Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
280
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2004
Director: Quentin Tarantino
Cast: Harvey Keitel (Mr White)
Tim Roth (Mr Orange)
Michael Madsen (Mr Blonde)
Steve Buscemi (Mr Pink)
The Film:
Quentin Tarantino's announced himself to the world with an unexpected bang in his first and still widely regarded as his best film to date. It follows a group of Diamond robbers caught up in the classic heist gone wrong scenario with the added twist of an undercover cop. Mainly shot in a deserted warehouse on a shoestring budget of just $30,000 the film begins with an introduction of the infamous colour coded cast accompanied by the cool beat of "little green bag".
After Mr Orange (Tim Roth) has been rushed to the rendezvous by Mr White (Harvey Keitel) in a stolen car (the owner of which shot Mr Orange), White tries to comfort Orange when a raging Mr Pink (Steve Buscemi) bursts in claiming that it was a police set-up. White, who isn't sure what to believe, calms down Pink and attempts to decipher the situation. In the ensuing tale of violence, rage and all out pandemonium unravels, stunning performances are shown from the likes of Michael Madsen, who famously and vindictively snarls the classic line "are you gonna bark all day little doggy or are you gonna bite?" not forgetting Harvey keitel who displays a brilliant show of emotion and confusion and the rest of the cast.
Whilst telling the stories of the main characters and involving the viewer in a brilliantly thought out plot, Tarantino is able to subtly place in some terrific comedy whilst sticking to the atmosphere of the film and adds to it a fantastic and along with the film, critically acclaimed and undeniably cool soundtrack featuring the brilliant "stuck in the middle with you" which Tarantino somehow manages to pull off in conjunction with Mr Blonde severing off a cops ear.
Tarantino's genius is unrivalled and on the bases of Reservoir dogs he has been able to create his own genre in which he is unchallenged. The fact that it was made on such a miniscule budget, which must have been far out grossed by the films overall takings, which mainly came from here in the UK where the films major cult following is primarily based. And this final version is without a doubt the definitive one(not to mention the cool cover and casing!)
The Extras:
After numerous re releases of the 1992 classic which have sub par extras the film is finally done its total justice by a second disc which boasts several deleted scenes, a QT and Lawrence Bender commentary, A Tarantino interview and other interesting extras including the original trailers.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2016
A 1992 crime drama by Quentin Tarantino the film is based around a diamond heist that goes wrong the film shows events after during and before the heist. The timeline does not run sequencely in typical Tarantino fashion which I find makes the film the classic it is. A great cast with Steve Busemi play Mr Pink being my favourite. A must watch for any film fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2009
Just got this Blu Ray. Didn't really think it would enhance much but oh boy did it! It made the movie even better!
Texture and colours are just awesome! Really improves the movie! Good buy!
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
I own this DVD at home and in my opinon, this film is brilliant. It has an interesting storyline and I feel that the flashbacks throughout the film are good also, as you learn a bit about some of the characters' background. So what's this film about?

Two gangsters, Joe Cabot (Lawrence Tierney) and his son Eddie (Chris Penn) have six strangers (two Joe and Eddie know personally) to take part in diamond robbery for them. None of these men know each other and are forbidden to reveal any personal information about themselves, such as where they might have grown up, where they might have done time and even their own names. Joe has colour coded these six strangers, and they have to refer to each other as their given names. They are as follows; Mr Brown (Quentin Tarantino), Mr White (Harvey Keitel), Mr Blonde (Michael Madsen), Mr Blue (Eddie Bunker), Mr Orange (Tim Roth) and Mr Pink (Steve Buschemi).

The film begins with all eight of them, sitting together in a cafe, just before the robbery. The film then skips to after the robbery, in which you see right away that the robbery has gone wrong; Mr White is driving a dying Mr Orange to the rendevous point (a warehouse), where they are soon joind by Mr Pink and Mr Blonde. Mr Pink is convinced they were set up, considering how quick the police arrived, as if they were forewarned of the robbery. Were they set up? Or was the cops' timing a coincidence? Well just watch and find out.

The only thing I find dissapointing about this film is that you don't see much of Mr Blue and Mr Brown. It would be interesting to learn a bit about their background. Apart from that I have nothing to critisize.

This is the first film directed by Quentin Tarantino (who has successfully directed other classic films such as Pulp Fiction, Jackie Brown, Kill Bill and Deathproof) and like I said the film is great, and is a film I recomend to all those who like gangster films.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
A lot has already been said about Quentin Tarentinos Directorial debut, it is beautifully constructed, written with lots of the things that would go on to be trademarks, like snappy pop culture dialouge borrowing heavily from the 1950's kitsch americana and with a great soundtrack.
Definately one of the movies that all people who are serious about film should see, and already gave hints as to the talent that was about to be unleashed in Pulp Fiction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
This film I have seen many times, I decided to buy this edition for a friend who had never seen it. Speedy delivery as usual from Amazon and a supurb Tarrentino film. Lots of blood, violence and some funny moments too. Enjoy!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
There's not much to say about that film that hasn't already been said over the past 20+ years.

BUT if you have not seen this film then do because it's the one and only Quentin Tarantino's debut to the film making industry.

WATCH IT!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
No delivery problems, fine product and even better film! :)
If you have not seen this, I would defintely recommend it. Graphic at some short moments, but if you like Pulp Fiction then you should like this too, and visa versa.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
All I can add is that this was a used copy and was in very good condition as described but Ican't say much more until I've actually had a chance to play it all the way through; easier said than done with two young boys in the house!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2008
When it comes to reviewing a modern classic presented in a new box, am I supposed to review it as though it's a new release or simply review the differences between this and the previous release? I have decided to review both old and new features separately.

The film itself is quite simply a masterpiece - and being presented in blu-ray only enhances the visual experience. Five stars for the film.

The packaging, however, is a different story. The handle on tin had fallen off before the package had even been delivered, and the plastic frame the disc sits in is not glued properly to the cardboard insert. All in all, the case is absolutely shoddy. It looks cheap, is badly thought out and is poorly assembled. Zero stars for the packaging.

So my dilemma is whether or not to give this release two or three stars overall. The price of the film is what made me round up rather than down. This is the only edition available in the UK and doesn't actually claim to be a special edition. There is no cheaper alternative, unless you import from the USA. I would recommend people DO import from the USA (if it happens to be cheaper at the time) - it really is not worth paying the extra for this awful, awful packaging.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)