Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
167
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£6.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2017
great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2017
Loved watching the Charmed ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My daughter (12) has fallen under the spell of the Charmed Ones and now has every season on DVD including 8 - it's probably all that girl power that attracts her and she was a dedicated old/new Worst Witch fan - although my son (10) happily watches Charmed with her (perhaps he secretly routes for the demons). Some of her Charmed seasons were recorded from Living TV re-runs on Sky but others were purchased from Amazon (we get the far cheaper NTSC region 1 offerings from Amazon resellers). Naturally the episodes are far nicer without 20 minutes of adverts. We missed the series first time around - so it's great to get all the episodes in one go. To find out more about the charmed ones than most people want to know, see thecharmedones.com - its handy as TV episodes never have the name of the episode in the credits, unlike the DVD set menus.

I have watched a lot of Charmed episodes with her and I have to say that I slightly preferred the later seasons, e.g. season 7 with the rise of Avatars and their attempts to create heaven on Earth. However this season is really good as a starting point (naturally) and has the attraction of older sister Prue joining Piper and Phoebe, as they discover the Book of Shadows and become the 'power of three' (just in time as it happens). Ok over all 8 seasons a few stories repeat a bit (there must be around 160+ episodes) and some of the acting is a bit on the `Victoria Principal' level with girly pouts and eye rolling, but it is all great classy fun. In many ways the series has a non-violent feel with little blood and gore despite the high body count (although there is the mystery of how does a flaming vaporising demon fail to leave a scorch mark on the sofa). I'd ignore the 15 rating, they are more like a 12 max - our kid's PG rated 'Clubhouse detectives' film is far far scarier.

If your daughter (10+) hasn't seen any of Charmed before, I'd recommend it. Tell her it's just like `Buffy the Vampire Slayer' but with no Buffy and no vampires. Highly recommended for female offspring (and young males in touch with their orbing side). Also try them with classic 60's sitcom 'Bewitched' (seasons 1-5 with Dick York only) which is quite sympathetic with Charmed and a hit in our household. For under 10's there is the classic 'Worst Witch' series on DVD.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2004
Containing all of the original episodes, Charmed Season 1 is going to be a must have for any fan. It follows the story of the 3 witch sisters; Prue, Piper and Phoebe, as they learn of their powers and defeat various demons. It shows the 3 witches at their best, with subtitles and other features. The only way to complete a Charmed collection is to own the very first Season of the best programme to hit TV!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2006
Having watched charmed religously on living tv in all the reruns over on over again i had to start getting the boxsets. part from not having any special features this is not to be missed by any fan we see how it all began in the pilot episode something wicca this way comes where sisters Piper Halliwell (Holly Marie Combs) & Pru Halliwell (Shannon Dougherty of Beverley Hills 90210) Are reunited with younger Sister Phoebe (Alysa Milano from who's the boss) and soon find out that they have a family secret that they are from a long line of witches. as the season progreses we see the sisters come up against many demons warloks and even the law in what will eventually be the oofset of the whole series.
The episodes in this premier season are:
Something Wicca This Way Comes
I've Got You Under My Skin
Thank You For Not Morphing
Dead Man Dating
Dream Sorcerer
The Wedding From Hell
The Fourth Sister
The Truth Is Out There... And It Hurts
The Witch Is Back
Wicca Envy
Feats of Clay
The Wendigo
From Fear To Eternity
Secrets and Guys
Is There A Woogy In The House?
Which Prue Is It, Anyway?
That '70s Episode
When Bad Warlocks Go Good
Blind Sided
The Power of Two
Love Hurts
Deja Vu All Over Again
A must have for any fans who wish to get the series from start to finish.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
A lot of people consider Charmed to be fluff or perhaps a "guilty pleasure", I don't consider it to be either. I'm not sure what it is these days that states that unless a show is really complicated and heavy, it isn't good... but that seems to be how some people react to Charmed. Charmed in a word is fun! Focusing on the three Halliwell sisters: Prue, Piper and Phoebe. They inherit the gift of magic from a long line of powerful witches. With their Book of Shadows, the sisters become the Charmed Ones, the three most powerful witches the world has ever known, a power which lies in their love for one another and their family bond. Each sister has a personality and power of her own: Prue (the eldest sister played by Shannen Doherty) is head strong, protective and loyal and obtains the power to move things with her mind. Piper (the middle sister played by Holly Marie Combs) is the voice of reason, shy mediator between her sisters and has the power to stop time when she panics. Phoebe (the youngest sister played by Alyssa Milano) is the fun loving, courageous and slightly stubborn sister who can see flashes of the future when she touches objects and people. The sisters live together in the Manor passed down through their family and must protect the innocent and themselves from warlocks, demons and other nasty creatures. This show has an awful lot of heart and is clearly inspired by the movie Practical Magic (if you love Charmed and haven't seen this film, I suggest you search for it ASAP). It is a show that any age group can enjoy, about the strength of family and love. It isn't anything really deep or profound, it's just a very warm show that's nice to come home to. Once you fall for the Halliwell family, you will most likely jump to buy the other seasons. It is rare that a show runs for 8 years, but you can see why Charmed did... once people were taken into the Halliwell Manor, very few wanted to leave.
review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 April 2008
Charmed is a pretty unique television show and considering it ran on for eight seasons the very first season points towards the success that it enjoyed. Based around the lives of three young sisters who discover they have magical abilities, Charmed follows their every day lives as well as their perilous experiences with demons and magical creatures. There is a definite and strong feminist theme throughout the show that some male viewers might find a bit hard to swallow, since the male characters are either really handsome yet stupid or evil Warlocks out to get the sisters! That said it is a good piece of family television and is very upbeat and cheerful throughout. I cannot think of a better show for the whole family to watch on a Sunday night.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2005
Days off will never be the same. Hours and hours of Charmed without a commercial break - YIPPEE! It's here AT LAST after 7 long years. Buy it NOW! Fantastic for young or old (my daughter & I are hooked). Bring on Series 2 - 7!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2006
I never bothered watching "Charmed" when it preimered on TV, then my girlfriend (a massive fan) introduced it to me and I have to admit, its a fun series with half-decent stories.
Season one introduces us to the characters and, although slow to develop the story-arch episodes that occur later in the series, there are some great moments that makes this DVD set one of the best 1st Season box-sets out there.
definatley for the Buffy-generation, this series mixes magic with mystery and modern cult-TV adicttive-ness
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)