Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 6 January 2012
It's an interesting work, although it could certainly do with some revision to reflect more politically correct views. The author also seems to lack understanding of society. I would like to focus on the characterisation of who most would say is the main character of the first part of the book. God seems overly prone to anger, and reacts violently whenever provoked. Even when not angered, he seems quite cruel and vindictive, such as when he set a trap for Eve, and punished her, her husband and all of their descendants for falling for it. Apart from making him hard to empathise with, this portrays him as a very one-dimensional person. This type of character is common as an antagonist in the plot, so I suppose it is interesting to see the variety, but I think it sends the message to the reader more vulnerable to influence that it is moral to behave in the way god does. God also seems to have a god-complex which the author chooses not to explore.

There are a number of inconsistencies in the first chapter, namely Cain's acquisition of a wife when he was supposed to be one of two male children to the only human beings on earth. As it seems unlikely that Cain took an animal or his mother for a wife, I think this is one area that needs revision. There is also the matter of the long lives of the early humans, which are quite ridiculous.

I found the list of 'laws' inappropriate, especially for the young reader, and at times quite offensive. The book prescribes death for the insignificant offense of eating shellfish or engaging in consensual adult intercourse with certain types of people which make up a very, very long list. It also addresses the issue of adultery, and although I agree with remaining faithful to one's partner if possible, The punishments the book prescribes are unduly harsh, as I believe in personal choice for issues like that one. I think every attempt should be made to find the author of this book, and insure that his fetish for murder and 'hell and brimstone' doesn't lead him to play out his fantasies. There are also some signs of plagiarism that need to be fully investigated.

The bible offers some advice which certainly should not be tried at home. It advocates blind faith in a non-existant imaginary friend, bigotry, sexism, homophobia, slavery, and even cutting of or plucking out an offending hand or eye. This could be quite dangerous to one's health.

On the subject of the plot, it was a bit scattered and long-winded. Apart from god, it didn't seem to focus on one character long enough for the reader to empathise with him or her, until Paul made an appearance in the latter half of the book. Paul seemed quite drived, although morally questionable, and succeeded in making the story world significantly worse than when he started. He wouldn't be the ideal role model for my children. However, the plot was quite interesting once you look past it's problems, as the more uneducated reader can do with ease. The ending is positively horrifying, although I won't say anymore, so as not to spoil the surprise.

I would have liked to be advised of it's questionable moral standards and X-rated content before obtaining my copy of it. I also think it shouldn't be available to under 18s due to the large amount of explicit violence.

Rated: 1 star for the acceptable plot.
3333 Comments| 105 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2011
Interesting to note that the people who have reviewed this book on here and have given the book 5 stars clearly have not read it. They merely comment on its binding or how well its been stitched together. In other words - no comment on the content of the book - only comment on its build quality. However the people who have given the book one star seem at least to have read passages from it - probably enough for them to be able to make their deductions as to its content.
Me - I have never read such drivel in all my life - how can any author claim that the Earth was built in 6 (or 7) days? Also how is it possible that the author claims that on the first day: Light is created ("Let there be light!") and then on the fourth day: god puts lights in the firmament (the fifth command) to separate light from darkness and to mark days, seasons and years. Two great lights are made to appear (most likely the Sun and Moon, but not named), and the stars.
If he created light on the first day, why did he then have to create light and dark on the fourth? Don't even get me started about the fact that the authors allege that a child was born to a "virgin" (obviously a mistranslation of the words "young woman")in the second section! This is obviously the work of a group of fanatical madmen. I am very sorry that I bought it and I'm planning to return it and claim a full refund.
1414 Comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 November 2015
Yeah, it's as old as Shakespeare, like Ace Braithwaite says, but it's okay. Interesting that it wasn't written in English, only adapted into the language after the fact. (Just like EastEnders and Geordie Shore) The translation doesn't seem to make sense some of the time, with talk of the friendly dead and getting drunk on water. So it wasn't that realistic for me. Started reading this at school - where some people believe it was based on a true story - but gave up after about twenty-four or twenty-six pages. I got heavily into the works of Conan and Doyle around this time, but always intended to pick it up from where I left off. When I recently tried to do this, I couldn't quite remember what had happened so far, so I started from the beginning again. Got a bit bored, probably 'cause I've seen the film already and I know how it ends, so I skipped a few chapters and looked for the action parts. But I didn't really concentrate, and got a bit confused in the middle because some new characters (-bad guys) had been introduced. Noah's Ark was my favourite bit, even though it didn't make for a particularly good film; but I must have skipped the chariot race - which I was really looking forward to. Maybe it wasn't so important in the book, and they had to wait until the technology caught up with them to do it properly in the film. Also, when an earlier edition was published it said the world was flat! But we now know that isn't true. Mmm, maybe they make a mistake about other things too?...
As I said, it's a pretty entertaining book, with lots of characters and some good action... but the story takes some swallowing.
1111 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2012
An appallingly badly written book. The prose is stilted, and the entire tome is both repetitive and unbelievable. It is difficult to see why the publishers would expect to be able to pass this off as anything other than a hotch-potch of poorly translated and thoroughly misunderstood mythology to any being with sufficient neurones to form a synapse.

What is even more astonishing is that the authors of a book such as this have not been prosecuted for their promotion of some utterly despicable practices -- one could be forgiven for suspecting that they might have supporters who wield influence in the Legislature, Judiciary and Executive. The despicable practices that this book encourages include (but are not limited to) animal cruelty (e.g. almost all of Leviticus Chs 1-9, but especially 5:14-15, 16:8-28 and 20:15-16), homophobia (e.g. Leviticus 18:22 and 20:13, Romans 1:26-27), racism (e.g. Deuteronomy 7), sexism (e.g. Leviticus 18:19, most of Deuteronomy 22, Ephesians 5:22, 1 Timothy 2:11-12), genocide (e.g. 1 Samuel 15:2-3) and rape (e.g. Genesis 19:8, Numbers 31:15-18). This is only a tiny sample of the abhorrent practices that this book promotes.

I was disappointed that the one thing I hoped to find was not there: Although John 20:18-29 records that the followers of Jesus of Nazareth saw him, nowhere is there an explanation that gives a clue as to why they would worship a zombie. This is relevant, given that this zombie-worship cult has held tremendous influence in Europe ever since the time of the Emperor Constantine.
99 Comments| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2014
I love how The Bible drives atheists insane. They are quick to dismiss The Bible as "fairy tales" while being willfully ignorant to the fact that the hypothesizes that they believe in are concepts that are used within works of science fiction and which have no evidence. See below...

-Atheists believe in abiogenesis which is an evidenceless hypothesis proposing that life arose from non-life but this has no evidence, isn't falsifiable (therefore being nonscientific), not observable (and never will be again if it's to be believed) and is just generally garbage.

Atheists will yell and exclaim about an experiment titled the "Miller-Urey experiment" but that is outdated and doesn't prove (or even lend support to) life being able to rise from non-life. They will then exclaim about a lab experiment (which is more recent) showing that RNA molecules can form. What they deliberately forget to mention is that RNA molecules are simply a part of the building blocks for life, not life itself and the experiment was conducted in a lab with humans deciding the conditioning, properties, values of the atmosphere (and chemicals) and order. If anything, this experiment affirms biogenesis (the scientific law that life can only arise from pre-existing life).

-Atheists adhere to a philosophy called naturalism which is an incorrect refuted philosophy which would have you place blind faith in the idea that the universe proceeded from nothingness (which is nonscientific). Some atheists will mention quantum physics and the vacuum but they have no understanding of these subjects because neither prove that nothing can do something. The vacuum (which is what they say is evidence) actually contains small amounts of energy. The scientific principle of causality (which atheism denies) asserts that everything in motion and everything that has begun has an instigator.

-Some atheists believe in social Darwinism which is a discredited form of evolution mainly only believed now by atheist nuts. It is a racist theory relating to human societies, that we shouldn't help the poor, the meek or the unhealthy. It is the incorrect belief that we shouldn't help such people because it would be harmful to the concept of a "superior society" and really is the incorrect misreading of what natural selection is.

-Some atheists believe in the now debunked steady state theory of the universe which would have us believe that it's eternal without a beginning. This has long since been refuted by the facts, data and evidence amassed for The Big Bang theory showing an origin point for all matter and energy in the universe.

-Atheists believe in the multiverse which is science fiction, often used in Doctor Who and other science fiction shows, which refer to a hypothetical set of alternative universes, realities and dimensions (all of which we've never seen and have no evidence for) and atheists use the multiverse in their chain universe hypothesis which proposes that every universe is born from another. This has no valid grounding in science and is based upon pure speculation and blind faith. Meanwhile their evidenceless hypothesis is refuted by common sense. The infinite chain universe argument (the argument of universes being born from the death of another) has no beginning so there can't possibly be any effect from something that never had a beginning (and therefore wouldn't exist) and isn't eternal. It's an impossibility and illogical in terms of observational science and general common sense. An atheist might try to apply my refutation the other-way around to God but it would fail considering the concept of a prime-mover (God) would be that he's unmovable and eternal. This is necessary because you cannot have an infinite chain of gods or universes creating one another. For the reason why God is the better logical explanation behind the creation of the universe rather than "something from nothing" or any of the other atheist's evidenceless assertions, see below.

The Argument for deism/theism:

The Big Bang theory lends support to the idea of a creator along with the scientific principle of causality. The former implies a beginning of the universe, the later states that it's necessity for all things that have begun and in motion to have a prime mover/first cause. I'm a Christian Deist so I believe in the teachings of Jesus in The Bible but believe in God simply as the instigator behind all the natural mechanisms of the world and cosmos (i.e gravity, four fundamental forces, evolution and so on and so such) but don't believe that he answers prayers or interacts because there's no evidence of that. Deductive reasoning is what leads me to God because we can deduce that nothing is incapable of doing something and also that mindlessness cannot produce the complexity we observe within the universe. Physicists throughout history (from Isaac Newton of the past to Paul Davies of today) all agree that the universe is finely tuned (see the four fundamental forces of nature, their constants and values for more) and the fact that the universe has a mathematical cosmology lend support that the instigator behind the universe was an intelligence.

Also evolution doesn't debunk God. It simply explains the variation of life. I suggest the atheists take some proper science lessons.

Atheists need to get educated on what the scientific method is alongside what the scientific principle of causality is (a fundamental part of science and physics). You'll find that the later (cause and effect) has a valid standing within theism/deism but atheism rejects it with its assertion that nothing did something. That therefore makes atheism nonscientific by its rejection of a scientific principle.

Let's be honest here, most atheists are such because something bad happened to them. They've come to conclusion that "there is no god" because of emotion, not rationality or reason. They're as brain washed as a fundy and I have no time to attempt to reason with someone like them when they have an irrational hatred and misunderstanding of religion.

There is no conflict between belief in a god and science. The conflict exists only in the imaginary world of the atheist where religion is responsible for all the conflicts of the world (but anyone educated in history knows that that's not the case and that most of these problems were due to politics).

And that's the end of my review. Feel free to agree, disagree or whatever but if you're going to attempt an argument against this review then be prepared to use evidence rather than anecdotes. Although I have neither the time nor patience to argue with atheists so excuse me if I ignore you.
66 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2012
He is the savior of the people. He's takes human form but is not human. He is the leader of people. He rose from the dead. He makes unexplainable things happen. He has far greater power and wisdom compared to an ordinary person. He was betrayed by a close companion. He is written as someone who is loved and respected. He is the symbol of light and devoted his life to saving the world. Yet for some reason Gandalf does not appear in this book.
77 Comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2011
I really like the ESV text so why the 2 stars? Because of issues to do with formatting and navigation. I use Kindle 3 (I do not know if my comments apply to other Kindle models) and here is what I have found:

- It is hard to know which book of the bible you are in. The chapter headings consist of chapter and verse number only (e.g. 5:1) and if you press the menu button (which is the usual way of finding the book name) hoping to see Isaiah or whatever, you will instead see "The Holy Bible English Standa..." which you probably knew anyway. How do I know if the 5:1 at the top of the screen means Isaiah 5:1 or Jeremiah 5:1? It would be better if the start of each chapter identified the book name (or its abbreviation) alongside the chapter and verse.

