Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.3 out of 5 stars
167
3.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2017
I was not a fan of this movie, most of the movie consists of the main women getting scared of falling items and a banging on the door. The sinister characters on the front only star properly in the movie at the very end, aside from a few supposedly scary shots where they feature hidden in the background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2017
so long winded with nothing scary happening
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2017
Arrived on time and in mint condition. A great film with horror and suspense without any CGI, just good old fashioned jumpy bits
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2017
Great DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
One of my favourite horror movies for the sheer fact there is no motive for the attack's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
Brilliant film. Very spooky.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
I'm not easily scared, but I was at this! Creeped me out!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Great movie! One of my favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 25 January 2014
I lie between those who see this as a masterpiece, and those who see it as en empty exercise in clichéd sadism. On the one side, the film is very well made and effective. The cinematography, the acting, the editing, the score and direction work together to create a lot of truly creepy uncomfortable suspense, without resorting to too much gore, especially in the film's first half.

On the other hand, it lacks any thematic core (as opposed to, for example "Territories" a recent low budget horror film that also managed to raise questions about political prisoners and xenophobic paranoia). It also lacks any psychological insight although the first half hints that might be where the film is going. But these horrific intruders aren't ultimately reflections of the main characters inner lives, or a comment on their emotional struggles. They're just generic, unexplained evil. The film does a good job of evoking a nightmare, but by not aiming higher misses the chance to be something more special than an effective scare machine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 29 August 2012
Kristen McKay and James Hoyt return from a night out to find a knock at the door at some ungodly hour. What follows is a terrifying invasion as three masked raiders torment and attack the couple at frequent intervals, can the couple find within them the strength to survive their ordeal?

The horror genre is a tough cookie to work out these days, so many remakes and re-images rightly suggest that it's a genre in steady decline. Occasionally hope of a resurgence is offered up by the likes of hyperbole supremo's like Eli Roth and here with first time writer and director, Bryan Bertino. If these guys promised half of what they proclaimed they would do with their respective horror entries, well the genre would be born again and the fans would be rejoicing around the graveyards.

The Strangers is not a bad film by any stretch of the entrails, it's just not a particularly good one, and certainly not the original and fresh home invasion spin promised by Bertino. The premise of course is very solid, we all as human beings live in perpetual fear of a home invasion by psychos or chav like aggressors (the latter of concern to UK residents, see Eden Lake for example), and with this pro porting to be based on real events, the impact was waiting to, well impact, but questionable resources from our besieged couple just add a shrug of the shoulders to an already yawning audience. The project had been on the back burner for a couple of years, with the script being altered by Bertino from its early incarnations, I wonder just how much was changed because it looks to me that Bertino has altered an intended psychological chiller, and instead settled for a blend of boo jump scares and edginess, and it fails to successfully achieve either.

The film also suffers badly by having two lead actors barely up to the job of convincing as terrified victims. Liv Tyler can sit adequate in the most basic of acting roles, but when it calls for a role to get the audience involved she sadly comes up short. Scott Speedman can act, but here he seems lost within the confines of a poorly written character, both actors unable to carry the film to any sort of genre highlight. The ending to the piece just about works, and pair that with the creepiness of the masked raiders then The Strangers just about sits in the average horror department. But really we are no further forward than when we had the mighty and magnificent Black Christmas back in 1974, at least the likes of Vacancy (almost killed by its ending) from 2007 have a sense of adventure about them, setting out (and delivering) honest intentions from the off, likable leads and a willingness to entertain whilst knowing its limitations. Sadly The Strangers is a missed opportunity to create something memorable and totally scary, director Bertino's next protect, Alone, could quite possibly make or break a fledgling genre career. 5/10
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here