Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
48
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 May 2003
This is most definitely a turning point for the Order. Movement was really a Joy Division release without Curtis, whereas Power Corruption and Lies is clearly a band finding their own sound with the distinctive use of electronics throughout. I have this on vinyl and the track order is very different to the CD listed. However I am sure this will not detract from ones overall enjoyment.
The opener "Age of Consent" brings Hooky's base to the fore of the music and Morris's drumming is excellent along with Bernard’s (slightly more) confident vocals combine to give a definitive New Order Track.
Another track of note is "586", which can only remind listeners of Blue Monday. The distinctive New Order sound is very much present, which would be developed in later albums.
These are two of my personal favourites from the album, but to be honest none of the tracks are weak. This isn't the best Order album to buy first, (Low - Life would be a better first buy), but this is still an excellent release.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2008
Update :

New Order issues
===================================================================
Warner respond to fan complaints about poor quality re-issues
10 October 2008 - Peter Hook has revealed to the BBC that the New Order reissues have received complaints from fans because of the poor quality.

The records were released at the end of September and Hook has blamed the problems on cut backs in the record industry and some missing tapes.

The former Joy Division and New Order bassist explained the problem: "Funnily enough we've actually got a few problems with our fans complaining about the quality of the re-masters of the companion discs. Not the LP's because they're safe and the tapes for those we have.

"A lot of them are lost, between us listening to the collation and between them coming onto the CD, something seems to have gone wrong."

Hook attributed it to problems within the record company, saying: "They don't have half the staff they used to have so everything becomes quite a trial, and I know from doing the Hacienda compilation tape, you get a lot of masters of old songs - they are mastered from the record because nobody can find the tape."

And it seems there was some miscommunication with their record label: "What's been intensely annoying for us is that all these people are complaining because they've bought them in the shops and Warner's chose to release them to the shops before they sent them to the band, so I haven't got one. A masterful piece of planning."

Contact Warner

Warner say that if any of the fans want to contact them about the quality of the New Order re-issues, then they can email this address:

Neworder.d2c@warnermusic.com

New order- power corruption and lies (remaster)
----------------------------------------------------
Well, its here at last...

For me, the pinnacle of their career, and their best album.
nothing has quite come close to the level they were at when
this album came out..

So lets talk about specifics:
=======================================================
1) The album is not overly loud, or 'over mastered', i'm
still comparing all the individual tracks... but so far
they look really good

2) The soft parts are clear, with no noise or artifacts
that i've noticed..

I'm listening through altec-lansing speakers, and also through
headphones

3) The loud parts are not distorted

4) Tracks are complete and not missing parts

The bonus disc:
==========================================================
1) Unfortunately , the bonus disc starts off badly with
'blue monday' still missing the intro beats

2) The sound quality for 'blue monday' is very good however, i'll compare
it with the 'substance' version, and also with the '24 hour
party people version)

However, note that the mastering for the bonus tracks is on the 'loud' side, and it looks like there might be a little bit of overcropping..

3) The rest of the tracks sound fine also, and are not overly
loud, and do not have their levels maxed out...

4) The last track on the disc is listed as 'confusion (alt version)',
when in fact it is confusion (instrumental)....

==========================================================

Overall, the main album is excellent, and
definitely worth getting...

The bonus disc is average, but the sound quality is very good.. of course they could have put more tracks on there as it is about 60min+ in total

New Order have never sounded better !!!!!

This is a very good job, and after all these
years, to finally get a great copy of it is
very special to me.
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2001
Coming some two years after Movement, this was the
turning point album in many ways. Many, including
the band themselves, felt that Movement was too
close to the Joy Division sound and this is partly
borne out as they are not keen to play anything
from it (barring the odd Dreams Never End!).
Movement was also the last JD/NO album to be
produced by the gifted (and late) genius Martin
Hannett. So, P, C & L sees the band stretching
out in different directions at the same time.
Your Silent Face is classic early NO: a sequenced
and metronomic line locked in tight to Steve's
Oberheim DMX drum machine (later to find fame on
Blue Monday). On top of these are Gillian's
spacious string lines, Hooky's melodic bass and
Barney intoning the lethal pay-off line before
aforementioned strings - and his melodica! -
come back: "You've caught me at a bad time so
why don't you piss off?".
I've seen them do this track live a few times,
the last time being in October 2001 at Brixton
and to see a few hundred people shout it back
at Barney is quite something! On record, it's
a glorious moment.
Leave Me Alone is stripped-down, powering along
on Hooky's driving bass and Steve's dynamic
drumming. Ecstacy features another minimal
bassline and superb vocoder vocals. They only
used it on this (and The Beach), it went wrong,
they spent a fortune on it but it never worked
again! Ultraviolence conveys an air of menace
where Barney's restrained vocals compliment the
impending savagery of the music perfectly.
Both We All Stand and 586 first saw an airing in
early form on a Peel session in the summer of 82.
We All Stand is incredibly minimal: there's very
little there, just sparse guitar, Hooky's winding
bass and Steve's effected drumming.
586 is a different kettle of fish. The Peel
version is quite minimal but this is a corker.
An insistant sequenced bassline draws us in
and the band give it to us with both barrells,
drawing to a close with a brilliant sampled
toy piano solo!
"I heard you calling..." says Barney as the
music swells and the sound is quite joyful
and exuberant, two fingers to NO's detractors
who see their music as dour and joyless.
Not so. They were on their way to the big time
and this album paved the way...
Al Ferrier, December 2001
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2010
I've just purchased this album on CD after owning it on vinyl for over 20 years.

