Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

  • Riot!
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
133
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£6.99


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 July 2017
Album very good, delivery good, auto rip not good. Brought thinking I'd get auto rip as well but then told it wasn't an Amazon direct seller even though it was advertised as such!. In fairness Amazon did reward me back an Amazon points to digitally download the album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Very Good Album and i shall Buy the Current Album now.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
great album on vinyl sounds great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Really good to listen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2017
a good album (although not as good as Brand New Eyes), in my worthless opinion, and the CD worked fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 November 2016
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2017
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Not all bands can follow-up a hit first album and better it, but Paramore did this brilliantly in 2007 with 'Riot!'. It is far less repetitive than All We Know Is Falling, released just two years before, and although I like a lot of emo pop-punk bands, these guys have a level of song writing which separates them from most of the others.

A strong contender for the best Paramore album, and certainly my favourite of the first three, 'Riot!' contains the excellent hit single 'Misery Business', which opens up with an extremely catchy guitar riff, and was the song which first seriously got me into the band's music. My second favourite track here is the upbeat 'Miracle', which has some of the best, and deepest lyrics you'll find on any Paramore record.

With all good songs, most of them so catchy you'll find them circling inside you're head after only a few listens, striking vocalist Hayley Williams' amazing site of pipes, and guitarist Josh Farro playing some killer riffs, 'Riot!' is a flawless second album. You just knew from here that this group were going to stick around, and not just disappear.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is the U.S import version of RIOT which consists of 2 discs. All the original album tracks are included, plus a demo version of `When it Rains' and live versions of `Misery Business', `Pressure', `For A Pessimist I'm Pretty Optimistic, and `Born For This'. There's also some on-tour and studio footage, and a photo gallery. The cover differs slightly from the standard, showing a picture of the band which really should have been in colour (orange hair!).

Formed in Franklin, Tennessee in 2004 Paramore are a four piece band led by teenage female vocalist Hayley Williams backed by Josh Farro on guitar/vocals, brother Zac on drums and Jeremy Davis on bass.

Paramore - the unusual name is derived from a former member's maiden name and the word `paramour' meaning secret lover - are variously described as power pop, punk/alternative rock and emo, and their influences, according to their website, are all US bands of similar punk/rock/indie/alternative styles.

Orange-haired, brightly dressed singer Hayley cuts a striking image and the comparisons to Gwen Stefani, Kelly Clarkson and Avril Lavigne are inevitable, but this is no brat teenager-in-a-tantrum pleading for understanding, it's one who is confident, enthusiastic, full of raw energy and intends to have fun whatever life throws at her. Her appeal is wide-ranging - a readers poll by Kerrang! magazine in 2006 voted her number 2 `Sexiest Female' (beaten by Amy Lee of Evanescence) and in an article in NME magazine she was described as `young, articulate and with plenty to say'. But the other members too must take equal credit for the bands appeal, being nominated for `Best New Artist' in the 50th Grammy Awards ceremony in February 2008, but in losing out to first-placed Amy Winehouse suggests that not everyone wants to listen to happy music!

For me, everything about this album shouts `fun', from the name `Riot' which was chosen because it means `a sudden outburst of uncontrolled emotion', to the barrage of unrestrained energy and excitement which infects every one of the 3 to 4 minute-long tracks. The album reached number 15 and 24 in the U.S and U.K charts respectively and its importance to the band is summed up by Hayley Williams (on their official website):

"We want everyone to hear this album. We want to take it as far as we can. 'RIOT' is everything we ever wanted to say on one album. If it all ended today, this is what we'd want to be remembered for".

For a band with an album which is as good as this, it really shouldn't end for a long while yet.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2014
The cd worked fine on a cd player, however on any computer and iPod it was crackly and had background noise. I cant use it properly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)