Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
147
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.71+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 October 2008
After the slightly disappointing season 3 grey's anatomy season 4 had to be the season that was best by all standards, and i have to say it even out performed the unmissable season 2.

During the season we watched the now residents relationships flourish and diminish. The biggest mistake ever was Izzie and George getting together although the break up of George's marriage opened the floodgates for a relationship with a difference for Callie. Throughout the season viewers were waiting in anticipation for the MERDER realtionship to make a move forward... although this looked very doubtful after Derek starts "dating"

Cristina gets a shock from her past, and is challenged in her chosen career path in Cardio-thoracics upon the arrival of Dr. Erica Hahn. This season shows the abrput, comedy and competitive nature that cristina is well known and loved for, although we also see her more vulnerable side, when the shock appears and especially towards the season finale when it's obvious that Cristina doesn't want to loose her "person" and best friend Meredith-( this continues into season 5)

There are a few guest appearences this season, as well as new characters who join the regular cast, one in particular Lexie Grey - Meredith's half sister.

Season 4 contains all the usual medical drama, comedy and romance we have become accustommed to, In my opinion is the best season to date, definately one that should not be missed!

Enjoy
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2009
After losing my patience with Miserable Meredith at the end of series 3, it was with relief that series 4 showed a turning point for our 'twisty and gnarly' heroine and friends.

Meredith FINALLY gets some help dealing with her past, the nurses lead a revolt against the ever-sleazy McSteamy and the relationship between McDreamy and the Chief takes and amusing turn. There are the usual intriguing patients who teach the characters meaningful lessons, mean surgeons who enjoy making life hell for our posse of students and for the first time Mer, Christina, Izzie and Alex are reponsible for their own interns.

Not to say all is fun and games - the repercussions of George and Izzie's fling is felt throughout the series, the Nazi faces some real personal challenges and uptight Christina (eventually) faces up to the fact that Burke dumped her at the altar. Oh, and Ava/Rebecca/Jane Doe re-appears, which upsets the apple-cart no end.

All things considered, I'm still addicted to Grey's and can't wait for the next series. Buy it now, snuggle up on the sofa with a blanket and some ice cream and turn your phone off. Enjoy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
With our group of 5 interns now into their residencies (well except George) they face the inevitable challenges of leadership and responsibility while managing their own messy lives.

The revelation that Meredith has a long lost sister (who incidentally tried to hit on Derek at the end of Series 3, [blimey that could have been awkward!]) is dealt with by Meredith in her own inimitable way, IE, acting like Lexie doesn't exist and generally being a bitch (Christina would be proud)

Despite this, Lexie's short-term relationship with Alex serves as a bridge between the two and they develop, if not a sisterly, but a friendly relationship.

The addition of Erica Hahn as the new Head of Cardio following Burke's departure is not met with joy by all, specifically Christina who Hahn dislikes due to her relationship with Burke.

Following George's revelation about his "affair" and his eventual break up with Callie, he strikes up a friendship with Lexie and the two get a flat-share together. Ironically, Lexie falls in love with George who is as oblivious to this fact as Meredith was to his feelings in the past which shows a nice symmetry between the two situations.

Meredith and Derek's relationship is a little bit annoying to me at times throughout this series. They keep chanting this mantra of "break-up sex" while never really breaking up and then Meredith gets annoyed that Derek wants to see someone else. Well Mer, you did say that you weren't ready to give Derek what he wanted so don't get mad that he has found someone who does!

The eventual (figurative) explosion of this demonstrates something I (correctly as it happends) hinted at in a previous review regarding aspects of Derek's personality. Basically, when things get bad, Derek runs away and lashes out at people. Which he does in spectacular form when his and Meredith's clinical trial starts to go badly and proceeds to treat her like crap once again (but she builds him a house of candles so it's all ok right?)

Alex gets his own proper storyline (actually from Season 3 but I forgot it last review) when "Ava comes back and declares her love for him before going crazy and trying to kill herself and being committed to the Psych-Ward and vanishing forever. However I thought this was an enjoyable story that allowed for some good development of Alex as a character and showed that he is not just an arrogant ass but someone who has had a very difficult life and acts the way he does to keep people at distance (cliche I know, but I feel it works with him)

Once again I cannot find any good things to say about Izzie. On her first day with her new Interns she risks her job by trying to save a deer that got run over just to please a young boy and proceeds to lash out at her interns by insulting their abilities. (It's their first day, they won't ever be perfect Izzie, what's your excuse for being incompetent) Furthermore, her "relationship" with George feels pointless and forced, I disliked it from the start and my reaction was akin to Meredith's and Christina's "So you two are together now?" "Err, Yeah" *Insert looks of bewilderment and wry amusement*

Overall, very enjoyable, my general frustration (no longer worth it to hate her) with Izzie didn't detract from my overall enjoyment of the series and I hope that Meredith and Derek will finally stop dancing around each other and either get together or break up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2008
After the slightly disappointing season 3 grey's anatomy season 4 had to be the season that was best by all standards, and i have to say it even out performed the unmissable season 2.

