Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
167
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2008
After the undoubted return to form that was Don't Believe The Truth, Oasis have taken a step backwards here. What made DBTT such a good record was that Noel had rediscovered his ability to make catchy pop songs and was rewarded with a couple of number one hits. The problem here is that, quite simply, there aren't any good tunes. Whereas Oasis are often criticised for being too derivative - and with good reason in some instances: Shakermaker/Coca-Cola song - here they are actually resorting to ripping off their own back catalogue. Shock Of The Lightning sounds like Rock 'N' Roll Star; I'm Outta Time is just Little James with better lyrics (and a frankly awful video). The terrible, whining singing on Get Off Your High Horse is awkward to listen to. The cringeworthy, brainwashed, disciple-like worship from Gem Archer on the DVD (does he ever say anything which doesn't include effusively praising the Gallagher brothers? Perhaps it's not in the contract...) indicative of a band so disconnected from the real world that it doesn't matter if what they produce is good or bad anymore; it's always going to be the greatest thing since (in their own minds) Sergeant Pepper.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2008
I've just heard this on Myspace. I've never been a fan of this band...but I have enjoyed this album start to finish. It is chock full of great ideas and surprises...never mind that they quote liberally (I loved hearing the influence of "Saucerful of Secrets" era Pink Floyd)...it's put together with such style and love that I could not care less where I've heard it before. It's more interesting than the Beatle's remix album, and those riffs appear as if from a dream of their music. To hear "Taxman" stretched out and mutated into a slow, tripped out event was wonderful.

Previous efforts have been drab affairs in my opinion...really down beat, more like the Rolling Stones than the Beatles...but this is a tonic. It's depressing to hear so many wanting to hear old stuff. Move on. This is much better and more interesting than their first two albums and a whole lot more likeable.

Sure the debauchery is gone...but hey, they've grown up. They aren't short of energy and the guitars rock better than ever.

It's beautifully produced, played and sung very well, with a much broader sonic palette. It's great that the whole band have pulled together to come up with a consistently good record.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2009
In an interview in MOJO around the time this album was released, Noel let slip that he had had to leave out some of the more experimental numbers that he had been working on for DOYS, as Liam couldn't be bothered turning up to record the vocals.

Sadly it shows in Oasis' 7th studio album, which starts promisingly and includes several terrific songs from Noel in the shape of The Turning, Falling Down and The Shock of the Lightning.

Liam's I'm Outta Time is also worthwhile, but after track 7, the quality nosedives with 4 mediocre and derivative songs from Liam (Ain't Got Nothin' and Soldier On), Andy Bell (The Nature of Reality) and Gem Archer (To be Where there's Life), which were presumably added as an afterthought to make up for the missing material that Noel wanted to include.

It is clear that the recording of this album was not a happy affair and that it had been completed in haste, which is clear from it's confused running order, negative, downbeat nature and the inclusion of the half-baked numbers mentioned above.

It is no secret that there was always considerable tension between Noel and Liam from the start, due to Noel's arrogance and control-freakery, so Liam's hissy fit over his brother's creative vision for DOYS appeared to have been born out of jealousy and his delusion that he was as good a songwriter as Noel (and I think the jury's still out on that).

To my mind, the post-SOTSOG democratisation of Oasis' albums led to a slow but inexorable decline in quality, following the initial promise of Heathen Chemistry.

On the basis of this disappointing swan song and their rapidly deteriorating relationship, it was inevitable that they went their seperate ways.

Noel's subsequent solo album with High Flying Birds and Beady Eye's surprisingly promising debut would suggest that are both going to be happier and more creatively fulfilled apart.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Oasis have done some serious good heavy Rock songs over the years but this album
probably has their heaviest sound yet although i honestly dont think it contains one good guitar solo or even good guitar intro.
I say that because the base on this album is as heavy as Kasabian or Ian Brown albums but drownes out the tunes throughout.
Noel said it was about 'the grooves' and hes right but i also knew he would be
covering up for lack of melodies and tunes and im not surprised this was the end of
Oasis.
Beady Eye recently played their new album 'BE' at gigs with acoustic versions which showed the strength of the melodies and sheer quality of the songs before going onto
play the songs with electric guitars like originally done. I cant imagine anything on Dig Out Your Soul being played acoustic because it would show the lack of depth and soul to the songs.
If you want to Rock and drink and party then blast out Bag It Up, The Turning,To Be Where Theres Life and Nature of Reality, but theres nothing else here that will stand up in time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2008
First things first. This is not a rival for Definitely Maybe or Morning Glory. It will never define the time we're in now. People will not be singing along to these songs at closing time in ten years time.

