Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 12 January 2009
This item has been receiving a bit of stick, not sure why. I have bought 2 of these, one from America and one from Britain to compare. It seems this version has some updates, and comes in a nice box with updated instructions.

Now to the product. I use mine for CoD 5 and the sound, both being sent and received is crystal clear, and must be the best from any bluetooth headset. It also has nice little features like an on-screen display for battery life and whether mic-mute is on or off.

The headset is light, fits easily over the ear and the hook is adjustable for extra comfort and stability. Although in my experience it doesn't seem to fit in the ear that well, however, it has never fallen off or out.

Battery life is about the same as the controllers (about 6 hours talk time), but re-charging is quick through the supplied stand, which also doubles up as a desktop microphone. I warn you though, in this mode the mic is very sensitive. It heard me talking to my bro about 15 meters away, make sure it is switched off when in the stand.

All in all it looks great and performs amazingly. No regrets buying, and not a bad price. So where's yours?
77 Comments| 121 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 January 2011
Actually i expected this to sound average as it's substantially cheaper than some non- official PS3 bluetooth headsets.
It functions much better when registered to the PS3 via a USB cable (directly connected to the headset,just once as it shows in instructions to get the extra features)
You can then use it wirelessly with the addition of on screen battery level indicator,HQ audio and its general status.
The outgoing voice quality is very good if you select HQ audio mode,on deselecting HQ audio it's outgoing audio is very similar to most other bluetooth headsets - not too good.
Comfort is reasonable(but could be so much better) with a rubber clasp that hugs the back of your ear,this can be reversed very easily to change to your other ear. The in ear part has a small rubber ring with a spare in the box.
While eventually I have to change ears after around 45 mins ,mainly because of heat, it's the least uncomfortable headset for the best outgoing bluetooth sound quality i've tried to date on the PS3.
Charging is easy, it has a dock that plugs into anything with a usb port, you get notified of when it's finished charging by either an led ring around its own "mic mute button" or on screen.
It can be used as a mic in on its dock when charging too - the microphone is rerouted through to the front of the dock,just remember to route incoming audio to the Tv speakers - you could plug any headphones into your Tv you like this way.
I'd say this is worth the money and shouldn't break as fast as some alternatives.
Don't confuse the outgoing audio dropping on-line because of network conditions (at either your isp's or psn) with this headset malfunctioning to the console - go to "Audio Device Settings" on your PS3 and listen to it in HQ mode - it simply doesn't drop its audio.
Can be used with a mobile phone - if de-registered from PS3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2017
Very good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2013
Loved it, until i lost it :(
I love Sony products and this one was a handy tool, however now i just use a PS3 Eye Camera or skype.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Good Product!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2009
This Headset really surprised me.

It looks nice but not over the top. The more important thing is functionality (at least to me).
I'm using it with my PS3. It is the only Headset provides you with "visual feedback". That means the PS3 shows you the battery status, rather its muted or not and the volume. So you are always able to see all the info you need on your TV due playing. Very comfortable.

Speech quality is up to perfect and the microphone gets your voice everywhere even with your hair hanging over it. I also tested it with a friend playing Killzone2. You really get the difference between the other players with other headsets. No disturbing noises like breathing or hissing which are a pain in the *** for all the others hearing you speaking (or breathing).

I also tested it with my HTC Smartphone and it works fine with it.

Nothing to complain.

I can absolute recommend it.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 October 2008
I went to America recently and picked up a few items for almost half the price there, Sony's Official Bluetooth Headset being one of them.

I have owned a few headsets, a logitech vantage USB headset which has been, and still is my favourite mic for online gaming. It is a bit bulky and the long wire isnt pretty but sound quality is good, mic picks up your voice nice and loud, big mute button, and it fits your head just right (can be adjusted too).

The other one i had was the wireless bluetooth version of the vantage USB, called the logitech cordless vantage funnily enough. It had a behind the ear design, boasted a good battery life and easy controls. This was a dissapointment, the controls were a single button which were fidgety, the size wasnt adjustable and it was really loose for me and the quality of sound was average. And recharging was frequent too.

For that reason, i was reluctant buying a bluetooth headset. When i found out about this official one from sony with socom i knew i had to try it. Overall its my best bluetooth mic, and 2nd overall compared to logitech usb. The docking bay is excellent to recharge it when not in use, it fits snugly in your ear with a extra ring if you need it tighter, it can be worn on left/right ear, mute button is big and its a comfy mic. Also, its the only one with a screen status on the ps3 (because its the official one) telling you if your mic is muted or disconnected etc which is helpful.

The only bad thing i had experience with it was even at volume 5, it did have trouble picking up my voice. Probably because the mic has noise reduction from outside sounds, but its just killing itself with it. So i had to speak a little louder than usual to be heard which can be annoying. If Sony could fix this it would be the perfect mic.

Solid 9/10 - would recommend regardless.

P.S IIf you buy the socom bundle, you get the mic and socom game cheaper
77 Comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
I was bought one of these when they launched as an early Xmas present. I've been using it ever since to play online, and it performs faultlessly.

I haven't had any of the issues some reviewers mention - battery life is great, loudness is fine, I can wear it for a good few hours without discomfort, and I *know* it's picking up my voice clearly because I can often hear myself echoing back from my co-players' TV speakers!

So I don't know whether the other reviewers' issues are due to faulty units, bad net connections or even perhaps bad game servers, but I've already recommended this headset to many people, and everyone whom I know has subsequently bought it is very happy with it.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
Hi everyone,
I bought this headset last week and am very pleased with it and have to agree that it is one great headset and i would highly recomend it!

Pros:

* Ajustable volume control which goes loud, great as you can hear those people with a not so loud voice or headset.

* Built in battery which lasts hours on end (about 5-6 hours) and a not so long recharge time (2 hours).

* Wireless! Bluetooth 2.1 for high quality wireless range and sound.

* Comes with a rechargeable docking station so it looks top notch even while charging.

* Comes with all the features you'd exspect from a top range headset (Volume control + & -, Mute button, easy to use, easy to set-up)

* No hissing or static noises and does not interfear with other wireless equitment e.g. Wireless router, mobile phones, Wireless controler)

Cons:

* Quite big and a big ear hook which might make it not suiteable for people with small ears.

* USB cable is a little short but can be replaced by a longer one.

5 out of 5!
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)