Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
56
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2017
fantastic
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
After having bought series 1 on DVD boxset, I eagerly awaited watching this one. I was not disappointed, either. Many guest stars appear in the series, which I only noticed after watching one of the DVD documentaries. Keith Allen is a brilliant villain, but Richard Armitage's character Guy of Gisborne is just brilliant. In series 2, we get to know a lot more about robin's gang, and there is much more humor with Sam Troughton's character, Much.

As for the DVD extras, after watching the main documentary and the other 2 documentaries (rather weirdly based on the deaths of characters - something the makers of this boxset seem to be obsessed with), I couldn't help but notice the lack of extras on the DVD's. Unlike the series 1 box set, there are no character profiles, instead we are left with just the commentaries.

The DVD menu design is simply magnificent, featuring a certain symbol used in the episodes. The episodes also feature the previously seen scene selection, with a difference - each of the windows representing a scene to select features a moving image, so you can preview it before you select it. Although it looks brilliant, it is totally impractical. The fanfare played when inserting the DVD into your player is irritating, but the quality of the episodes by far makes up for this. The packaging is pretty much the same as before, but yet again is a masterpiece. After a while, however, the paper packaging can peel away.

A great boxset for any collector, if you look beyond the special features.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2008
If your looking for historical accuracy surrounding tales concerning the myth of Robin Hood and His Merry Men then you will probably be disappointed with this series as there are inaccuracies in both weaponary and costumes(not correct at times for the period being portrayed) This and i cannot stress it enough is not important as the other aspects of the production. The humour is as always enjoyable and there are often one liners made such as Will & Little John after a fight saying "And its goodnight from me & its goodnight from him" Keith Allen as the Sheriff is still superb and so watchable adding a certain twirling of the whiskers. there have been some superb guests appear this season and without giving anything away some serious shocks in the storyline.

Overall the reimagination of the Tales of Robin Hood is superb and the stories move along at a pace quick enough to maintain peoples interest. Jonas Armstrong is extremely likeable as Robin and is well supported by Lucy Griffiths (Maid Marian), Joe Armstrong (Allan a Dale), Anjali Jay (Djaq),Gordon Kennedy (Little John), Harry Lloyd (Will Scarlett) and Sam Troughton (Much) and especially the bad guys of Keith Allen as The Sheriff of Nottingham and Richard Armitage as Guy of Gisborne.

If your looking for an enjoyable show that won't tax the brain, doesn't take itself too seriously and is just a nice enjoyable show to watch with all the family then you will not be disappointed with purchasing this set.

The only thing for me personally which brings the show down (but not much) is the lack of the Tuck character however David Harewood has been linked to appear as the chubby Friar in the 3rd season which is due to air in 2009.

Robin Hood : The Complete BBC Series 1 Box Set [2006]
Robin Hood Prince Of Thieves [1991]
Robin Of Sherwood - Complete
Merlin Vol.1 [2008]

IF YOUR GOING TO MARK THIS AS UNHELPFUL, PLEASE LEAVE A COMMENT SO I CAN AMEND AND IMPROVE FUTURE REVIEWS I DO. THANK YOU
11 Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2010
The second series has finally nailed some of the first series issues which seemed to revolve around having to set up the 'characters' of the characters. Now that is is bedded in they can concentrate on the stories. These are great with some threads running throught the whole series such as Guy's unrequited love for Marian and the relationships within the 'band of merry men'. Jonas Armstrong is excellent as Robin and seems to have matured into the part, his relationship with his long-term sidekick Much (beautifully played by Sam Troughton) has more depth and complexity than in the first series.
Keith Allen is my favourite pantomime villan he is great fun to watch as his badness is so uninhibited. He looks like he was having a ball making this.
I suppose the highest credit much go to Richard Armitage, I struggled with his relentless unpleasantness as Guy of Gisburne in the first series. But here he is able to bring depth and emotion to a fairly one dimensional written character. He really made me believe that he loves Marian, which makes it all the more shocking that he kills her in the final episode. Lucy as Marian has just the right amount of sweetness and niaviety to pull the role off. (I did wonder whether anyone regretted casting Richard as Guy of Gisburne as although the series is called Robin Hood for me it was definitely the Guy of Gisburne show) There were moments whern there was other action going on when I was just wishing they would get back to the Guy-Marian-Robin love triangle.

Fans of the audio commentaries like me will love this as the commentaries are great and go well with the episodes. Listen carefully to the commentary for the last episode and the discussion about the death scene. Richard Armitage says he really struggled with the idea of killing Marian and didn't sleep for about a week beforehand - I am telling you that the way some of the fans felt afterwards.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2008
For those of you who didn't particularly like the first season of this you'll love this one! Far, far better storylines and acting from most of the cast thankfully although Keith Allen is always superb. Best of all, the delightful Richard Armitage is back as Guy of Gisborne - the only reason I continued watching Season 1 *wink*

No spoilers but make sure you have a box of tissues handy for the finale :(
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2008
this is one of the best box set you can get this is good for all the family and i just hope they keep on making them it get 10 out 10 of me
so looking foward to the new series in the spring 2009
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2011
The entire Robin Hood series is spectacular! Brilliantly cast, great twists and turns on the original tale and fabulous adventure and heroics. A fantastic "feel good" series and one I highly recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2013
More action from the cast of Robin Hood. This time round we get a deeper peek into the story.