- Similarly, bookmarks do not identify the book that they are in. I keep seven bookmarks - one for each day of the week. When I look at the list of bookmarks I see the location number (Kindle's equivalent of page number) and a few lines of text from that location. It would be so useful to see, for example, Ps 51:3 alongside the location number.

- With some Kindle e-books pressing the right or left arrows on the 5-Way controller takes you to the next or previous chapter respectively. On the ESV this doesn't work. It would be useful if it did.

- To my eye the section headings are disproportionately big compared to the font size of the text. It would be aesthetically more pleasing if they were smaller.

- If a chapter starts with a section heading and you use the table of contents to go to that chapter, the section heading will be on the previous page. This is especially significant in Psalms. When using the Table of Contents to go to Psalm 57, for example, the top of the screen shows "57:1 Be merciful to me, O God..." and only by going to the previous page do I read (in extra large font - see above) "Let Your Glory Be over All the Earth To the choirmaster: according to Do Not Destroy. A Mitkam [137] of David, when he fled from Saul, in the cave." The Table of Contents should point to the location of the chapter heading which is not the same as the first verse.

- The footnote marks consist of square brackets around a 1, 2, or 3 digit number, underlined, and in the same font-size as the text. This is obtrusive; and accessing the footnote is more complicated than it could be. Currently if you are reading a verse containing a footnote and want to access the footnote you have to: move the cursor onto the footnote mark, press the 5-Way which then displays the relevant page of the footnote list, read the footnote, and then press Back to come back to the text. A better way would be for footnotes to be accessed in the same way that word definitions are from the dictionary. With all Kindle books putting the cursor in front of a word brings up a small window showing that word's entry in the dictionary. It would be excellent if a similar system could be used for footnotes, so that putting the cursor in front of the footnote symbol caused the footnote to appear in a small window. This would allow you to see the footnote and the text at the same time (as you can on paper bibles) and also permit the bulky footnote mark to be replaced with a less obtrusive symbol.

Finally be aware that it is not possible navigate to a specific verse by typing the book, chapter and verse reference (something that many people will want to do in an electronic bible). Instead, if I want to find Luke 2.17, for example, I need press Menu, Select Go to.., Select "table of contents" in the "Go to" window, Page forwards twice to get to the page containing Luke, Select Luke, Select "Chapter 2", and finally page forwards twice to verse 17. Phew.

In summary this is the excellent ESV text with unaesthetic formatting, within which it is cumbersome to navigate and easy to get lost. I wish the publishers had paid as much attention to the structure and appearance of the text on the Kindle Screen as they have done in their paper editions and given more thought to the ways people might want to use the bible on their Kindles.
44 Comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2011
I downloaded the English Standard Version of The Holy Bible on to my Kindle, but was greatly disappointed when after checking it in line with the KJV Bible it appeared that there were words left out that are in the Authorised version of The Bible (KJV).
55 Comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 November 2011
Such a shame I can't give it zero stars.
Dull, dull, dull, badly written fantasy stories. It doesn't even work as a novel, let alone a guide to leading a good life.
Don't bother is my advice, try something by Tolkien instead
55 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 March 2012
Would not recommend. The plot was bizarre and hard to follow, and the characters utterly unconvincing. I was willing to give it the B.O.D granted that it's a very old book written by like, 100 different authors and translated 4-5 times, but nevertheless it was a massively underwhelming read. The continuity was terrible! One minute the main character is all powerful, pulling deus ex machina out of his back pocket whenever the plot called for it, the next minute he was losing in wrestling contests to old men on top of mountains and having his plans undone by just about everyone. The authors didn't seem to be able to agree on the themes either: some of it looked like it was written by John Lennon and some by Sadam Hussien! I don't know whether to love my neighbourly or kill him for worshipping a different god, and his entire family, and burn the ground that no living thing might grow there.
44 Comments| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)