That said, this is a very good album, especially Noel's tracks, which show a definite maturity. Definitely Mature could have been the album title. It would have sucked, but it would make for a good description. Bag It Up, The Turning, Waiting for the Rapture, High Horse Lady and Falling Down are all big steps forward for Noel Gallagher the songwriter. They're obviously Oasis due to the brothers' distinctive voices, but not in the sense that you've heard it all before.

Lead single the Shock of the Lightning is Noel at his lazy best. Not his best - for his best gave us Don't Look Back in Anger, Rock 'n' Roll Star and the Masterplan - but his 'lazy' best...i.e. the kind of songwriting mood that results in a Lyla or a Columbia - not many chords, but catchy and instant. And it's a grower too. Listen to it ten times and tell me you don't like it more than the first time.

I hate to jump on the bandwagon of critical review, but the non-Noel written songs just don't make the same impression.

Liam contributes I'm Outta Time (the second single) which will either tug at the heart strings or make you feel sick, depending on your affinity to John Lennon songs. He also gives us Nothing on Me (it'll stick in your head to an extent, but it doesn't stand out) and Soldier On (a bit of a plodder, but again, not bad). Andy and Gem throw the Nature of Reality and To Be Where There's Life into the mix, and althought the latter has a catchy baseline, neither is as good as Turn Up the Sun or A Bell Will Ring from the last album.

Oasis have made a very good album. It would have been even better if Noel had written all the songs. And better still if Liam could actually sing them live.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Every band becomes a tribute to themselves at some point. Many bands resist this with a fierce intensity - think of U2's continual re-invention, Iron Maidens determination to perform sets almost entirely of brand new material - but for some, they became a tribute act to themselves not within decades, but within years of their rise. Oasis became a tribute act within three and a half years of their first single.

"Dig Out Your Soul" (a nonsensical title, to be honest), is just another Oasis album. It's 48 minutes to so-so stadium rock music that maintains in a holding pattern their position in the world. By rote, you can tell what this album is going to be like : the first two tracks are angry-ish rock numbers - but when Liam sings "I got my heebie jeebies in a bag", you gotta wonder what exactly is going on. Follow up, "The Turning"is again, an OK cacophony that follows the template to the letter. If you like the previous couple of Oasis albums, "Dig Out Your Soul" is another chapter, like a mid 70's James Bond movie that offered only variations on a theme and nothing new. Same ingredients in a slightly different stew.

These Baked Beans of rock are OK. They do a job, neither amazingly brilliantly or gobsmackingly awful. "Waiting For The Rapture" is the typical Noel Gallagher style ballad. There are normally two songs just like this on each album. And "The Shock Of The Lightning" is a brilliant title for an OK five minutes. It doesn't make any inventions or try anything new, and it sounds like it could've been recorded anytime between 1968 and 2008. That said, if it came out in 1998, it's be an OK album track and probably not the first single off the record. "I'm Outta Time" is a fine, delicate ballad. But again, it was done better by Oasis several years ago when it was called "Let There Be Love".

In the old days, you'd turn the album over to side two. And "High Horse Lady" is a stunning accurate pastiche of a Beatles track squeezed out towards the end of album sessions to pad out an album. "Falling Down" takes the same approach but to far better effect. It bears repeated listening and is probably the best thing on here because it doesn't sound like an Oasis covers band stumped for material.

"Aint Got Nothin'" meanwhile, is 2.15 seconds of Oasis asking "Will This Do?" with guitar, drums, bass and some words. "The Nature Of Reality" at least sounds like it could be an intruiging debate about perception and chemical responses to stimuli and the perception of what is against what we think it is. It could take us to new worlds, explore something new, lift the lid off the conventional way of thinking. And if it had been written by Lennon, it may very well have done. But Andy Bell is no Lennon, and this song does no such thing but soldier on.

