Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
236
4.6 out of 5 stars
Goldfinger [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 27 March 2009
'Goldfinger' is one of my favourite movies and was the first DVD disc I ever played. I put off buying a Blu-ray player until 'Goldfinger' was available on that format. So, putting that disc into my brand new Panasonic DMP-BD35 player was a much anticipated event, fraught with the possibility of either fulfilment or of bitter disappointment.
Fortunately, I was served up a large dollop of joy. The reviews of the Blu-ray releases of 'Dr. No' and 'From Russia with Love' were very positive and so it has proved to be the same for 'Goldfinger'
However, I can't agree with reviews that say "Set in the '60s but looks as if it was filmed yesterday". It simply isn't going to look as sharp as 'Bourne Ultimatum' (for example) but the Technicolor palette has never looked quite so natural - e.g. the golf match between Goldfinger & Bond. Some scenes are really quite beautiful such as the Alpine, 'Golden Girl', and 'Fort Knox' interior scenes. However the High Def format shows up flaws in the matte and model work. The soundtrack is also greatly enhanced with the title sequence looking and sounding fantastic. Most of the extras have been available on previous DVD releases and have now been enhanced for the Blu-ray release.
If you are an HD-loving, long-standing Bond fan and think 'Goldfinger' is THE essential Bond movie, just buy it.
99 Comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
This is a review for Goldfinger (Ultimate Edition 2 Disc) [DVD].

From the opening pre-credit adventure to the end credits this Bond film moves along at a brisk pace.

Goldfinger, Oddjob, Pussy Galore are all great characters. The script, as with the previous film - From Russia With Love, is superlative.

Film ratio is 1.85:1. Audio is DD 5.1. Both are excellent.

The extras disc has documentaries, a gallery, trailers, tv spots, etc.

Forget Skyfall (overrated nonsense) this is the ultimate Bond movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
I was reluctant to buy this after the DVD 2-disc ultimate edition thinking how much better can it be.
The best improvement comes in the visual department where it actually displays 4K in the corner and then the film begins.
Immediately the sharpness of the movie is that much better then the DVD restoration process.
There is a big but, with the increased sharpness and detail comes increase grain in the picture.
There seemed to be a massive problem with film studios using cr*ppy film stock of the time which has nothing to do with the film restoration.
However this being the third in the series is less of a improvement than Dr. No so at the film technology was moving on at the time the film was made.
It is just a shame ITV keep on hammering the Bond movies to the death.
For me Goldfinger is the best movie in the series of Bonds and this is the best incarnation so far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2017
'Goldfinger', the most iconic of all Bond movies, and favourite of many. A change in director (now 'Guy Hamilton') brings about a palpable change in tone for this the 3rd in the series. A blockbuster at the box office and a template for future 007 adventures. Bowler hats, gadgets galore, and a girl named 'Pussy', this is where you'll find them. The Aston Martin DB5 is here too. It's impossible not love. Another brilliant early 60s Bond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
I am not a huge Bond fan and I don't use the word lightly but this film is a masterpiece. Despite it's age Goldfinger is still very watchable. It's very quotable. Not something that can be said about later Bonds. The film look fantastic. From the Swiss Alps to the gorgeous women, there is always something to feast your eyes on. One of my criticisms with more recent Bonds is that the plots are not believable and too farfetched. Goldfingers motives are believable and authentic. The only thing I would have done different had I made is that I would have given the lovely Masterson sisters more screen time!

To conclude even if your not a Bond fan this is simply one of those films ever films fan should own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 April 2013
If you only buy one Bond film, make it this. Goldfinger encompasses all that is Bond, with the best moments in the history of the franchises happening here. Not only do you get the quintessential Bond in Connery (sorry Craig, you're good, just that THAT good), but you get the quintessential villain, the quin... well you get the picture. The film is tightly scripted and has some of the best action scenes of any bond. Yes latter day bonds have CGI to fall back on, but in its day Goldfinger pushed the boundaries for action. There's so much to love about this film, from Shirley Bassey's iconic theme to Odd Job and Pussy Galore. Do yourself a favour and get this film. The remastering is fantastic, even if you settle for DVD rather than Blu Ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2015
I have the film previously on DVD and was a little dubious as to how it could be improved upon, but as a fan of blu ray and Bond movies I thought I would give it a go. I wasn't disappointed at all!
Looking better than ever in a pristine condition with a very clear crisp soundtrack.
The disc is loaded with extras too.
This is a true film classic that should be in every film buffs blu ray library.
If you only own one Bond movie, this is still the one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2014
Possibly the greatest Bond film of all time. Outstanding picture quality making the film look like a new release and not celebrating its 50th anniversary. If you bought the 50th anniversary box set of Bond films on Blu-ray then you`ll already have this disc. However, the steelbook is a thing of beauty and a must have purchase for all fans. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Best Bond movie of them all, even recent ones. This one does not date.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Classic Bond with Sean Connery - still the best :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)