Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
1,112
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£7.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 March 2016
This is quintessentially the best the BBC has produced for literature costume drama , The sets, the acting, the flow of the story feel rich and ooze quality, once you have watched this you will feel uplifted want to study English literature & try to write your own novel like Jane Austen. This is a highly faithful well adapted TV creation of Jane Austen's classic novel a pride and prejudice.
The two main actors Collin firth who plays Mr Darcy & Jennifer Ehle who played Elizabeth Bennet are the personification of the characters Jane Austin created adding a movie star quality to the series along with many other notable performances.
The sets, the costumes, the musical score, the story add to this magical world in literately history, arguably this is the best adaption of a pride & prejudice and Collin firths stand out role that was one of the main reasons he was cast in Bridget jones dairy as a modern day Mr Darcy.

Lovers of Jane Austin will find this a classic tale well deserved of praise both for the cast and the production values by the BBC.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
I saw this on TV years ago and wanted to see it again. I haven't watched this particular DVD it yet but if you're a Jane Austen (or Colin Firth) fan you'll love the smouldering looks, the wet shirts and the saucy prettiness of Jennifer Ehle and her pouting looks of disappointment when her less attractive sister is passed over by her beau on the advice of Mr. Darcy. Totally misjudging him at first, their relationship gradually develops from one of hate to affection and mutual understanding and finally, to love. Feel the heat from Colin Firth as he virtually sets fire to the screen with his smouldering looks! Alison Steadman is the silly, hysterical mother who only wants the best for her girls and her foil of a husband who also wants the best for them, but for a completely different reason - money v happiness. Happiness wins - and Mr. Darcy wins his beautiful bride - but not until after a long struggle. You'll squirm at the cringe-worthy, sweaty-palmed parson cousin who has designs on the sisters as prospective brides and his sour faced, miserable patroness, who also has designs, this time on Mr. Darcey, as a future husband for her plain and timid niece - Mr Darcy got off lightly with that one! Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Superb restoration of an all time BBC classic series. Unlike the recent ITV Jane Austen "adaptations" and the Kira Knightly film version, this adaptation does not try to IMPROVE on the book for goodness sake! Oh the arrogance of producers! This production is thorough, clever, beautifully designed and perfectly acted - and now in this high-def restoration it looks fantastic. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2017
The brilliant BBC series-if you love Jane Austen you'll love this wonderful DVD. The acting, costumes, make-up, direction, music, serenary, staging, screenplay and Austens wonderful writing will make you fall in love with her books all over again, not to mention the characters and actors, especially Colin Firth walking out of the lake at Pemberley (which incedently wasn't in the book but made for great viewing), love it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2017
I remember watching this when I was studying in England, more than a decade ago, and more recently on YouTube....and I've been searching for it since; this (along with the Keira Knightley's movie) is in my opinion the absolute best Jane Austen adaption ever made. I totally recommend this mini-series - even to those who don't like Jane Austen all that much.
Delivery was flawless as usual; package was dreadful as usual....

....And probably ruined the item - I finally got to (re-)watch it but, after taking the disc out one time, it does not play the disc which gets ejected.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
I wasn't crazy about the people in this. 70's version was better as Elizabeth Bennet grew on you and you formed the same opinion that she was beautiful. Couldn't see Elizabeth and Jane appealing to anyone in this version and D'Arcy was a force to be reckoned with in the older series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2005
This film is a brilliant and dynamic adaptation of Jane Austen's P&P. Andrew Davies dreamt up a fantastic script, faithful to the plot and period, yet it is fresh and modern at the same time. I very much enjoyed the "show it rather than tell" scenes and all the extra scenes Davies came up with, like the introductory scene with Bingley & Darcy or the fencing scene telling a lot of things about their status, characters and feelings. The dramatisation of all the letters was also very enjoyable: showing events rather than the actors' having to read them endlessly without any actions. I also liked the way the Bennet girls were presented, how even the most everyday activities highlighted their characters.
I also liked the way Darcy - played superbly by Colin Firth by the way! - was given more attention than just appearing occasionally at the scene. This way we were more familiar with his character, actions and his feelings for Elizabeth. As a result the surprise element is not so significant of course, but it did not lessen the merits of the production.
Costumes, music, buildings and scenery were absolutely fantastic. They were not simply objects and background, they also disclosed a lot of useful information about the characters (e.g.: Darcy is wealthy, but has taste, lady Catherine is wealthy and pompous, Elizabeth is not very rich, but is natural and unpretentious...).
The actors were also very good, although I have to admit that I thought Jennifer Ehle miscast as Elizabeth Bennet: she seemed too experienced, too knowing for a twenty-odd something-year-old girl. At times she was simply impertinent instead of daring and she just SMIRKED instead of smiling playfully. Thus Darcy appeared a far more positive character to me right from the start despite his aloof behaviour. Elizabeth Garvie in the '79 version as Elizabeth was absolutely fantastic.
And there was another miscast character: Wickham. He was just too slimy. I mean, he IS slimy all right, but in the beginning Elizabeth and the audience shouldn't know that. He should appear as a much more attractive person compared to Darcy. Adrian Lukis couldn't do that, he was a bit repulsive right from the start. So I was left with the feeling "how could Lizzy fall for this guy's charm even for a second?!" You aren't supposed to feel that from the start, you shouldn't be thinking, even as a spectator, that Elizabeth must be really foolish to like this guy instead of the charismatic and sexy Darcy!
All in all, if you love the book, you are going to like this adaptation very much.
11 Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Classic adaptation with virtually all the witty dialogue of the original included and brilliantly acted. Elizabeth and Darcy's dance at Netherfield is especially well done, particularly as it is to the tune of 'Mr Beveridge's Magot'. Hasn't dated a bit since first broadcast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I did not watch this when it was first aired, but having watched it twice since I received it. I can now see what all the fuss was about in comparison to other versions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2017
The hd picture looks great since it was taken from super16mm negative there is still slight grain in some of the interior shots .
The dts hd hi res master sounds ok not much 5.1 good clean dialogue in all a very good blue ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)