Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
61
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 May 2017
When I couldn't find this American film in America, as is often the case, I was glad to discover that it was still available in the United Kingdom, and as always, very well priced.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2017
Arrived so quickly, great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Very nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2009
John Franklin Candy made Who`s Harry Crumb the same year as Uncle Buck and brought the same fun and enthusiasm with it. He plays a bungling detective to perfection. An unmissable movie if you enjoy a good laugh. His disguises are hilarious,as is his character,innocent and harmless.
Classic Candy!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2017
If I had, I must find someone like the hero. This film looks fine. The ending was good and I felt the next one. I watched it with my other half. The overall effect of the film is not bad. The plot was dramatic and thrilling.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
Harry is the latest generation of the Crumbs, who are famous and extremely talented detectives.

Talent seems to have skipped a generation and Harry is reduced to work at a remote branch of the Crumb detective agency.

Back at headquarters, Crumb executive Elliot Draison hatches an evil plan which requires the inclusion of an incompetent detective. With Harry on the case, Draison thinks everything will run fine for him.

Despite his best efforts Crumb actually makes some headway in the case...

Before Candy made it big with a certain member of a family called Buck, he went all out with this little film, which is basically a hybrid of Fletch and The Naked Gun.

Its one of those reliable movies from the eighties that you will enjoy, because your a fan of the star. Films you couldn't imagine to be any good if it starred anyone else, such as Funny Farm, Moving, or even The Golden Child.

While it won't win any awards for originality, its still good fun, in a Sunday afternoon sort of way. Candy is fine, and is aided by Smith, sort of preparing her for her future Saw roles.

Jones was the posh villain of choice in the eighties, and here he plays the same character as he did in Ferris Buellers and Howard The Duck.

Its predictable, and some costumes Candy wears are borderline xenophobic, but its harmless in a way only the eighties could be.

Plus its the best film ever where Janine from Ghostbusters is amazingly hot.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I remember first seeing this as a child on the TV, I really liked those sort of films, like this and The Naked Gun Trilogy, Leslie Nielson's comic police detective work was just hilarious, so when I heard John Candy had done one I wanted to see it, as I was a big fan already. I was not disappointed, it was very funny, and as a kid I liked every silly moment there was.

Fast forward 20 years or so and this is still very funny, Candy is Harry Crumb, a slap stick private detective who is related to a long line of good detectives. He really is the bottom rung of the family tree in many ways, and finds it hard to live up to the family's expectations.

When a girl is kidnapped, he needs to find the killer, so he enlists young Nikki (Shawnee Smith - Becker), who sort of looks up to him - as her father isn't always there for them. She hates her step mother, and seeks revenge. Harry has to find the kidnapper, and the thief before they go away with the 10 million Dollars.

This is good slap stick fun, John Candy bringing great energy to the movie, with his jovial wit and charm, and Shawnee Smith proving she was already a rising star. There are some really funny moments like Harry getting stuck in a jockey's telephone booth, and the misunderstanding at the table. Both Candy and Smith work well together, and make this film good fun, especially John Candy's impressions and disguises.

This DVD is shockingly poor, no extras whatsoever, though you do get English subtitles. The film is badly transferred too, there is a lot of artefacts and marks on the film, but the sound is not bad, it's a decent enough 2.0 mix, but really it could have been much better.

Worth renting, hopefully it won't be too long until we get a better transfer.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2017
Great movie!, laughed from start to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Hadn't seen this for a while so gave it a spin on Amazon Prime, perhaps it's nostalgia running wild but I found it to be still as good as ever. I'm a fan of John Candy and this is a great showcase for his particular talents.

The story finds Candy as the titular Harry Crumb, a private investigator taking on the case of a kidnapped heiress. He's not the greatest P.I the worlds ever seen but manages to fumble and bumble his way through an absurd plot of twists and turns - not unlike Leslie Nielsen in The Naked Gun or perhaps Chevy Chase in Fletch.

If you like either of those films or their ilk then you'll likely get a kick out of this - its got a witty script, plenty of pratfalls and some good sight gags. Candy is great and the rest of the cast are clearly game for it, including a turn from the ever reliable Jefferey Jones (Ferris Buellers principal). It's all very 80's - from the music, to the hair, to the clothes and indeed the stereotypes but it only adds to the charm. Overall, a fun little package, well worth a look.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)