Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
11
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
4
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2013
This was a lot easier to read than I thought it might be. Fascinating insight into a period in history with some colourful characters living inhuman lives in French mines. Description of underground enough to make you quake!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
Having read Zola many years ago, I decided to read this, not so well-known novel. His descriptions are so vivid. What I like about the classics is they tell stories of people: their lives: their sorrows: their joys: getting down deep into that persons psychi. These novels are for savouring: not devouring. But I do enjoy a little escapism every once in a while.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
I have purchased many books on Kindle and have found that on occasions the Kindle version compares unfavourably with the printed page, especially with the 'classics'.
On this occassion this was not the case. The format was excellent transcription was excellent.
It was many years since I have read this Zola classic and having it on hand in the Kindle version whilst on holiday was a great bonus.
Real value for money!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Amazing stories,what a life that all these peoples suffer and have to keep on going.here these days we complains all the time.all the youngster should from these girls and boys,l will well recomment to all my sibling.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2013
well worth a read to understand why miners have always fought for their rights reccomend to all who enjoy social reading
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2012
The story line is very atmospheric and moving. Its a shame that there are so many translation errors in the script, as this tends to detract and irritate me. Overall though, its a riveting read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2013
Wanted to reread this as I studied it many years ago at A-level. It's still a great story but this is a really old-fashioned and clumsy translation. There must be better versions out there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
read this as a school project 60 years ago, and living in a coal mining area, I could see many of of the hardships they suffered in my own locality
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2013
Excellent, poignant & descriptive novel of the time. Awakened feelings of Comradeship in me. A must for any Student of historical Sociology.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Reasonable translation, beware some rather literal words. Otherwise, its fine.
Its a good long read, so make time for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Need customer service? Click here