Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
225
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 May 2016
La Vie En Rose is a 2007 French biographical musical film about the life of French singer Édith Piaf, who is played by the absolutely amazing Marion Cotillard. Marion Cotillard won the Academy Award for Best Actress, the BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress – Motion Picture Musical or Comedy and the César Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role for her role, marking her the first time an Oscar had been given for a French-language role.
As a child, Piaf was abandoned by her mother with her father, who dumped her with his mother, who ran a brothel. One of the prostitutes took care of her until her father returned, and took her away in quite an emotional scene. She took to singing / performing in the street and one day, her and her father’s act wasn’t going so well. So on the spur of the moment she burst into song, singing "La Marseilles”, kick starting her wonderful career.
I can’t express how wonderful this movie is and how moved I was by Cotillard’s acting. She really played the role well and it was difficult to separate her from her character, as she played it so well.
It was interesting to learn about Piaf’s life, to see how she developed her style under coaching. She had it tough, not just as a child. Alcohol, drugs, love affair and we watch her get old, looking much older than her years. An incredibly moving film that I not to be missed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2017
I saw this a few years ago and was blown away by the movie. Marion Cotillard's role as Edith Piaf is astoundingly good! This is one of those rare movies which stay in your mind ages after you have seen it for the first time. The fact that it's a French movie takes nothing away and the subtitle translation is excellent. Now bought the dvd as whenever I have been asked the last few years which is my favourite movie of all time, I always say this one - even though not many people have seen it in the UK and most can't be bothered to watch a movie with subtitles. This movie is a bit of pure cinematic class!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
This is an absolutely amazing film. It is easy to see why Marion Cottilard won the Academy Award for Best Actress, the BAFTA Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role, the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress and César Award for Best Actress in a Leading Role for her role. I am not one to watch a film over and over again but this is a film which you can watch endlessly and find something different every time. Marion Cottilard's portrayal of Édith Piaf is second to none.

The cinematography is superb. The score amazing, Costume superb and makeup fabulous. Again it is evident to see why the film won both a Bafta award and Academy Award for best makeup. Bafta Award for costume design, film music and five César awards to boot.

I highly recommend this film. One of the best films of all time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2008
The pluses:
Marion Cotillard - a sensational performance as the grown-up Piaf. The Oscar was entirely deserved.
Manon Chevallier & Pauline Burlet as Piaf as a child. I was amazed at how good these kids were. Absolutely incredible.
Indeed, the whole ensemble were very good.
The atmosphere and period settings of France from WW1 to the early sixties.

The minuses:
Not enough music - I could have done with a little more of Piaf's ravishing voice.
The timeshifts - it hopped around all over the place and by the time I got my bearings in one scene I was having to readjust for the next scene. Not sure it was necessary to hop about. Indeed think it may have been better (with one or two exceptions) to have had a more linear approach.

Overall:
Well worth watching. Definitely a keeper - will watch this again every now and then.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
A bit of commercial license used in the storyline and disjointed film direction but an interesting depiction just the same.

The constant cutting to different aspects of her life in different periods was a bit disconcerting and required close attendance to maintain the storyline. Not understanding French required constant focus on the subtitles, but the story had to be delivered in French to maintain its integrity and realism.

A great story and fantastic acting by Marion Collitard.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2017
Excellent film, actress who played Edith was very good. Definitely worth watching
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2017
Enjoyed it. Needto improve my French before I watch it again - but Ishall!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Tip Top and happy to use vendor again great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2017
Wow that woman can act!! Amazing film with beautiful old French cinematography. The struggles were emotional and brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2017
Excellent film, but have the tissues ready.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)