Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Best of 2017 Shop now Shop now



on 30 September 2017
My husband was looking forward to this arriving he loves slipknot,but we were left very disapointed because the cardboard case didnt look new and the dvd didnt play on our dvd player.the 2 cds played fine though.so me and my husband are left very disapointef
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2017
Slipknot are a massive force in metal. Each track pleases my aggression.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2017
Great Cd my son loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 June 2017
arrived quick, cool band
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2017
I bought Slipknots first CD and was impressed. This however seems to be more of the same. In all fairness Slipknot are unlikely to release a Bod Dylan type Slow Train Coming Christian album , as it is more likely to be a freight train going over your head , so maybe I should have known better. I will give it a few more spins as it may grow on me. Hardcore Slipknot fans should enjoy it . I will however wait for the Slipknot unplugged CD . I suspect I will be waiting a hell of a long time for it's release. I generally enjoyed it but it just seemed a bit formulae. For anyone just listening to Slipknot for the first time get the first one and then maybe give this a spin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2017
exellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 June 2005
This album is dark...this album is very, very dark...
After the monumental success of SlipKnoT's first titled record, they were put under the enormous pressure of topping it and creating an album which could live up to its predecessors glory. The album begins with "[515]", bassy, twitching synths, accompanied by numerous members shouting and screeching the word 'death' in such a way that the reaper himself could be in their presence. The first full song is in the form of "People=xxxx"...it's pounding drum/guitar intro is very reminiscent of the previous albums' opener "(sic)"...it malevolently combines an awesome riff with almost war-cry vocals and ultra-violent drumming, it leaves the mind and the senses truly stunned. Next comes the dominant "Disasterpiece"...a lot of work has gone into this one, numerous time and key changes combine with harsh and melodic vocal work and some very neat interplay between guitarists Jim Root and Mick Thompson, this is one of the albums great tracks and along with a couple of others...possibly "Iowa's" best. There are three slower tracks on the album in the form of the re-worked "Gently" (re-worked from the bands' first album Mate, Feed, Kill, Repeat), "Skin Ticket", and the albums' title track, "Iowa". These three songs are unquestionably the darkest and most moving of the 14 songs...doom-laden drumming and percussion give a stalking feel, and Corey Taylor's lyrics and vocal do more than enough to terrify and amass thoughts of suffering, escapism and intense emotional anguish. These songs are very cathartic and I find myself lost in them frequently. Mosh-pit anthems are also included in "Iowa", in the form of "The Heretic Anthem", "Left Behind" (the first single-release) and "My Plague" (the second single-release). The opening and progressing riff from "Left Behind" still raises goose-bumps to this day, and is arguably one of SlipKnoT's greatest. As for the rest of the records offerings, there is the soul-demolishing genius of "Everything Ends", the incredible "New Abortion" and the harmonic and melodic cry of "The Shape", these three songs are in no way inferior to the rest of the album, they are actually some of the best material SlipKnoT have ever produced!! Band-wagon fake's will buy this because it's cool...true Maggots will hold "Iowa" together with the rest of the albums as a great step in the ever conquering cycle of SlipKnoT's reign over our hearts and our minds..."you can't take my soul away from me...", we give it to SlipKnoT...
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2001
If you liked their self-titled label debut, you'll love Iowa. Although their first album was good, it didn't have a huge number of great tracks. Iowa more than makes up for this, with absouletely awesome tracks like The Heretic Anthem, Left Behind, People=$*!&, Seperate... I could go on, but I can only use 1000 words.
Put simply, this album is adrenaline fuelled pure agression, and a vital addition to any record collection. The Kerrang! Awards 2001 named Slipknot the best band in the world - they weren't kidding around!
If you ain't got it yet, buy it now!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2001
Wow, wow and wow! Remember all the promises Slipknot made on how "Iowa" would sound? They sure lived up to it! As soon as you hear the twisted screams and cries in "(515)", you know you're in for a real treat. An unsettling and strange beginning, it soon tears into "People=S**t". Now this is where the promises become a reality. 3:36 of brutal guitars, excellant drumming, heavy bass and manic vocals. As a matter of fact, this is the case in all of the songs. Take "The Heretic Anthem" for example in which frontman Corey Taylor (8) screams "If you're 555, then I'm 666!". Each member posesses a terryfying talent on thier respective instrument. For example, Joey Jordison (1) and his brilliant drumming in songs like the previously mentioned "Heretic Anthem" and "Metabolic" and guitar tag team Mick Thompson (7) and James Root(4) and their intense metal riffing. For those of you thought their first album "Slipknot" was good, Slipknot have just turned it up a notch and upped the ante once again. To sum up, "Iowa" is a must buy and trust me, it's well worth it. From the classy artwork to the actual album content, this is fantastic throughout. As Corey Taylor said: " We are not a Satan-worshipping band, but it's not for the queasy or weak-minded." Trust me people, he ain't lying!
11 Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2001
Despite usally being into more extreme music, i absolutly adore Slipknots debut and i never thought they'd have the passion and anger to better it. But with "Iowa" they have taken their sound to a new level, producing an album no fan of extreme music should be without. After the weird intro, "People=S**t" suddenly erupts forth from the speakers with its devestatly heavy music and a cry of "Here we go again motherf******!" that annouces the arrival of "Iowa" in the best way possible. Next we get "Disasterpiece", a song that Cannible Corpse would be proud of and that will probably be the heaviest song anyone buying "Iowa" for the image will ever hear. And to be honest the album just carries on being fantastic. "Everything Ends" and "The Heretic Anthem" are 2 of the best Slipknot songs ever and "Left Behind" still sounding good on the album despite being less extreme. "Gently" is one of the albums quieter moments. Most people wont have heard the origonal which was fantastic and much rawer but this dark re-working just about manages to be the better of the two. Towards the end of the album "Skin Ticket" and "Iowa" help create a dark and dangerous atmosphere that prove the point that Slipknot are totally against being trendy or popular. So forgot the silly image, the leigons of 11 year old fans and the fact that they are called nu-metal. Buy this for the music and you wont be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)