is truly superb. Tight playing, and well written riffs. The drumming is also very good, the double bass drum being used on many occasions. But the vocals, people may differ in oppinion on this subject. Jesse was an absolutely fantastic front man. With his rageing screams and growls, and his emotional singing, he really was the best "Heavy Metal" could offer. Howard Jones is also very good in his own way, and I think the veteran Killswitch Engage fans are the ones who dislike him. I personally prefer Jesse, but I know many who prefer Howard Jones, I guess it's all just down to personal taste.

I think the album is absolutely fantastic, and Killswitch remain my no.1 favourite metal band. Stand out tracks like 'A Bid Farewell', 'When Darkness Falls', 'Rose Of Sharyn', 'The End of Heartache', and 'World Ablaze', really show off their musical talent, and I would seriously recommend this album to anyone who likes Metal with an Emo backing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2004
What is there to say about the new KSE album? Quite a lot actually.In two words..f*&^ing awesome!!!
After the superb "Alive Or Just Breathing" they have only gone and moved the benchmark again.From the crushing riff as "Bid Farewell" kicks in and Howards vocals enter,I instantly thought "bring on the pit" in anticipation of their upcoming tour."Take This Oath" is equally good,the combination of Howards amazing vocals,Adam and Joels twin guitar onslaught,new drummer Justins superb drumming style and the rumbling bass of Mike shining through showing many bands how to do it."When Darkness Falls" with its catchy melodic chorus going into the albums stand out track "Rose Of Sharyn"..simply one of the best tunes in recent memory..amazing.Then KSE give us a minute odd instrumental entitled "Inhale" which could easily be extended into another fine tune which then goes head first into "Breathe Life" then the catchy as F*"& title track where the vocals really stand out showing Howard as more than worthy of replacing original singer Jesse Leach.Then "Declaration",the awesome "World Ablaze",another superb instrumental "And Embers Rise" before the final pairing of "Wasted Sacrifice" and the hardcore feel of "Hope Is..", with a Hatebreed style chant chorus round off this amazing album..
If you do not know this band yet or havnt heard them...you NEED to.KSE are gonna be around for a long time...BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2004
hello buddy care to lister to what i have to say for a mo?
if so read on,
klllswitch engage have been my favorite band for some time now well a couple of years. i was starting to feel there was a hole as they have only visited the uk a couple of times, but then i heard the had a new cd coming out. excelent! i bought it strait away and it blew me away. i was slightly anxious to hear howard jones' lyrical content for killswitch engage. i mean ive heard him with blood has been shed but it is not as good as jesse david, but still pretty heart warming. having seen howard jones singing with KsE i think he is a great front man but i wish i could have seen Jesse!
i love jessed david's poetic screaming, if you do, you should check out his new band seemless.
so my tip to you is get a hold of the end of heartache by killswitch engage and seemless' self titled debut and turn the volume way up and the rock will blow your brains out.
thankyou
-Rich
oh and by the way Adam D is the one playing drums on KsE's first 2 studio albums, Tom Gomes just played the live shows until howard introduced Justin Foley from blood has been shed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2004
I've had the pleasure of listening to this album several times and it rules. The new singer (Howard Jones) is far better than Jesse. He has more style and depth in his voice.
1. A bid farewell - This song is one of the best on the album and it shows how good Howard is
2. Take this oath - This song isn't as good as ABF but it does feature Jesse and it still kicks ass
3. When Darness Falls - My favourite track on this album, from start to finish I was gripped
4. Rose of Sharyon - The first single from this album and it is also another favourite, it is a beatuiful track
5. Inhale - This is the first intermission track it's very melow and relaxing
6. Breathe Life - This song features the only guitar solo on the album but it kicks ass and this song kicks ass
7. The end of heartache - This is a very melodic song and it is also another favourite. This really shows off Howards vocal talents
8. Declaration - This song is short but sweet and it is quite heavy
9. World Ablaze - This song is very meaningful and is a brilliant track true Killswitch
10. And Embers Rise - This is the second intermission and is a brilliant one at that
11. Wasted Sacrifice - For some reason this song stands out to me and I love it, it an amzing track
12. Hope is... - This is a great way to end the album and the song is great
Overall this album has amzing riffs and vocals and they're brilliant live so buy this record and I promise you will love it
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
So, I'm sure every KsE fan has been waiting both excitedly (a new album!) but also anxiously (new drummer and vocalist).
OK - it's a matter of opinion but i must say i like Jesse more than Howard (go and check his new band out Seemless) now let's move onto the actual album;
the album is a much brighter affair than 'alive or just breathing?' (even though that itself had uplifting bits). this is presumably down to howard's lyrics, which are more simplistic perhaps than in the other album (in terms of topic) - love, hate and a kind of perserverance being uppermost in this. the music, both instruments and vocals are still amazing - howard's voice almost matching jesse's in its amazing dexterity. the music is somewhat more to the fore here with two short instrumental tracks included which make the album hang together well, and some guitar playing (and drumming) that leaves you going - did they just do that? + it sounds like you heard it before (not in a bad way) but just like it's classic before you even heard it - you know the kind of song...?
adam's production is first class, so too is the mixing by the ever impecable mr.andy sneap who had worked with great bands such as earthtone9 but also did the job for KsE's last album too.
i was going to put 4 stars in fact - however, when you play this record you can tell its the kind of clasic that creeps up behind you and takes you by surprise - not like 'AojB?' which slapped you around the head! the artwork is also cool and the album is just the round package - you wont regret parting with your money and i also must congratulate KsE, roadrunner and amazon for getting the price to such a reasonable level - hope the other labels are taking note!
key tracks; 'when darkness falls', 'rose of sharyn', 'the end of heartache' and 'world ablaze'.
fanstastic - long may they go on.
and if you like your heaviness then check out johnny truant, adam. d's new production project - their second album... :)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
Killswitch engages's 'alive or just breathing' opus was a powerhouse of beatdowns, bone shredding riffs and beautiful vocal hooks. 'The end of heartache' is even better. It does have to be said that Howard Jones' vocals add so much more to the songs. Jesse Leach was superb, but Howard puts in the best vocal performance of any cd this year. The punishing riffs are still there, but there is a definate increase in the melody. This is no bad thing, as Howard is in posession of a superb singing voice. The rest of the band put in superb performances as well, the riffs ever more crushing, the drums ever more pounding. I seriously doubt if any album will beat this this year. You must own this album, it will blow your head off.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here