As soon as I heard the intro to 'Age of Consent', I fell in love with New Order all over again.

No one sounds like them. No one makes me 'well' up like them.

I can't write any more, as i'm wasting time by not listening to it again . . .

BUY IT!! And I hope it soundtracks your life like it did mine (and does again) . . .
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2001
Movement, for all of its value was essentially an evolution towards the New Order sound and, had Ian Curtis still have been around would have been a great third Joy Division album. With Power, Corruption and Lies, New Order were born and a wonderful new sound came with it. Years ahead of its time and influential to this day, this is an essential album to own, both from a nostalgia point of view for those mid-30s like me and also for those interested in the development of dance music over the last 20 years. Mind you, I would buy the import if at all possible as it has the addition of Blue Monday/The Beach and Ultraviolence.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Power, Corruption And Lies" saw the band move into their own. Whilst New Order hadn't quite got the hang of writing a brilliant album by this point, there's certainly a fine albums worth of material here. Their insistence on slicing a couple of their best songs off the album and putting them on singles in their own right meant that LP space was occupied by the occasional poor song that really should've stayed on the B Side of a 12" single. "Blue Monday", the depressives version of "I Feel Love", never appeared on a New Order album until five years after it came out. "Power" sees the band demonstrate that, if nothing else, their production ear was and is immaculate, and that they could occupy the space between being a powerfully effective, weird art rock band ("Age Of Consent", "Leave Me Alone") and sad disco ("586") whilst sounding like the same band at the same time. At this point, the band were at the apex of their experimentalism, producing material that sounds like it was written by psychotic robot clones of the Velvet Underground and heartbroken dancers at the same time. As a package, the album is an almost complete artistic statement : including the oblique sleeve art that sees a reinterpretation of a classic artwork, and reducing the need of typography to a colour code (each colour represents a letter, and thus, the titles are listed on the cover, albeit by colour and not by any recognisable language). As an audacious concept, New Order took the desire of design and the concept of music as art beyond what most other musicians could even concieve.

Again the bonus disc is frustratingly incomplete and lacking in cohesion : there's no sign of the 1982 Radio Session that saw prototypes of these songs recorded, no sign of the cassette only "Video 586" soundtrack, no trace of the legendary Christmas Flexidisc which saw the band tackling Christmas Carols, nor the odd occasional live cover versions they would indulge in such as live jams with Section 25, or "When I`m With You". This neglected, experimental side of the band provides a skewed version of their history : let alone the traditional out-takes, demos, and other stuff that we don't know exists but lives in Manchester basements. Everything on here is a A or B-side, and has been out before on various compilation releases and other, equally unsatisfactory box sets. Sure, the music is fantastic, but almost everyone has heard it before. Let's not mention the large number of old concert VHS tapes released and broadcast between 1985 and 1993 that are now deleted that could be quickly and easily transferred to DVD. These reissues fail to satisfy any fan of the group with anything more than the basic knowledge of the band. It's by no means a poor package, but is very much the sound of an open goal in providing a package that would please fans of the band's work. Again, the bonus disc sounds like a hastily assembled filler mixtape with no thought as to how it would sound when listened to as a whole.
77 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 27 March 2014
Hooky on bass, Sumner doing the vocals, this is the definitive post Curtis album. Loads of synth, but haunting bass and a whole set of rhythms which make this album as valid now as 30 years ago. Outstanding value at £1.99 mp3. I've played it over and over.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2016
Probably more than wellknown by most fans and an absolute must. This edition has a very good remastering, the sound is excellent and the cover is well reproduced. The extras are good. Admitted, given the excellence of the album in itself less than 5 stars would have required a really s***ty wrapping, but still......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2001
Their second and much more consistent album. Hooky's bass really starts to take effect from this release onwards.
It is obvious from this album that the band had discovered their own direction to take, rather than copying their old JD days. Barney's love of eurodance combined well with the pop stylings of the band on such numbers as the opener 'Age of Consent'.
However a darker touch still is constant on this album. Though unlike before it is much more focused and expertly written into songs.
On '586' you can hear the blueprint for 'Blue Monday',(absent from the UK release), it is very similar in style and compares quite favourably with the classic 'Monday', especially when it reaches the closing stages and the piano kicks in.
'Ultraviolence' is a dark track, though this is disguised with the sounds created by the band. 'Ecstasy' is a vocodered driven electronic track. Don't let that put you off! Rather than maxing up with mic, Barney sings quietly through it and it sounds more like he's singing through a very basic radio microphone. New Order used vocoders well, once and never again, unlike others!
A great album and New Order's first essential release.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2006
The greatest album ever made (the version with the xtra tracks of course) This album was at least a dozen years ahead of its time -- the perfect combination of synths and guitars with Hookys trademark riffs resonating throughout. Barney at last grows up vocally and sounds as though he finally has the confidence to be a lead singer.
The true measure of the quality of the album is that the non singles consistently appeared in Peels festive 50 for a number of years.
NO have not made a record half as good since -- and nor will they ever do - and that despite their making some truly superb music in the ensuing years -- it is just that this album is that good. If you've not heard it then listen and try to believe that this was made circa 25 years ago !
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here