Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Alannah Myles
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.99


on 3 November 2017
Awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2017
Black Velvet was the key track for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2012
I returned to this album after Amazon recommended it to me off the back of another purchase I'd made. I didn't need to buy it again, but it did make me dust down my original and have a listen to reminice on past glory's!

The title track will always remain a classic piece of rock music. Very few tracks really sound as original twenty years on from their original release, but this is one of those that does. Unfortunately, the rest of the album doesn't fare so well. There are a few likeable tracks ("Still got this thing", "Rock this joint" and "Lover of mine" are examples), most of it's pretty inofensive, it's just that it's a lot weaker than the one track everyone knows.

The net result is an album that, in it's day, was a fairly decent album, with one stand out track and a bit of filling. Unfortunately, unless you're a hard core fan, it probably won't keep you coming back time and time again. If you found the title track on a compilation album where all of the other tracks were pretty strong it would probably be more satisfying listening than this album. Basically, you'd be buying it for one song anyway, so you might as well find something with a few other tracks that you'd keep returning to as well.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 April 2003
Back in the days when manufactured pop actually produced decent music, pop bosses selected dark husky Canadian siren Alannah Myles to head their latest chart offensive. With her snarled and scrambled raven hair and shiny leather, Myles' pale countenance and grey eyes cut a startling figure on the record cover; coupled with the jazzy metallic lettering, the cover revealed exactly what this artist was meant to do: find a brusquer, rockier void in the midst of the pop success of Belinda Carlisle, T'Pau and the like. Enter guitars, Myles' rasping vocals, and more guitars into the same lyrical mould as Heaven Is A Place On Earth and hey presto! Alannah Myles: the debut was born.
Myles was quickly forgotten after this offering, while Carlisle continues to sell countless compilations at mid-price and still makes the odd public appearance; Myles has never been seen again. The curse of the Canadians, you think? Perhaps, but the primary evidence lies here. Myles was never given pop melodies as strong as Summer Rain or I Get Weak (both Carlisle hits), and lyrically the majority of her debut is dire. A simple glance at some of the song titles explains: Lover of Mine, Just One Kiss and Who Loves You could easily fit into any modern Ibiza collection without a second glance; in a rock chick discography they represent historical suicide. There is one major exception to this, though...
Black Velvet. A soft rock classic, formed in the minds of pop impresarios but exalted by Myles herself, Black Velvet stands head and shoulders above the rest of the record. Nominally a ballad, it transcends such restrictions to become that holy grail of all manufactured pop: a creditable masterpiece that has shed all the tags and baggage of the pop assembly line. Dark and dusky, Myles exerts every vocal graze and scratch possible in a sort of restrained sonata that exudes the same apparitious mettle of 10cc's I'm Not In Love or Guns N Roses' November Rain. It deserves a place as one of the greatest singles in rock history.
Black Velvet is exemplary of all that is good about Myles' debut: the husky vocals and striking guitar work are reflected elsewhere, notably in Love Is and Kick Start My Heart. Opener Still Got This Thing showcases an arresting conversant guitar riff that simply makes the song, while the solo in Rock This Joint is euphoric. The collection falls away as it travels, culminating in the turgid closer Hurry Make Love. This is not to say that it isn't, on the whole, likable. If Pat Benatar and her type is your style, then this is for you.
For the sake of Black Velvet, Myles cannot be forgotten.
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2010
Back in the day when this first came out, I remember playing this endlessly, loving every track for it's catcy pop-rockiness. I heard "Black Velvet" on the radio recently, the album's big hit, got nostalgic and decided to reacquiant myself with it.

In the cold light of 2010, it's rock by numbers sounds dated and doesn't really cut the mustard. The aforementioned "Black Velvet" is still masterful and "Just One Kiss" still rocks but the rest just sounds a bit formulaic. As a previous reviewer said the song titles didn't take alot of imagination.

In 1989 I would have given this 5 stars, not now. It's still not a bad record just adequate. You're better off getting some Pat Benatar who this record really wants to be.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
This first albmu of Alannah is great solid rock album.

Second album (Rocking Horse) is not as good as this first one.

Later production of Alannah is something else than solid rock, so in my mind they are not so good. Disclamier: I'm not so sure what kind of album Alannah third album (A-lan-nah from year 1995) is, becuase I currently do not have it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2003
Alannah's debut album is a masterpiece! Made famous by her hit single 'Black Velvet', 'Alannah Myles' follows with a great rock sound and punchy numbers. But among those rock anthems, such as 'Still Got This Thing' and 'Love Is' is the tender and emotional 'Lover of Mine'. On this album, Alannah sticks to what she does best - fast paced and exciting timeless classics. But it is on the fantastic 'Black Velvet' that she really shines. The power and passion in her voice is breathtakingly clear. But she also has incredible range - though perhaps this is not demonstrated best on this album. But, for the time being, who cares about range? Who cares if the style is fairly similar throughout this particular album? The sound is great, I can't get enough of it - so I say the more the better! This is an album that will always be a favourite - but 'Black Velvet' will always be the greatest ever song for me!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
This is Alannah at her best ,With Her sultry voice She sings her way through a variety of great tracks including the great Black Velvet,which I love.I can fully recommend this CD
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2010
think american rock circa 80's (Suzie Quatro-ish) - every track superb - particularly Black Velvet great for listening to in the car.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I first listen to this record a long time ago (about 23 years!!!) a friend of mine lent me his CD for some time and I remember very well that I was exited at the time. I very much liked the sound (Bluesy rock) and the voice of this female singer. I didin't change my mind over the years. I still enjoy listenning to Alannah Myles!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Alannah
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)