Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
15
4.3 out of 5 stars
Black Butterfly
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 8 October 2008
Having built up a huge following over the years, Buckcherry has been riding on an all time high of popularity, particularly since their smash comeback album `15', released in 2006. Sticking to the formula of their success; riotous, whiskey-stained, sleaze-infested anthems, and heart-felt power ballads, Black Butterfly does not disappoint.
Album opener `Rescue Me' is a feisty, energetic affair, exposing the downsides of the rock n' roll lifestyle, whilst `Tired of You', with it's groovy guitar riffs, depicts an individual coming to terms with the imminent end of a relationship, due to the addictions, and resultant behaviour, of their other half.
`Too Drunk...' is the first single to be released from this album, and is most comparable to past offerings such as their first hit `Lit Up' and their signature anthem `Crazy Bitch'. Focusing upon the themes that surround the sex, drugs and rock n' roll lifestyle, it's outrageous lyrics "I got so many women comin' after me/I put some pussy on layaway" and a punchy guitar riff to go with it, `Too Drunk...' will not disappoint those in search of one sordid, dirty, party anthem.
`Dreams' and `Don't Go Away' display the balladry prowess that Buckcherry are so good at, the latter being the second release from the album, and probably the most heartfelt of them all. `Talk To Me' incorporates scratchy guitar-led verses, depicting a loveless yet `physical' relationship, whilst `A Child Called `It' deals with the taboo issue that is child abuse and neglect, written from a child's perspective. `Fallen' is an all out rocker, much in the same way that `Imminent Bail Out' is; grinding, heavy, rhythm's, accompanied by Josh Todd's signature growling vocals, lyrically, both offerings illustrate a person with one hell of a chip on their shoulder.
`Rose' is quite the feel good anthem, providing a tribute to that special person in your life, whilst in addition to this, you have the acoustic `All of Me' which embraces a somewhat bluesy/country mantra, complementing the tender lyrics of the song. Finally, we have album closer `Cream'. A stirring semi-ballad, it begins rather delicately, before launching into a surge of military-style drums, crunching power chords, and in particular, showcases Todd's vocal range in a way that many of the songs don't do justice.
All in all, this album does not let down. There is no doubt however that Buckcherry will come under fire from various critics, as some may perceive it as being `too safe' and staying too much within their comfort zone. Yes, so maybe they are relying a little too much on the formula's that made them the success that they are, but they're giving their fans what they want, and what they expect; sleazy, good-time rock with swagger ...and heart.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2008
I love this band and have all their albums including Josh Todd's solo album, but I've struggled with this over the last few days and numerous listens. Josh's singing is great, but its always great and his lyrics take you into some underground, rock 'n' roll hedonistic odyssey of triumph and tragedy. But the music here sounds too smooth compared to their last album '15'. There are no rasping guitars and the trademark key changes, twists, hooks, and tricks are minimal on these arrangements. There are great songs and some classic Buckcherry tracks such as Tired of You, Fall Out, and Imminent Bail Out which would stand proud on any of their previous albums. Rose is another great power-ballad that only these guys can pull off being both punk and AOR at the same time. Too Drunk and Cream seem to have explicit / subliminal Dead Kennedy references but are not the usual quality of classic rawk that they can do. You will not find the usual humour and wit like, say, Brooklyn or Timebomb previously, instead there is more harder explicit lyrics. The intros and outros leave a lot to be desired as well. Rescue Me is the worse opening number of all their albums and is far too smooth and Cream is their most subdued closing number. I have to say I have to question the decision to have Keith Nelson (guitarist) as the producer. While Keith co-writes all their tunes he clearly needs a foil to help get the best from his work and this only seems to come from a good producer. If you check the production values on '15' against this, you find this album entirely lacking. It needs a remix already. I love this band more than any other and I enjoy this album but by their high standards it just doesn't make it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2008
Buckcherry deserve their popularity boost of recent times - 3 classic albums raw and sleazy yet diverse in musical range Black Butterfly is another top notch effort. Songs like talk to me and Rescue are great upbeat rockers and don't go away will instantly be stuck in your head. Great album nuff said.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
Having built up a huge following over the years, Buckcherry have been riding on an all time high of popularity, particularly since their smash comeback album `15', released in 2006. Sticking to the formula of their success; riotous, whiskey-stained, sleaze-infested anthems, and heart-felt power ballads, Black Butterfly does not disappoint.

Album opener `Rescue Me' is a feisty, energetic affair, exposing the downsides of the rock n' roll lifestyle, whilst `Tired of You', with it's groovy guitar riffs, depicts an individual coming to terms with the imminent end of a relationship, due to the addictions, and resultant behaviour, of their other half.

`Too Drunk...' is the first single to be released from this album, and is most comparable to past offerings such as their first hit `Lit Up' and their signature anthem `Crazy Bitch'. Focusing upon the themes that surround the sex, drugs and rock n' roll lifestyle, it's outrageous lyrics "I got so many women comin' after me/I put some pussy on layaway" and a punchy guitar riff to go with it, `Too Drunk...' will not disappoint those in search of one sordid, dirty, party anthem.

`Dreams' and `Don't Go Away' display the balladry prowess that Buckcherry are so good at, the latter being the second release from the album, and probably the most heartfelt of them all. `Talk To Me' incorporates scratchy guitar-led verses, depicting a loveless yet `physical' relationship, whilst `A Child Called `It' deals with the taboo issue that is child abuse and neglect, written from a child's perspective. `Fallen' is an all out rocker, much in the same way that `Imminent Bail Out' is; grinding, heavy, rhythm's, accompanied by Josh Todd's signature growling vocals, lyrically, both offerings illustrate a person with one hell of a chip on their shoulder.

`Rose' is quite the feel good anthem, providing a tribute to that special person in your life, whilst in addition to this, you have the acoustic `All of Me' which embraces a somewhat bluesy/country mantra, complementing the tender lyrics of the song. Finally, we have album closer `Cream'. A stirring semi-ballad, it begins rather delicately, before launching into a surge of military-style drums, crunching power chords, and in particular, showcases Todd's vocal range in a way that many of the songs don't do justice.

All in all, this album does not let down. There is no doubt however that Buckcherry will come under fire from various critics, as some may perceive it as being `too safe' and staying too much within their comfort zone. Yes, so maybe they are relying a little too much on the formula's that made them the success that they are, but they're giving their fans what they want, and what they expect; sleazy, good-time rock with swagger ...and heart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
I was lucky enough to have Buckcherry's first album recommended to me years ago and I have bought all their follow up albums.

Having read the 3 star review here I was expecting a poorer offering this time but no... This is great. There are some great tunes here and I think this is a better album than 15 but perhaps not as good as their first.

If you are a Buckcherry fan you will love this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2009
Very pleased with the majority of songs on this album. The good songs make up for the one or two that didn't grab my fancy. Also, great album cover.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
New band to me stumbled across them because they are at Download Festival 09. Personally prefer their earlier release, 15, that includes their signature track 'Crazy Bitch' but this is a good follow up. Fav tracks are Rescue me and Too drunk....Will definately be checking these guys out at the festival.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2013
Excellent album, well worth the money real top band, rocking out like they always do. Well worth adding to your collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
maybe i'm biased but this is a superb album... one of my favorite bands of all time and this album doesn't dissapoint.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2009
Great hard rock - not for the sqeamish.
You have to see them live to appreciate how good they are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

15
£9.98
Timebomb
£35.03

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)