Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 13 December 2017
A quietly accomplished dystopian tragedy, with echoes of Gattaca and the original Blade Runner.
Both Tim Robbins and Samantha Morton turn in beautifully nuanced performances, in a near-future where 'cover' dictates everything you can do and where you can go. Sunlight is toxic; travel is strictly restricted, and upgrades are integrated into individuals by way of smart viruses. It all hangs together quite convincingly - as does the central premise that Code 46 must be enforced, to avoid genetic overlaps in an increasingly homogenous population.
The use of language is flat-out brilliant, although it's a bit disconcerting at first to hear the characters seamlessly sliding between languages.
Although the basic story - investigator falls for the person he's hunting - is far from new, there's real depth and subtlety to the surprising storyline.
It's very different to the average Tom Cruise running / shouting / shooting type of sci-fi - more of arthouse cinema than mainstream multiplex.
Ideal if you normally watch world cinema or weird films from Studio Canal...
8/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 December 2015
Code 46 is one of my favorite movies. I love the futuristic setting and Tim robbins and Samantha Morton are both great as two people that are in love, but can't be together. I think this film suits those that loves a mix of science fiction and romance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2017
A bit vague & poorly laid out but an interesting idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
PENDING
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2016
All good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 January 2016
Perfect, thanks a lot!:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 5 April 2015
Usually when a film has a mix of reviews, some calling it tedious and others calling it thoughtful, I end up enjoying it. Not this one, alas.

It's very well made, with some powerful acting, a great musical score and a lovely use of huge sweeping urban landscapes from the present to depict the future. Yet the dialogue is often confusing (and hard to follow - making the absence of subtitles annoying), the plot slow moving and the film's promising ideas about genetic manipulation and manipulation of memory remain superficial rather than being fleshed out into substantive points.

The Orwellian future painted is very skillfully done, but what happens against that backdrop is a disappointment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 March 2016
Gave up... Dunno what happened with this one, it seemed appealing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 March 2018
Looks like a cheap 1980s flick, impossible to understand the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2014
After 15 minutes I wanted to gouge my own eyes out with the remote. It didn't improve either. Somebody compared this to Solaris. This couldn't lace Cloony's boots up. It's just a terrible,terrible film. I spotted ideas taken from Red Dwarf, which i know is not unusual as even star trek has done so, but this film bases a large part of the story on a throw away 20 minute idea from RD. This is the first film review i've ever been bothered to do, but the way i see it is if i can prevent one human being from wasting 2hrs of their life and almost certainly being permanently injured in the area of the brain that enjoys decent sci-fi, then it will have been worth it. Now every time i watch Tim Robbins in shawshank, I won't be feeling any sympathy for him in that scene where the Bull Queers get hold of him, after making this film, i think he got off lightly.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here