Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
159
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 8 December 2012
Following directly on from the first series, Henry finally gets his divorce and marries Anne - but can the marriage have a happier outcome than Catherine's?

I love this series with its lavish production values and superb acting. Rhys Meyers continues to give us a complex Henry - getting older almost visibly in this series, and starting to exhibit more of his famously capricious and terrifying temper.

While this does continue to take some artistic license with documented history (most obviously in the cases of Henry's sisters), there are moments where it is also subtly true to the sources: the scene, for example, where Anne wears yellow to celebrate the death of Catherine.

At the heart of this series is the fate of Thomas More, and the fall of Anne herself. Anne is treated throughout in a fairly hostile fashion but the final episode redeems her in an unexpected and poignant fashion.

So, yes, another brilliant drama that remains, despite some deviations, true in spirit to the times and the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2017
Wonderful series, superbly performed by a phenomenally talented cast. Rhys-Meyers and Dormer offer a spectaular rednition of King Henry VIII and his iconic consort, Anne Boleyn. Series One and Two were by far the best of this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2017
What a delight and excellent value!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
great series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2015
Best series about Henry VIII
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2015
excellent series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Season 2 of the excellent series continues with Henry putting all his eggs in the Anne Boleyn basket, moving away from Rome and sacking the monasteries despite the annoyance of the Pope and the Emperor. It is not without cost to the king as his friend and mentor Thomas More will not swear the oath to the king, citing his conscience but paying the ultimate price for refusing to do so. As his new queen fails to produce a male heir, a chance encounter with Sir John Seymour's daughter, Jane, turns his head once again. The second Mrs Tudor no longer has the eighth Henry keeping her bed warm at nights and her status and slight neck is under great threat....

Continuing with the same high production values of the first series, this is a joy to behold and slightly improved even. The colours on BD jump to life on screen, particularly the reds of the Pope and his cardinals' cloaks and the greens and yellows at the jousting events. Rhys Meyers delivers again as the troubled, obstinate and determined monarch. O'Toole goes some way to filling the gap left by Sam Neill's Cardinal Wolsey, playing the pope with a glint in his eye but not getting enough screen time sadly. Plenty of sex, intrigue and political machinations revolving around the large cast of minister/enforcer Cromwell, the Duke of Suffolk, Arch Bishop Cranmer and the odious Boleyns keep the plot bubbling along nicely as per the first series. Highlights of the series are the dramatic execution of Thomas More and finally Anne Boleyn and her head part company (sorry if this is a spoiler!) at the Tower. Great stuff, very enjoyable though probably not too historically accurate.

Go for the BluRay if you can...
22 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2008
Do people really know the Tudors. Yes this portrayal has it's inaccuracy's, but so do many films. Furthermore, most Historians of the period do not know exactly what happened either. That's what so fantastic about History, you have the facts but they are also open to interpretation. And that is what this series is all about, an interpretation of the truth. Someone else in the future will come up with something completely different that will wow or appal people.
As for the sex within the series I think that is the main thing that is portrayed accurately. Henry VIII is famed for his love of women and the fact that he had countless mistresses. Come on... the man was married six times for crying out loud so of course there is going to be sex!
I think this series is great and I can't wait to own it myself.

I cried my eyes out in the last episode, this is the first time I have seen properly the emotion and agonising that Anne went through while waiting to be executed. Usually it is head cut off move on to next wife. All I can say is well done for the whole series.

However... Henry has to start getting old and fat eventually? It will be interesting to see where they go with the series next.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2008
As a history student in her final year at university, I can well understand why those who have a passion for history, and its accurate portrayal, may have problems with the liberties taken here. However, it's important to remember that Henry VIII was not always fat and old, especially during this period! In fact, in some of the very final scenes of the series, we can see how he will probably progress into being this more typical version, and I for one cannot wait to see if they can pull this transition off. The important thing to remember is that this is a tv show; not even a documentary, and therefore has not got an obligation to be 100 per cent factual all of the time, but to be entertaining for the audience. And anything that makes people who normally wouldn't be interested in history want to know more after they've finished viewing, has to have my vote.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2017
Husband wanted these for Natalie Dorma , after seeing her I a recent drama or film, brilliant actress , bug I can't really comment
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)