Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2017
Excellent quality in both sound and video.....I have never seen .most of this material before and the list of stars featured such as Tony Bennet, Roger Whittaker, :Liberace and many others is a real treat for Matt Monro fans.. The second disc features a restored sound video from Matts huge concert in Manila where he performed in front of almost fifty thousand fans......great show all round..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
What a wonderful set, beautifully produced throughout and with a nice foil blocked card slip case to contain the main case.

He was ill as a child, a bit on the short side, and liked a drink and a smoke by all accounts. He had early humble jobs, bouts of lack of confidence, and disappointments with early record deals. Sustained by his ever-supportive wife and a growing income from some fortuitous advertising jingles, he eventually won through to become one of the greatest singers in the world, right up there with Sinatra, Damone, Williams, Bennett etc. In many people's view he was the very greatest of them all.

When Nat King Cole died Matt was lured to America and could have been one of its finest resident stars. But he got homesick and returned home. He had a lovely house near Ealing but in no sense was it a gated palace and he spent the remainder of his life combining an almost everyday existence in Britain with a globe-trotting career, even finding time to becoming one of the Latin world's most loved singers.

There are legions of people who will attest to his friendliness and naturalness. One radio presenter recalled when, as a young man, he rode in a lift with Matt; he remembered him as "the nicest man in the world".

Having been a fan of Matt's for years I am most interested in the more obscure items here, and what a feast we have! The price is worth it just to have these TV appearances. Others here have given very good accounts of what there is, so I would just cite two: the version of George Harrison's "Isn't It a Pity" is spellbinding and to be compared with Billy Preston's in George's memorial concert; the Liberace segments are such fun, a reminder of Matt's naturalness.

I was in tears seeing again Matt's final TV appearance on Tarbuck doing "Todo Pasara". Obviously ill, gaunt and pale, he sang like a lion. By all accounts, he was the same in the final Talk of the Town concerts. Now that would be a wonderful DVD but I don't think it was filmed.

I'll leave others to comment more on this set. Amazon-your 5-star rating is NOT sufficient when we are reviewing GIANTS!

God bless you Matt, in grateful remembrance.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This brand new DVD & CD package is a real winner.
Super DVD concert of Matt in Australia in the 1960s plus UK television appearances.
A nostalgic and defining collection a fitting tribute to one of the UK's best and most popular vocalists of the 20th Century.
A must for collectors.

Matt On TV has the following:

Mr & Mrs Music, Tony Hatch & Jackie Trent Yorkshire TV 1 October 1968
I Love the Little Things
Don't Sleep in the Subway
You're the Only One

Stars on Sunday
Born Free
(with Jess Yates on organ and musicians)

Frost on Sunday LWT 8 February 1970
Just a Heartbreak Ago
Hava Nagila

What's On Granada March 1979
If I Never Sing Another Song Again

Wheeltappers & Shunters Granada 1974
Around the World
Let Me Sing and I`m Happy
Born Free

Roger Whittakers World of Music LWT April 1971
Isn't it a Pity
Thanks to the Lord

Liberace (B & W)
On a Clear Day You Can See Forever
Best of British medley
All of a Sudden
Those Were the Days with Mary Hopkin, Eve Arden & Liberace

Tony Bennett at The Talk of the Town Thames 18 October 1972
Chicage duet with Tony Bennett)

Tarby & Friends LWT 1984 (Final TV appearance)
Toda Pasara

The Dave King Show (B&W)
My Love and Devotion
Singin' in the Rain (with Dave King)

Saturday Variety ATV 1 July 1972
You'd Better Love Me
Walk Away
Born Free
We're Gonna Change the World

Plus a CD of the Manila concert that really is a bonus to this excellent collection.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2009
What can I add to the reviews already on these pages other than the fact that if I could award ten stars I would!!

The TV segment is terrific, especially the Black & White recording with the incomparable Liberace and the colour duet with the marvellous Tony Bennet. And to have the live Australian concert, again in black & white, is an added bonus.

I have always loved Matt Monroe but watching this DVD I was even more impressed with the likeness of his tonal quality and phrasing to that of 'the Guv'nor', Sinatra himself. Can there be higher praise??

My advice to all music lovers is - buy it!

Peter Smith
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2009
This DVD is a must for all Matt Monro fans and a fabulous treat for those with a passing interest too.

This set consists of three separate components

1. Matt on TV: A fabulous cross section of material from the Granada, LWT, Yorkshire and ATV vaults introduced by Matt's son Matt Monro Jnr and scripted by his daughter Michele. It includes appearances from the `Dave King Show' in 1961 (the second earliest surviving footage of Matt) right through to his very last TV appearance on `Tarby and Friends', many of which have not been seen since their first transmission.

Highlights include:
Fabulous duets with Tony Bennett, Dave King and Liberace
Songs from 'Frost on Sunday' including the incredible `Hava Nagila'
A four song set from `Saturday Variety'
Songs from `Mr & Mrs Music' (with Tony Hatch and Jackie Trent)
and a sublime rendition of George Harrison's `Isn't it a Pity' from `Whitakers World of Music' and lots more.

2. An Evening with Matt Monro: This comes from a televised concert in Australia and is the only surviving full concert footage of the great man. Whilst this has been issued before, this time the film has been digitally remastered by the BBC using high definition technology and Vidfire to bring the quality closer to the quality of its original broadcast. It's not a revelation but it is a definite improvement, the sound has been improved slightly too.

3. Also included is a CD of Matt Live at the Araneta Coliseum in Manila in the Philippines in 1966. This too has been issued elsewhere (and with extra material on `Yesterday' - Night Owl Music) but is a fabulous bonus on a set that is already jam packed with material.

The set isn't perfect, for some reason Matt on TV is presented in widescreen when all of the original shows were 4:3 ratio. This means the pictures have the top and bottom cropped and zoomed in which isn't very kind to the picture quality in places, for some reason the Tony Bennett footage comes from what looks like a VHS dub rather than the master tapes and do we really need four versions of Born Free?

But these are minor gripes the performances are wonderful, Matt's singing is never less than superb and makes even the hardest songs look and sound effortless.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2009
NOT ONLY IS THIS CD AND DVD SUPERB VALUE FOR MONEY IT SHOWS THE MARVELLOUS MATT MONRO IN MANY DIFFERENT LIGHTS.
THE CD 'LIVE IN MANILA' HEARS MATT SINGING SO MANY BEAUTIFUL SONGS AT A GENUINE LIVE PERFORMANCE.
WHILE THE DISCOVERY OF 23 TV PERFORMANCES ON THE DVD SHOWS HIM THROUGH MANY STAGES OF HIS CAREER.
THIS CD/DVD IS A JOY TO OWN.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2010
WOW is all I have to say!! I never knew who Matt Monro was when he was alive and performing and I am sorry I missed out on seeing him perform. When I saw this item, it was my opportunity to see him actually perform instead of just hearing him. When the item arrived in the mail I couldn't open it quick enough. I immediately watched it ann had a smile on my face through it all! I didn't move away from my computer once, I was mesmerized!! The DVD allows you to see his many performances, but for me, it allowed me to see him as a person, his personality, his smile, his genuine love of music!! If you like Matt Monro, don't hestiate on this purchase, you will not be disappointed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2014
Arrived promptly. Very reasonable price. Great fan of the great man who had the voice of an angel and performed everything so effortlessly. He was a professionals professional. All singers should be so good.
Regards DBS
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Bought as a present and when they tried it there was an issue with quality , however top notch service to put it right. a new one was sent to us straight away and a return package enclosed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2011
Bought it for mum in law,who would Never have found it on internet...she loves it and is very impressed with the whole package.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)