Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
73
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 April 2012
I really enjoyed this movie I am a big musical fan and when I saw this advertised on the Disney Channel I new I had to watch it.

Camp Rock is about a teen summer camp that all the teens want to go to. The Jonas Brothers star in this movie as a rock band called Connect 3 who started out at Camp Rock. Connect 3 go to Camp Rock to become instructors for the summer to help with the negative publicity that they have been getting from Shane (Joe Jonas).

This movie has it all diva's Tess Tyler (Meaghan Martin), former miss popular Caitlyn (Alyson Stoner) and newcomers Mitchie (Demi Lovato) who is only at the camp because her mother it the cook. Caitlyn and Mitchie become friends from the start until Mitchie meets Tess and she then makes up a story about her family being rich so that Tess will invite her into her group.

Shane starts to change his bad-boy image and finds his own way and he and Mitchie become friends but their relationship is based on Mitchie's lie, but soon enough Tess finds out about Mitchie's lie and exposes it to the whole camp.

Disney's got an entertaining film for tweenies and teens in Camp Rock has a lot of energy, fun songs and fab choreography.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2017
My daughter loves this DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2017
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
my girl loves it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2008
Bearing mind this is a kids movie it was well made and the songs and storyline were good for the target audiernce. As I parent I even enjoyed and the songs are catchy and fun.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Be aware that the US ‘Disney’ BLU RAY of “Camp Rock” is REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK Blu Ray players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Buy the standard UK issue and that way you won’t make any expensive mistakes…
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
The film is ok. The plot is exciting. I think the movie would be better if it ended a little bit more sad. The actor's acting is in place. In those days, the movie was pretty good. I watch it with my mother.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2008
'Camp Rock' is what I would describe as a good substitute for the finished series of the 'High School Musical' films.
It ticks all the typical Disney movie boxes; shy, unpopular leading lady, hot crush (Joe Jonas), nasty blonde rich girl & a good ol' moral at the end.
'Camp Rock' is better than 'High School Musical 2' but not better than 1 & 3. I don't think there's a mere chance of any Disney musical having a hit bigger than 'Breaking Free' but 'Camp Rock' does have a few catchy tunes, the best being 'This Is Me' sung by Demi Lovato & Joe Jonas.
Ah, the Jonas Brothers. Three pop-rock virgins with a loyal tween fan base, teamed with Disney, a match made in heaven. The middle Jonas (Joe)has the most air time, the other two aren't really in the film for longer than three & a half minutes.
The stoy is about Mitchie, a 'normal' girl, who constantly smiles & she has a talent for songwriting & singing & is soon thrust into the all-singing all dancing world of 'Camp Rock'. Then there's Shane part of a band named Connect Three (real life band Jonas Brothers).
Everything is happy & merry until Mitchie becomes part of the 'popular clique'.
'Camp Rock' is good for its target audience, it IS a Disney movie afterall, so there are going to be the inevitable conveniences & morals that heve been touched upon many a film before. But the film is sweet & innocent, the underlying message is be yourself. On a more sour note, the other two unintentional messages are to get famous- be a singer, whatever. It seems the kids watching films like this & the 'HSM' moives are all being lead to believe that in order to truly be someone they have to dance, or sing (mainly both). The other message is avoid skinny blonde girls like the bubonic plague, Disney has been waging war on Blondes since Walt Disney was alive (Sharpay, Tess Tyler).
In conclusion it succeeds in creaing a film adequate for the target audience, so for all those tweens out there with 'HSM' withdrawl symptoms, this is the perfect substitute, a new leading man to drool over (Joe Jonas) & a new burgeoning pop-sensation to aspire to (Demi Lovato).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 March 2010
Camp Rock is another unique and ingenious film from Disney. If you liked High School Musical then you are sure to like this one. If not you will still like it!

It is a simple storyline but appeals to many age groups with its idea of falling in love with an older boy. The songs are so catchy and the talented Demi Lovato shows what she is made of with her songs. Her voice is amazing and her character Michie is central to the story. The story is simple yet effective as many of the Disney films are.

With help from the rocky Jonas Brothers and with Joe Jonas cast as Demi Lovatos love interest at Camp Rock, it sets out to showcase the talent of Disney and gives girls and boys hope that talent gets you that far.

Over all, the film is an enchanting laugh out loud film with catchy dance numbers, sing alongs and a love which defies the odds. Girls and boys will like this as my little cousin who is a boy loves it too just as much as my sister!

Personally I wish there was a real Camp Rock when I was younger!!! I also think they are planning a sequel which should be good and hopefully it will compare to how great this on was!

Cassandra220689
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse