Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
167
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Sharpe Box Set: Sharpe's Challenge & Sharpe's Peril [DVD] [2006]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 2 November 2015
Welcome here 2006/2008 follow-ups to the acclaimed series of 1993-1997, early Bernard Cornwell Sharpe novels with their events transferred to 1817/18. Only one thing has tempted battle-weary veteran Sharpe back into action: his old mate Patrick Harper has gone missing on a mission in India....

Cue here for two further rousing adventures and a high body count. In SHARPE'S CHALLENGE, the main foe is renegade officer Dodd (Toby Stephens), his vicious band of former soldiers aiding a Raja determined to oust the British. SHARPE'S PERIL focuses on opium traffickers causing devastation - a garrison wiped out, a village put to the sword.

As ever, Sean Bean and Daragh O'Malley make a great team as Sharpe and Harper. Back in both adventures is Michael Cochrane as the odious, preening Sir Henry Simmerson (in due course to be seen as never before).

Great action sequences and a thoughtful probing into what makes people the way they are. Both CHALLENGE and PERIL were originally shown in two parts, which is how they are presented here (together with a 100 minute film version of the latter).

Bonuses include interesting features about the making of the episodes - problems caused by remote locations, heat and illness. All on set praise Sean Bean - he a major reason on screen and off why everything works well, with so many nationalities enthusiastically bonding.

From start to finish, this series has been a triumph.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2016
The stories are based on books that predated the ones based in the Napoleonic Wars when we were first introduced to Sharpe but obviously considering the last of the original Sharpe films was made in the late 90s there is no way that Sean Bean could have been turned into a Sharpe who is even younger than he was in the 90s so natural they set the storyline to take place after the Napoleonic Wars are over. The problem is it just does not work. The plots are not very exciting, acting from Sean Bean himself is bad. Not enough characters because it was largely the bonding between the Chosen Men that made the original films so good, In this one Sharpe has agreed to go to India to find Harper and bring him home because for some reason despite the fact that in Sharpes Waterloo Harper had left the army he is in India spying for Wellington and he has now vanished. These are Sharpe stories they would have been better off not making because they are a let down and Sean Bean just doesn't look or feel the part now. I would like to see them with new actors redo the Sharpe stories this time possibly even starting in India before later on moving to the Napoleonic Wars.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2009
This boxset contains what could turn out to be the final two Sharpe tales:

Sharpe's Challenge

As one of the other reviews said, none of us are getting any younger and this posed somewhat of a dilema for the series makers. This is set in India, which in the timeline of the books saw Sharpe there before the Napoleonic campaign - so fifteeen or so years before Waterloo. They had the choice of either replacing Sean Bean (which would likely be economic suicide) and sticking with the books or keeping him and re-working them. They chose the latter route of course and if you haven't read the books, you'll be very happy with the results. You'll also be happy that they have extended the running time to 2 and a quarter hours so that they can give more depth to the story rather than just purely focusing on the action scenes.

If you have read the books then the story line is a little painful as they have taken a mash-up of the first two books, Sharpe's Tiger and Sharpe's Triumph, set it 1799 and 1803 respectively. Because of this it is quite confusing as all the events are jumbled up when compared to the books.

Ultimately though, if you can put this aside, it does work as a piece of entertainment.

Sharpe's Peril

As with Sharpe's Challenge, this is a departure from the books taking them as purely ideas for the film. This works much better than Sharpe's Challenge as you aren't constantly being reminded bits of the books in the wrong order.

As with all the other Sharpe's it has plenty of action, drama and romance so won't disappoint.

One thing of note though, on the box the running time states that it is four hours long. It is actually two and a quarter hours; the other 100 minutes being a shorter version of the same film. For me at least, this was a bit of a waste of a second disk as while it speeded up the story a lot, it took too much away to be worthwhile.
11 Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
I bought this to finish off replacing my Sharpe collection. It would have helped if these programmes had been made earlier. Sharpe's Challenge is only supposed to be 2 years after the battle of Waterloo but Sharpe/Sean Bean looks too old. The start of the film is supposed to represent Sharpe in India as a young sergeant they would have been better off using another actor just for this short section because it looks ridiculous compared to the Sharpe in Sharpe's Riffles which is several years after his initial return from India. In the original series despite living on the go and frequently battle scarred you always saw Sharpe having a wash, he now appears to have turned into really grotty character he surely could have had a wash in one of those royal palaces. It also has different script writer and lacks the original Sharpe/Harper double act repartee. Don't let this put you off if you are a Richard Sharpe/Sean Bean fan just don't compare it to the original Napoleonic adventures
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2014
Really enjoyed both movies & this completes my set. The only negative comment I have is that Sharp's Peril starts 15 years earlier (before the first series) I found this a bit confusing at first as Sean is obviously a lot older than he was when the original series was made. Would have been better to spend a bit on CGI for the first few scenes to make him look younger (they could have used his facial template from the original series) until it gets back to "present day" when he was meant to be older. I liked the way the older Sharpe was a bit jaded & reluctant to volunteer (as he would be given his experience, probably with some aches & pains from old wounds & bitter at the needless loss of old comrades) but his hero side soon comes out as he sets off to rescue Pat & generally save the day against the odds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
As a Sharpe fan from an early-ish age I found the more recent ones ok to watch, but like with most things out there the originals are always the best.
These two newer episodes follow this usual trend.

However, it was great to see Sharpe and Harper again together with a couple of familiar characters from the originals joining in.

I have started reading the Sharpe books now and have about 6 left to go so it was good to see the tie ins with the India books which in my opinion were one of the better books,

If you are new to Sharpe...I'd recommend visiting his earlier work before watching these so that you can understand the sub-plots to the characters such as why Sharpe hates Hakeswell so much.
Fans of the original series won't be left too disappointed. They didn't do a poor job.. It was probably just a too difficult job to repeat what was arguably Sean Beans finest performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2014
Sharpe: The Complete Series (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [1993]If, like me, you want your children to take an interest in History, and, you want to feel entertained yourself, The Sharpe Box Set is the very thing to buy.
The Napoleonic Wars are the backdrop for our hero, Sharpe. The role of the self-made, military hero is played by Sean Bean, whose rugged good looks and manner of speaking makes this hero even more interesting, though the story-telling is interesting enough in itself.
We have enjoyed watching the film series based on the books, which we have read as well.
Try some Sharpe! It is good for you!

Bodil Marie - Very Sharpe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
I already had the original Sharpe DVD's and had recorded Challenge and Peril from the tv but lost Peril somewhere so when I saw the 2 dvd's as a boxed set I decided to complete my collection from Amazon, at this reasonable price. The Sharpe series is something that you can watch over and over again and has even entranced our Grandaughter so much that I have currently lost my collection to a new avid viewer. Get the original series and add these final 2 to it to make your set complete. I doubt that there will be any more Sharpe films made due to excess costs so these are all you'll have to cherish the Sharpe that author Richard Cornwell has so thoughtfully written for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2014
if you like getting lost in a different time especially on a wet afternoon and
escaping reality for a while then curl up with a cup of tea and put on this boxset.
Sean Bean is still as fab as ever as our hero and before you know it the entire
afternoon is gone and you have a smile on your face.
It arrived in plenty of time well ahead of the expected date and in safe packaging
would def recommend it and maybe you could watch it with your other half too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
Some years have obviously passed since the earlier episodes. Bean and co are visibly older; yet the production is clearly better, much sharper photography and more expensive sets and locations (looks like). Not to be missed for Sharpe fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)