Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 3 September 2016
For some reason I have lost three copies of this album over the years but I so like it I keep buying replacements. It's the first album that she made and for me the track Fast Car" was the sound the summer of 1988.

Her music is so simple and the words so meaningful each track is unique and instantly recognizable from the opening chords. The one track (without chords) that I always found difficult to listen to is "Behind The Wall" and unfortunately I think a lot of women relate to it. "Why" is also a very powerful social comment. The album is a quite revolutionary overall but gives a very good insight to her repertoire and "Baby Can I Hold You" is a shining diamond in the middle of the rough.

An acoustic great that will stand the test of time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2016
This is one of those albums you remember from the 80s and it never ages and one of the best acoustic voices you'll hear. The best and most memorable song is "fast car" and it's still so much better than the recent cover version which simply doesn't do it justice.

The lyrics tell the story well along with the catchy tunes. It's an all-time classic album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2017
I have loved this album ever since buying it on vinyl when it first came out. It is a wonderful sounding record also, one of the best pressings in my collection. I bought this CD to give as a gift to a friend overseas. After reading some of the other reviews I hope that it will play alright.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 December 2014
Quite simply one of the best records ever recorded!
Every single track on the album is both thought provoking and beautiful.
Tracey Chapman should be required listening at school to demonstrate beautiful songwriting. She is exceptional!
Totally and Utterly Brilliant! :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2014
This is one of those albums that you play when you want to hear something intelligent and insightful.

If you have your friends round for a party, this is the last thing you want to play!!

The Lyrics are wonderfully thought through and the gentle flow of the tracks makes for a beautiful listening experience.

A Classic album about life and class differences
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2018
What can I say, Tracey Chapman is a fantastic singer, me and the girls always have it on full blast and have a good sing a long
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2012
There is not a single space filler track on rhis album. All the songs are strong with individual identity.
The unfussy production complements Tracey's deep soulfull voice perfectly, allowing the lyrics and her vocal delivery to come to the fore.
It is difficult to do justice in descrbing the style: a singer/songwriter of her calibre has her own unique brand. I would characterise it as soul/blues fusion.
The range of subject matter and delivery is wide, with particular focus on human rights and inequality, with songs like 'Talkin Bout a Revolution', 'Fast Car'. Then there are tracks like 'Behind The Wall' and 'Why' on abuse and injustice. And her offerings on love cover the angles,: the longing in 'Baby Can I Hold You', suffering with 'For My Lover' and the heart rending hymn 'For You'.
A truly wonderful, soul grabbing piece of art.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
Very good condition. Great value for money. Have bought many items from this seller company. Would recommend this cd as a great purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2015
This album is a just a brilliant album made of lovely acoustic songs with minimal 80's over production which is why it was sooo good when it came out it is just superb. It just is so stripped back compared to most 80's stuff that it stuck out like a sore thumb Just brilliantly fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2009
This is the album that has "talkin about a revolution" on it. Great album. She was recognised because of this song and as one of the other reviewers has said, no one does emotive music like tracy. One of the unsung heros of our time. Also "fast car" which always pops into my head when i think of high school as thats all i listened to, for some one to make a herself better and get out of the hell she was in!. "Baby can i hold you".... SSSOOOOOOOOOO much better than the boyzone version. Original is best, and this song proves it.
all in all great tracks and great album
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Fast Car
£0.99
Crossroads
£3.49

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)