Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • 10
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
9
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.56+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 October 2008
You can tell these songs are personal to Midge by the way they have not been done with huge over production. He has kept them simple and by doing so has made one of his most emotional records. Nevermore is the standout for me, the only dissapointment is that 'little girl in bloom' is not included, a Thin Lizzy track he sometime performs live. It took a couple of listens before it grabbed me but now I have to say that ten is an excellent album. Emotional and sometimes raw. Well done Midge
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
An album of gentle interpretations of songs that mean a lot to Midge, and after eight years wait for a new studio album there was a lot of expectation.

Sadly a couple of the songs are poor, most disappointing are his versions of Goodbye to Love and Alfie.

Others are a pleasant listening experience but not classics.

Highlights for me are Man of the World, Day after Day, Song for While I'm Away and Nevermore - all classic Midge.

This album needed some more upbeat moments to give it a much needed injection of energy and vigour to make it better than average. Sadly average is what it is overall, inspite of a few gems.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 October 2008
Midge Ure has been working on his covers album for over 20 years, and frankly the result isn't worth it. From the dubious selection of tracks to the home alone feel of the production, 10 rarely rises above mediocre - the notable exception being "Nevermore" where Ure brings some depth to his singing. Sadly, some of the tracks here have just been overworked by Midge in his solo accoustic tours - where the material sounds much, much better. Here's hoping for better things next time. For a better example of doing cover versions, the new Glen Campbell album is worthy of greater attentions.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
Yikes. 26 years ago Midge Ure scored his first solo hit with a fine reworking of The Walker Brothers `No Regrets'. All moody electronica fired through with a wailing electric guitar it was a fine start to what has been a hesitant, but always interesting solo career.

Anyone who's watched Midge live over the past few years (and this reviewer has - many times) will know that he's made much of the fact that No Regrets was intended to be the first cut from a covers album that he always wanted to do, but never quite got round to completing. Well now he has, and after 26 years the question is: was the wait worth it? The answer is a resounding and depressing no. God, no.

This is an album that sounds like Ure has been locked in solitary confinement for a year with a small casio keyboard and an acoustic guitar. Instrumentally every song is reduced to vague noodlings, and the vocals are astonishingly insipid for someone of Midge's range. This was the voice the roared Vienna, that crooned the beautiful Breathe and that rocked through Dancing With Tears in My Eyes. Yet every song here sounds like he's recorded it after waking up at 3am, bleary eyed and in need of a glass of water.

So what about the selected cuts? Well, it's difficult to be critical when the songs are picked for reasons as personal as these, but it's precisely the fact that they mean so much to him that makes the album so depressing - nothing is raised to a level above elevator music; background noise.

There's the opening track, Alfie, which would never have been a hit if Cilla had done it like this, and there's the Carpenters' Goodbye to Love, which manages to make the original sound like Van Halen in comparison. Then there's a truly bizarre reworking of To Sir with Love, which, given the fact that it's now being sung by a man gives Lulu's song a hitherto unrealised homo-erotic edge. Like all the rest, it's just bland and noodlesome.

There are better tracks. Peter Green's Man of the World, Queen's Nevermore and Thin Lizzy's Song for While I'm Away are all improvements, each of them registering as something more than the weightless, amorphous mass that is the rest of the album. But not much more. On any of his other albums not a single track here would have made the cut.

Now that it's finally out of his system one would hope that Midge can get back to doing something of the quality of his last two studio albums, Move Me and Breathe - both of them amongst the best he's made. Any more like this, though, and he'll be needing to reform Ultravox just to pay the bills.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2009
Anyone who is interested in hearing the songs that influenced Midge will like this. Listen to the lyrics....there are some good and very poignant songs there.

My favourites are Midge's covers of 'Day After Day', 'Let the Heartaches Begin' and 'Man of the World' and of course the absolutely amazing 'Nevermore'...the Midge treatment is fantastic! Freddie would love it! Its worth getting the album for that alone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2009
A very personal album, some of my favourite songs too! Next door will be getting sick of this through the wall!!! Or maybe not - they haven't complained either. And Midge's vice is brilliant as always.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2015
I've got this CD. My favourite tracks are Long John Baldry's Let The Heartaches Begin, Queen's Nevermore,Lulu's To Sir With Love, Cilla Black's Alfie and Badfinger's Day After Day. This is Midge's first covers album. I hope that he does another one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2010
This isn't very good covers album, unsuitable songs and pointless!!! Lulu's To Sir With Love, Carpenters Goodbye to Love, Small Faces My Minds Eye all classic songs that Midge loves! But he turns them into non discript bland A.O.R What was he thinking of? Lady Stardust??? Why oh Why??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2014
I this for my hubby it was a CD he could not get. It plays okay and it is what they said it was. I heave no trouble with the seller or service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£32.69

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)