During the season we watched the now residents relationships flourish and diminish. The biggest mistake ever was Izzie and George getting together although the break up of George's marriage opened the floodgates for a relationship with a difference for Callie. Throughout the season viewers were waiting in anticipation for the MERDER realtionship to make a move forward... although this looked very doubtful after Derek starts "dating"

Cristina gets a shock from her past, and is challenged in her chosen career path in Cardio-thoracics upon the arrival of Dr. Erica Hahn. This season shows the abrput, comedy and competitive nature that cristina is well known and loved for, although we also see her more vulnerable side, when the shock appears and especially towards the season finale when it's obvious that Cristina doesn't want to loose her "person" and best friend Meredith-( this continues into season 5)

There are a few guest appearences this season, as well as new characters who join the regular cast, one in particular Lexie Grey - Meredith's half sister.

Season 4 contains all the usual medical drama, comedy and romance we have become accustommed to, In my opinion is the best season to date, definately one that should not be missed!

Enjoy
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I only started watching greys anatomy at the start of 2013 so I am sailing through the different series and really enjoying the show.

There has been mentions that series 4 is not as good as other series because it falls under the writers strike but I really enjoyed it. I love watching the interns now as residents with their own interns and love the arrival of Meredith's sister. And in a silly way they have a 60 year old intern who really makes me laugh.

The biggest downside to this series is that its only a short one with just 17 episodes. Have the next series at the ready (season 5) because they really do flow onto one another and you wont want one without the other.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
What can be said about this series that hasn't been said at length by other people?? You follow the doctors, their lives outside the hospital,their joys, their grief and EVERY other emotional response. All life is here, on the gurney or working around it. As in real life every time a person thinks they're getting ahead, life knocks them back down and then gives them a good kicking!!! But, moments of real joy and achievement mean they get back up and continue.

If ACTUAL doctors life and training is ANYTHING like this I'm astonished that anyone would ever complete their training.

FABULOUS series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Fans of this great TV series will probably notice that most of the reviews are for the easily available 'DVD' of Season Four.

But if you're buying on BLU RAY and live in the UK - don't be tempted by the cheaper American release. The US Disney Box Set is REGION A LOCKED and therefore won't play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Check you're getting the UK version instead (Region B) - so even if it costs a bit more - it won’t give you playback problems...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 May 2012
I really liked this season and as with all the seasons so far the cases just get better and better. This time though the cases are actually extended so instead of only seeing one patient in one episode we might get to follow that patient for a couple of episodes - this was great because previously it's been a little difficult to actually relate to some of the key patients because we just don't see them long enough.

Another thing I liked this season was the progression of the interns - or should I say new residents. A new wave of interns moves up, as we saw briefly at the end of the last season with the introduction of Merediths Sister Lexi. I liked Lexi, she's a really great character, completely likeable (which is important because it would be easy to hate her if you're a fan of Meredith) and her back story gives us a nice insight into what Meredith has been missing out on. The relationship between the half sisters is really well explored, mostly in a negative way because of Merediths aversion to family.

The relationships between characters are often the best part about this series, particular between Derek and Meredith and Meredith and Christina but actually this season all of the other characters get more of a look-in. In particular, Bailey and her family/personal life are thoroughly explored - Bailey is such a funny character usually that it was nice to see a deeper side to her and to see the difficulty balancing family with being a surgeon.

George, held back as an intern, similarly struggles with starting over and his new-found relationship with Issy is a bit like marmite I fear. Some people are really rooting for them and hoping it works out and others wish it would end already. I personally changed my mind about this all the time so it kept me guessing throughout. Similarly, Christina has a bigger role this season after being left at the alter last season. She's still as witty as ever but we see a softer side of her.

Overall, a great series - I can't wait for the next seasons and urge anyone who hasn't seen this one yet to go out and get it immediately! Hope this helps.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2009
This series is actually brilliant. I won't give anything away, but the fact that it really does set up the next series so fantastically has left me gagging for more! Thankfully, I only have to wait until the 22nd of January.

I can't wait for it be released so I can rewatch them again and again! Absolutely brilliant. I watched a trailer for the 5th series and I think we're all going to have some shocks in store, and that the Meredith-McDreamy relationship is never going to be easy! Anyway, buy it! Compulsory viewing.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2009
Grey's Anatomy had a difficult period through Season Three and received a lot of criticism from fans. Most of it was deserved. The biggest problem was the first two seasons were utterly brilliant (If you haven't seen them, order the DVDs!)and Meredith and Derek became such a massively popular couple that it obviously caused problems for the writers and creator Shonda Rhimes. Somewhere the programme lost it's way and Rhimes made some bad choices, especially in relation to handling Meredith and Derek. She let her own cynicism about relationships get in the way of the show.

Season Four is thankfully a huge return to form. Rhimes still seems a little stubborn about certain things, which is a shame, but overall she obviously took criticism on board and worked hard to get things back to the good old Grey's Anatomy.

Both writers and characters develop hugely as the season progresses and it end in a fantastic finale. There are some great storylines and Lexie Grey turned out to be a very good addition to the programme. If you loved Grey's, but were disppointed by Season Three - get back up on that Grey's horse! I think you'll enjoy this season and you will be gripped by the twists and turns. Meredith's development as a character was long overdue and it's great to watch it happen through her visits with a psychologist. Justin Chambers does a fantastic job with the character of Alex and I enjoyed Mark and Callie beginning to find their niche on the show.

If you are still not convinced, get this DVD simply so that you are up to date by the time the next DVD is released. Season Five is INCREDIBLE! You won't want to miss a second of it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse