Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

  • Todd
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 July 2001
with his two previous albums todd had done 'pop'("something/anything") and psychedelic brainstorm ("a wizard, a true star"). for me the 'todd' album beats those as he achieves a mixture of both styles but with a depth that showed what they call 'artistic maturity.'
i heard the album in 1975 (yikes!) and was immediately struck by it's beauty.
lucious melodies ("useless begging"), pop gems ("a dream goes on forever"), various acid noodles ("drunken blue rooster") and gonzoid rock ("#1 lowest common denominator") make for a demanding but transcendental visit into the mind of todd in '74.
it certainly has little of the 'easy 'side of todd(ie.'i saw the light') that is understandably more popular but stick with the darn thing.....this dream is ...magic.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2007
Bought this 30 odd years ago and it still gives me a buzz.This was one of several great albums released in 1974. The others being War Babies,Sheet Music,Secret Treaties,Pretzel Logic and Kimono My House. From the breathtakingly beautiful Dreams Goes on Forever through the surreal No 1 Common Denominator and ending with the wonderful Sons of 1984 this album is a testament to the most creative complete musician that ever breathed. Personally I think the period 1972 to 1978 was Rundgren at his creative peak. The great thing about Rundgren is that you cannot pigeon hole his style. Such was the diversity of his music. Todd shows him perhaps in his more experimental mood and is perhaps a more demanding listen than his previous offerings but equally as satisfying.

TR is not just a jack of all trades musically but the master of all of them. Buy this along with Something /Anything,A Wizard a True Star and you will rewarded with some of the most inspired music ever made. Faithful and Hermit in Mink Hollow are also worthy offerings

To TR's cult following - I salute you in recognising a true star and proving you are a discerning music lover.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2003
Todd is the quintessential Todd Rundgren - a mixture of sublime timeless ballads ("A Dream goes on Forever", electronic wizardry ("In and out of the Chakras"), heavy rock ("Heavy Metal Kids"),

Actually it has some of my favourite Todd songs of all time:
- "The Last Ride" is quite sombre but set against a beautiful wall of sound, and makes you realise that there is always someone worse off than yourself
- "Don't you ever learn" basically reminds me of a relationship I had at the time. Bittersweet memories for me, but a great ballad for you.

Finally, I can still sing along with 20,000 people in Central Park on "Sons of 1984", still uplifting over 30 years later.

Go on, buy it, you won't regret it.

PS If you know what Todd-AO is, then you are a very old film buff
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
This is classic Todd at his best. The guy is a musical genius. Their are certain tracks that just have to be listened to via headphones in order to appreciate the stereo effects, esp. the Useless Begging/Sidewalk Café/Izzat Love medley which is just superb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
i have brought this album in vinal when i was 12
then in cassett
I thoght i'd lost Tod for ever,as he is not exactly main streem
then when i saw these CD's I flipped, so nice to have him back
the album is brilliant. if you have never listned to Tod beafore give this a go,
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2012
I've loved this album from the day I first heard it. I was lent an LP back in the 70's and right from the get-go just loved the wacky world of Todd.
Right now just listening to this LP as I write, Desert Island Discs can stuff the other music choices.
This and a Kick-ass sound system will do! ;)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2009
What an album! For me, Todd Rundgren at his best. A strange and exciting mix of style and sound, true eclecticism, and extremely listenable because of it. I hear an almost alternate universe version of The Beatles White Album, without meaning to take anything away from what is a truely original plastic platter. And with the Lord Chancellor's Nightmare as well, breathtaking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2014
Todd Rundgren's experimental days were on the horizon but with Something Anything and Todd he left two great solo records. At times sounding over produced and cluttered this record has worn pretty well and these re-issues of Edsel & Rhino are superb. Hard back booklets with excellent sleeve notes and commentary. Todd contains some left of field stuff but lyrically on the money with An Elpees Worth Of Tunes and contains one of his brilliant pop songs ' A Dream Goes On Forever'. Later on 'Heavy Metal Kids' shows the self indulgence that was to mar his later career. An excellent re-issue.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Coming after the artistic high of "Something/Anything?" in 1972 and "A Wizard, A True Star" in 1973 - March 1974's 2LP effort "Todd" on Bearsville Records promised so much - but despite its size - delivered precious little. It landed with a huge disappointing thud - and in my mind has stayed there ever since.

UK released 19 May 2014 - Edsel EDSA 5029 (Barcode 7401555022935) is a single CD reissue of their October 2011 Expanded Version of "Todd" - only this time it’s in a case bound hardback book (76:41 minutes). The expanded booklet within has liner notes by Paul Myers from his superb tome "A Wizard, A True Star – Todd Rundgren In The Studio" and is an excellent read. Lyrics are provided – but unfortunately the poster that accompanied the original vinyl double with a massive collage of fan names is AWOL (probably due to licensing reasons).

Five of the 17-songs are meandering instrumentals, two are vaudeville Gilbert & Sullivan pastiches and it ends on a live track (“Sons Of 1984”) that should have been a studio recording. The rest are a very mixed bag – the cod New York Dolls rock of “Heavy Metal Kids” irritates rather than pleases – but “ I Think You Know” and “Do You Ever Learn” are good ballads – but the only real light in the tunnel is the gorgeous "A Dream Goes On Forever" which hankers back to the glory of the 1972 double "Something/Anything?" It was an obvious choice for a lead off 7” single (May 1974 in the UK on Bearsville K 15515).

It’s not all bad news - the 3 bonus tracks are shockingly good. First up is a 30 June 1971 Live Broadcast for WMMR-FM in the USA – a cover of Smokey Robinson and The Miracles Motown classic “Ooh Baby Baby”. It’s properly gorgeous and makes me think of Rundgren’s recent sessions with Daryl Hall on his Live From Daryl’s House internet broadcasts. It’s followed by two more live cuts from a concert at St. Louis on 9 November 1974. He covers “Do Ya” by The Move - an obscure rocking Jeff Lynne B-side to “California Man” on Harvest Records in 1972. And he plays a lovely keyboard version of “A Dream Lives On Forever” – complete with a witty intro about hit singles…

Rundgren would regain his crown with November 1974’s “Todd Rundgren’s Utopia” which was an entirely Prog Rock album - and is a masterpiece of the genre in my eyes – especially the astonishing 30-minute Side 2 opus “The Ikon”.

There are 3 releases so far in this Deluxe packaging for May 2014 – “Something/Anything?” and “A Wizard, A True Star” are the other two.

As a double-album - you'd think “Todd” would be ripe for reappraisal - but relistening to it in May 2014 (in this admittedly gorgeous Deluxe Edition Book Pack upgrade) - doesn't change my mind about it. Better to start with the aforementioned two and work towards the dream…
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2014
Not quite as good as "A Wizard A True Star" from the year before, but not bad. The origins of his interest in Gilbert and Sullivan begin here. Two yearslater, he made "Faithful", one of his best albums of the 1970s. Over and out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)