Yes, it's getting darker. Which makes it better as the (surprise) darker side of certain individuals is now emerging. This series starts on the end of Marion's house being burned to the ground by a certain charismatic leather clad guy who has her dragged back to the castle (on the orders of the Sherriff of course) then persuades one of Robin's posse to spy on the gang for money which he does at the drop of a hat. Hero Robin sniffs a traitor and hunts him down.

Allen's Sherriff is meaner, greedier and funnier than ever, Marion, now incarcerated in the castle with her father is more manipulative and heartless towards poor Sir Guy but doesn't get away with it lightly. For one, daddy dies. In the last episode, so does she. At the hands of (bi polar?) Sir Guy - who's more gorgeous, troubled, charismatic, ambitious and ruthless than ever. Think you can mess with a guy's feelings the way you did and get away with it? You're wrong .......

Once again I was highly entertained by the action, humour, Allen's tongue in cheek remarks ('why don't you ever kiss my ring?' just one of a few) and of course dazzled by the sheer 6 feet 2 leather clad gorgeousness of Mr Armitage (Gisborne).

Looking forward to watching series 3 ............
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2008
the first series was awesome and i thought that series 2 couldn't match series 1. i was wrong. having waited nearly a year for the second series, it came and surprised us all - especially the last episode (fans you know what i mean). besides not warming to the very last episode (even though it was fantastic building up to) this series was my favourite one so far of robin hood. i can't wait to finally buy it when its released. if you didn't like the first series then i recommend you watch this series. I wonder what series 3 will have in store in october.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The second series of the fab BBC production maintained the high production values of the first series.

The first episode of this series seemed a bit over hammed by the character Rose. The over-acting took away slightly from what was a good episode. It was great to see that the humour form the first series had continued through to the second, I particularly liked the Two Ronnies reference "it's goodnight from me, and it's goodnight from him" - a perfect example of the cultural nods given by this witty series.

The humour continues throughout the next few episodes, with `Booby and the Beast' we see an intricate series of traps in the strong room, will Robin be able to successfully rob the war chest? There is technology which seems over elaborate and probably not really feasible, but that's the fun of the series; you don't take it too seriously, it uses modern devices to bring the characters to life. There's jealous tension here when Marion befriends a German buffoon (supposed). The plot twist surrounding Count Friedrich gave the episode an added edge. You knew what was going to happen, the set-up was obvious, but you enjoyed watching everything unfurl. Not the most plausable of episodes - but fun nonetheless.

Childhood is the third episode and at times maybe a little over sentimental. It's always awkward when child actors are involved, sometimes performances are a little wooden and there's always the temptation to have sickly sweet moments. You get both in this, but the show stealing scene goes to the fantastic Richard Armitage as the Guy of Gisbourne walking out to battle Robin in a very fetching suit of armour.

The opening scene of the fourth episode shows an imposter to The Nightwatchman played by Ralf Little. Little gives an okay performance as the chemist hell-bent on social engineering out the weaklings of the human race. Like previous episodes, there is no mystery here for the viewer. All is exposed to us at the beginning so that we can enjoy watching the cat and mouse chase as Robin tries to figure the reason and the cause of the mystery illness for himself.

The second series is less continuous than the first, and instead has independent episodes with strong and numerous story arcs across the episodes. The most well developed is the `Spy in the camp'. Allan-a-Dale has been leaking information to Guy of Gisbourne, resulting in the capture of Henry of Lewes failing. This comes to a head when Robin realises he has a traitor in the midst and pledges to find him/her. Through cunning and luck he manages to do just that. As I've mentioned before, the traitor is no secret to the audience, but as holders of such privileged information we can watch with interest the reactions of the camp when they all considered under suspicion.

So far this series has been a solid one. I don't feel it's quite as strong as the first series, but it is still very good. The production team said they have gone for a darker look, but to be honest, I could only really see this in the appearance of Robin et al. They seem more dishevelled, which is good - it adds to the realism of forest living. This series seemed less plausable that the first, almost like the American Xena: Warrior Princess series - but never quite sinking as low. It has some over-sentimental moments which stand out a bit and sometimes seem a tad cheesy. Performances all round are top notch still, with scene stealing moments from Keith Allen, Richard Armitage, and Jonas Armstrong. There's certainly more character development within Hood's camp, and this is helping to build a pathos between the men (and woman!).

I would have given this series 4 stars, but the finale was fantastic and swayed me into a 5. The last episode is essentially a double episode, and you can clearly see where one would have ended and the next would have began as half is set in the forest and the rest in the Holy Land. I won't discuss this episode any further incase you haven't seen it, but the episode feels epic, and instead of the cheesy sentimentalism of the preceding episodes, it manages to be genuinely very emotional and also captures the darkness the production team were aiming for.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse