Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now



on 24 March 2017
love Jools
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
all good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2017
easy listening music i love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2017
For a friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2017
BrillianT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2015
As always brilliant
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 December 2005
Jools Holland & His Rhythm & Blues Orchestra - Swinging The Blues Dancing The Ska (Radar/WSM RADAR006CD)
Every year, regular as clockwork, Jools Holland releases a new album of music to coincide with his autumn/winter tours. It sounds a bit of a grind for most musicians but for Holland's fans it is a date in the diary to look forward to. Last year we had the superlative collaborative album with a rejuvinated Tom Jones - this year Jools Holland has regrouped with his big band and regular singers Sam Brown, Ruby Turner and guest performers Beverly Knight and the legendary Solomon Burke. As the album title describes the mix of blues and big band tunes and a dash of reggae/ska rhythms is a joyous blending of old classic tunes and new songs. For those who see Jools' gig every year there are also a few concert faves such as Double O Boogie, Dancing Mood and Blowin' in the Wind. Solomon Burke provides a roaring version of his Everybody Needs Somebody To Love [best known from the Blues Brother movie], and Sam Brown belts out Juice Head Blues like a good 'un. The bedrock of the album, of course, is the Rhythm & Blues Orchestra, surely every bit as good as any band Count Basy or Lionel Hampton ever had, capable of intimate blues one moment and a rip-roaring blast of of r&b the next. Swinging The Blues Dancing The Ska is damn fine album, equally good for parties or simply lifting the spirits after the christmas shopping. Buy it and dive in!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2006
Like many others I have come to look forward to what has become the regular, annual CD from Jools and his Orchestra. After three years of "& Friends" and then the collaboration with Tom Jones I'm especially glad, as an afficianado of the big bands of the 50s, to note that this release throws the spotlight much more on the orchestra and the arrangements that individual members have done for it. It's almost as if they have come out of the closet - no more hiding behind the headline guest vocalist, providing little more than backing - and as a result they sound much more alive and powerful, providing at last a match for my old Heath and Basie albums.
I suspect the reason for this is that, like those legendary bands, this one has been recorded as live - Jools tells us that usually the first or third take was used - and it has been done onto tape initially. Despite the subsequent use of Protools and the necessary digital processing for CD, that "old fashioned" power and dynamism of a great big band has been captured successfully. As Jools also says in his notes, the fact that more or less the same lineup have been playing with him live and on record now for seven years helped enormously.
On to the music itself, which is a mixture of big band blues, jazz, boogie woogie, pop and ska. As I have intimated, it's loud, and nearly all very uptempo - there's scarcely a mid-paced number, let alone a slow ballad. Some are Holland originals, some are very well known, like the excursion into Bob Dylan territory and Solomon Burke's Blues Brothers favourite, and some are less familiar numbers from the likes of Woody Herman, Count Basie and bluesman T-Bone Walker. Scattered throughout are the ska-flavoured tracks which trombonist Rico Rodriguez and saxophonist Michael Rose have come across in their native Jamaica and arranged for the big orchestra. It's impossible to pick out favourites as, despite the fairly relentless pace of things, every track is different and has its own attractions, and Holland's knack of being able to write so well "in the style of..." means that even the originals are not inferior.
Vocals, where applicable, are handled by what are now his "regulars" - Sam Brown, Ruby Turner and Solomon Burke, with one guest appearance by Beverley Knight, who can certainly belt it out with the best of them. Perhaps the only weakness is when Jools himself takes the mike - he's no Difford or Tilbrook, and he sounds as if he's singing in the closet the orchestra have escaped from.
This is a great big band album, one for turning up the volume, giving the hifi a workout, and blowing away the cobwebs.
0Comment| 83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2013
I was really looking forward to receiving this CD and when it arrived I was not disappointed. I have seen Jools and his Big Band in concert and there is always an upbeat, party atmosphere. This album manages to convey this same atmosphere with the quality of a studio album. Although I love his albums with guests it is good on this album to hear Jools and the band "do their own thing" on some tracks. Jools' signiture boogywoogy piano shines through brilliantly and I challenge you not to tap your feet and boogy round the kitchen!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2007
I have had this disc for 6 months or so. I have never written a review before but this disc demands it. I have a huge music collection and this energetic album is a real outstanding jewel. Every track is bursting with energy & tempo, huge big-band sounds and well mastered. For any fan of piano led blues and jazz this album is an absolute peach.
0Comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Finding The Keys: The Best Of Jools Holland
£4.99
Piano
£9.99
Sirens Of Song
£5.99
The Golden Age Of Song
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)