It ends, somewhat anticlimatically, with "Soldier On", which does exactly that : business as usual in Oasisworld. Another couple of years, another album, another excuse to tour. There's no dynamism, no drama, no harnessing of the power of music to elevate and lift us beyond a world of supermarkets and consumer opportunities, and thus, the album peters out into a damp squib, a Blakes Seven-style anticlimax. This is Oasis making records out of habit, not artistic necessity, mistaking saying something with having something to say, and and it's time for the beast to rest and rethink where it's going next, because Oasis have painted themselves into a corner.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 September 2008
There is a temptation just to sum Oasis songs up by playing spot-the-influence and indeed "Dig Your Own Soul" wears its musical heart on a variety of other peoples sleeves, with The Doors, The Kinks, John Lennon, The Verve and The White Stripes DNA clearly having been used to construct the latest Gallagher soundscape.
"Definitely Maybe" was a classic and I immediately loved it with a passion but when "Whats The Story" came out I was disappointed because it was flat, boring and too polished. The reason I mention this is because I think people tend to forget that most of us felt that second album was rubbish, we just reassessed it when the songs took on a life of their own. That needs to happen with Oasis songs, they need to be sung by great huddles of people in stadiums, pubs and parties...otherwise they wither up under the weight of their appalling lyrics and die.
"Dig" rocks properly and features a number of sleeper tracks that gradually win you over in way that I hadnt expected, it also features their best song for years; "I'm Outta Time", its absolutely superb, perhaps even a masterpiece, short and consise, beautiful and emotional. If its released as a single it will be huge. In fact it could see Oasis invade the public conciousness in a way they havent done for over a decade. I hope so because the fact that it has been written by Liam is cause for great celebration.
A good album made great.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2008
The long-awaited 2008 album release from Oasis is here at last, and following the interviews, the hype and the freebies as expected the album is another solid gold classic from the band, who said they are back on form - they never lost their form, and is very evident from this collection of fine songs. One of the boys described the album not so much a collection of songs but grooves, call them what you will, all the songs are good and will hit the spot with Oasis fans and sound great live.

Many Oasis trademarks are here, the Beatles influences are very evident on one or two of the tracks, which is not a criticism just an observation - for a Beatles fan of 46 years I notice these things, like I say not a criticism, I love to hear those on here.

"Bag it Up" is a stomper, one of the tracks tabbed on the NME freebie I struggled a bit with - its secrets revealed at last; "The Turning" - my favourite track on the album, solid drums introducing the verse and a great catchy chorus; "Waiting for the Rapture" - a heavy track with its stomping beat and "Cold Turkey" style riff, the next track "The Shock of the Lightning" - a typically unmistakeable Oasis song made a great first single; "I'm Outta Time" is a beautiful soft ballad with great lyrics, I detect a mellotron here, which sounds much more evident later on the album, pleased to hear it!; "Get off your High Horse Lady" has a "Rocky Raccoon" style shuffle, in "Falling Down" the mellotron is very evident and blends in well with the dramatic style of the song; "To Be Where There's Life" is an amazing track, and has obvious Beatle influences, from the swirling sitar to the Macca "Rain" style bass line; "Ain't Got Nothin'" has a strong waltzy rhythm, with heavily laden guitars and drums; "In the Nature of Reality" is very atmospheric, another catchy stomper with heavy fuzz guitars, feedback and thundering drums; the last song "Soldier On" has an appropriate plodding beat and bass line with a beautifully deep lyric, a suitably atmospheric harmonica sound and a shimmering keyboard effect - we all soldier on one way or another, I hope Oasis soldier on and continue producing fine albums like this for many years to come - well done, guys, another classic!

The sound quality listening from MySpace of these tracks is not bad at all, though I do look forward to hearing the album on vinyl...when it arrives (-:
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
This is one of those Oasis albums that came along after the wave of media interest had begun to decline. As a result it isn't as well known as some of the earlier releases and yet deserves to be. It has some great songs and great performances. I regularly listen this album and it never grows stale. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 October 2008
I've been a fan of Oasis since they first hit with Definately Maybe, and this album is not a million miles away from where they started all those years ago. I think it comes through in the recording that there's more of a "live" feel to this album, highlighted by the inclusion of six of the tracks into their current live set list - probably the most new material they've added from any album since Be Here Now. I don't have the vast musical background of those who like to point figures about who's stolen what either, but I know what I like, and I like this.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)