Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 August 2014
These early attempts of the dramatisations of Jane Austens novels are in themselves interesting but are no match against the Jennifer Ehle, Keira Knightley, Emma Thompson,s superb versions of these works, I am always amazed at the complete deletion of the character of Margaret Dashwood in all these early versions of Sense & Sensibility but as a Janeite I had to have them. To my mind the principle interest on this collection of 8 Discs is the other two dramatisations, and it is worth buying for these alone.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2009
I disagree with the other writer - Elizabeth Garvie's portrayal of miss Bennet is very much like the Miss Bennet of Jane Austens book. Miss bennet is not a perfect simpering girl, but opinionated and headstrong. Mrs Bennet is a joy to watch. Yes the sets are very much of the 80's period drama, but that is entirely its charm.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Very enjoyable stories, and great bang for buck, but the picture quality is far from remarkable - though I remark it. If a story fan, you'll wish better visuals but endure what you've got.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
4 good novels all looked at for above 3 hours. Acting, particularly in Sense and Sensibility a bit over the top but great value. Enjoyed He Knew He Was Right more than expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
This dramatization by Fay Wheldon is by far the best on offer. Wheldon has a real feel for the language and subtleties of Austin's novel. If only the BBC would employ established writers in their own rights, rather than the hacks that they seem to prefer when dramatizing classic literature.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2013
It is everything we hoped for and we wish it could have been from England. it was a good buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
really enjoyed this item
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
very useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2009
Quite disappointing, having heard it was the closest version to the actual novel. The acting was wooden and the portrayal of Elizabeth by Elizabeth Garvie was particularly disappointing. Her ELizabeth lacked charm and vivacity, indeed the overall impression was of smugness. Darcy was also poor, most of the time he could have been a cardboard cutout , you could not believe he was emotionally involved in any way. It was however interesting to note how much more natural and believable are present day actors and scripts.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)