Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
75
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£3.49


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 September 2017
Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Yes needed to replace my original cd this came so quickly and sounds even better
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2016
Amazing and really pleased. It's only taken 22 years to get re issued on vinyl 😀
review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2017
One of Madonna's best albums. This has been beautifully packaged but is let down by the cover image which is not as sharp as the original. I would have also liked the colour to have been a bit stronger like the CD cover.
Gatefold sleeve, lyrics and album notes are included in a separate sleeve which can be used to hold the vinyl if required. They just can't seem to make the inner sleeves like they used to which seemed stronger and longer lasting in my opinion. Happy to have this but it seems a missed opportunity to create perfection like the album did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Love it
This is M's first album after Erotica and she delivered good tunes without a lot of need for turmoil
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
After the disappointing performance of Erotica in 1992 (nearly six million copies sold), Madonna knew she had to boost her diminishing worldwide popularity and revitalize her career and sales. She also knew she had to soften her image after the controversy of Erotica album and her highly unoriginal Sex book (it was a cut-paste job that completely ripped off Bettie Page's work with Irving Klaw in the 1950s). Madonna was no longer the number one female artist in the music business for most of the 1990s, which is why she moved into R&B music to compete with the likes of TLC, Mariah Carey, Whitney Houston and Janet Jackson, four of the biggest female artists in the industry at that point. Madonna followed their lead by bringing on board Babyface, Dave "Jam" Hall and Dallas Austin, three of the most in-demand producers in the R&B world.

Even though Bedtime Stories did OK its sales of seven million copies worldwide paled in comparison to Daydream (25m) and Music Box (32m) by Mariah Carey (officially the highest selling female artist of the SoundScan era), CrazySexyCool (24m) by TLC, The Bodyguard (45m) by Whitney Houston, and Janet (20m) by Janet Jackson. Even Take a Bow, Madonna's longest-running #1 single in the US (seven weeks at the top) got overshadowed by Mariah Carey's One Sweet Day, which spent a record-breaking 16 weeks at #1 (Fantasy spent eight weeks at #1). Take a Bow flopped in the UK, peaking at #16 before falling out the charts within weeks.

Bedtime Story (the song and music video) ripped off Bjork. I know she co-wrote the song with Nellee Hooper and Marius De Vries but did Madonna have to sing like Bjork on the song and then dress up like her in the music video? Apparently Bjork was uncomfortable with it. Madonna brought Nellee Hooper on board for Bedtime Stories, a producer who had worked with Bjork on the critically acclaimed Debut in 1993. Madonna also ripped off Nina Hagen in the Human Nature music video, and a lot of the imagery used during the era was "inspired" (for the millionth time in her career) by old school Hollywood stars like Bette Davis. Although Bedtime Stories yielded a few hits around the world, I think it's largely forgotten nowadays by those outside of her core fan base.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2008
I first bought this album in 2OOO, and was bowled over by how chic, luxurious and well made this album was. Even though at the time, the album was 6 years old, it still sounded groundbreaking, modern and better than anything about at the time in RNB - (Mariah, TLC etc). I can listen to this album whenever - its one of those rare albums where it suits you for any occasion - its great when you're feeling upset, great for getting in the mood, or just feeling really happy. The best songs are undoubtedly 'secret' and 'survival'.
Even now in 2OO8 - an astonishing 14 years after its release it still sounds really good - better than Nelly Furtados 'Loose' Album, and better than Mariah's new CD. It just goes to show how unrivalled and superior Madonna is compared to her 'rivals' in terms of her choice of musical style, choice of lyrics and choice of producers to work with.
I understand this album was more or less overlooked by the world upon release- I think the world was still unforgiving of Madonna since her course'SEX' obsessed phase 2 years earlier. In fact this album ironically is full of the softer, richer, sensual side of sex, which is the direct opposite of her last albums theme. Even though this album has sold around 10.000.000 worldwide, it was no way a dissapointment. In my opinion though, it should have sold 3 times that.
It is my favourite Madonna Album to date, and i would love her to release an album of similar material once again to give the world a second chance to experience a more 'sensual, rich, chic side to Madonna.
I you want an album which will become a timeless piece to your music collection, buy it NOW!
The artwork is also superb, with some fantastic, gorgeous pictures of Madonna.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
When I first heard this years ago, on its release, I wasn't impressed. In fact not keen at all. But, I realise now I just wasn't ready for it then. Now I think it's sublime. Laid back, late night, chilled R&B. I'd say the perfect chilled R&B album. So relaxing and soothing to listen to. I agree with the reviewer who said Madonna was ahead of her time with this one. Way ahead. A sheer delight to listen to.
The only track I'm not keen on is Take A Bow. For some reason it's never appealed to me and I really do not think it fits in well with the rest of the album. Maybe that's why they've tagged it on at the end, but I really wish it had not been included at all. It seems to have a different musical vibe to the rest, but there you go, I'm sure there are those who feel entirely differently, this is just my own personal point of view. Anyhow, this album is great to just relax and wind down to, perfect for calming the mind, whenever you feel in the need of some peace or just before drifting off to sleep. All right to listen to with company but may be preferable when alone, for some needed 'me' time to breathe deep and feed the soul. Madonna is such a versatile artiste and this album has become one of my favourites of hers, for when I'm in the mood for this type of chilled music. Confessions, Ray of Light, Music, and Erotica are all good, never keen on True Blue, but this kind of flowing sultry mood is something she should explore more often I feel, I'd love her to do another album in the same or similar vein. Lovely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)