Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
138
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.92+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2009
This chess and draughts set is excellent value for money. The pieces are kept in drawers either side of the charming wooden box/board. The pieces are robust and well proportioned and the board is a convenient size to be stored away neatly.
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
The chess pieces are a comfortable, workable size. They are varnished wood, and look good, and they have thin, felt pads on the bottom of each piece.
There is also a felt pad on each of the four corners of the wooden base.
The board is almost 12inches x 12inches, but there is a small margin around, which means the playing area is only 10inches x 10inches. This makes for quite a compact game when all the chess pieces are on the board.
The drawers are handy for storing the pieces, but they slip out quite easily when transporting the board around. I am going to fit a tiny catch onto each drawer, to hold the drawer in place.
On the set I`ve bought, one of the drawers is a snug fit, but the other drawer is not quite flush.
We can live with that though.
The set also contains draught pieces, and instructions for playing.
0Comment| 57 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2010
There are better chess sets but they cost a lot more. This one is well made and very good value. Reccommended.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
The word "deluxe" is slightly misleading, as the quality is not that great; one corner was damanged in the item I received, but the item was sealed so it felt like the manufacturing thought it was OK with have the veneer chipped off. Also, the colour of the drawers did not match the box, nor did they match each other. The pieces are very roughly carved, and not "deluxe" in feel. I ended up returning the item, and am sorry I wasted the time. Have since found a "deluxe" version, which is of course "deluxe price". So I guess the lesson I've learned is that there was not way you could get a really nice item for £23.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
My 8 year old son received this set for Christmas and is very pleased with it. It is an excellent starter set (includes drafts too) but would be just as good for a more experienced player. The board has drawers in the side where the pieces can be stored.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2011
Purchased as gift for my grandson - he likes it a lot and with the draughts as well was good value. Arrived in a couple of days well packaged - despite the snow!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2016
My son was absolutely delighted with this chess board! It was very handy having the drawers to put the pieces in and was great that it was 2 games in one. However the top of the board started warping about a month after we got it to the extent that the one end landed up pulling up, exposing the pin supposed to hold the bits together. Have returned it and have ordered a new one hoping it was just a one off bad model.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2015
I am impressed with the quality of this set. The chess pieces sit in one drawer and the draughts in another on the other side. The pieces are brown rather than black but that is alright with us. The drawers open with a tiny handle, minimal protrusion for storage. I would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Bought this for an 8 year old avid chess fan.

The board is of good construction and the drawers are ideal for holding all the chess/draughts pieces.

Very happy with this purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2014
A very nice, well made chess board, the "drawers" make it easy to put away pieces when done playing. The pieces themselves are the right size and have a little fabric on the bottom to lessen the sound when moving pieces. A tiny problem is that the drawers can be a little stiff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)