Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 May 2017
What idiot priced this at over £20,000 lol
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2009
The films are all great, in my opinion this is Carpenter at his best. However, I'm taking one star off for two reasons.

First, there are absolutely no subtitles, apart from The Thing, not even for hard of hearing.

Second, the collection's best film, and Carpenter's best film, The Thing, is just a repackaging of the older DVD version. The aspect ratio is 2.35:1, but encoded for 4:3 TVs. That means, if you own a widescreen TV, you will get the movie "windowed" in the centre of the screen.

But, again, for the price of the boxset, it is a great deal.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2011
this collection is almost how i would have chosen the 7 dvd line up with the only exception being the addition of 'christine' instead of prince of darkness which is a 7/10 worth a watch movie while the other 6 are carpenter's best i.e halloween,assault on precinct 13 and they live 8/10 and escape from new york,the fog and the thing 9/10. there will be fans saying what about 'big trouble in little china' also but that cracker has a light hearted feel to it which would not fit in with the feel of the other films here. if you have forgotten it or never seen it 'in the mouth of madness' is probably the last great film this genious director made. for the price you could get one new release dvd which will only be better than one of the movies in this set and if you already own 2 or 3 of the ones here do wot i did and give them to someone you know an buy this set. i hope the soon to be released 'the ward' is a welcome return for this director.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
An excellent collection of Carpenters works. Amongst his best films though a complete collection would perhaps have included DARK STAR, BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA and IN THE MOUTH OF MADNESS. I have much longer reviews on the individual films releases elsewhere on amazon.

For the fan this is a great collection, just make sure you can't get the individual releases for cheaper than this set also the single discs will most likely have better special features. Otherwise if you have the cash, buy this and you haven't seen Carpenters movies before and you love your horror and sci fi then you are in for a very pleasant treat indeed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
This is a very good boxset containing a good spread of John Carpenter's work. Disappointed that Starman or Dark Star are not included, and that a number of discs (like Prince of Darkness) have no real special features. But the picture and sound quality is excellent, the existing special features are informative, there is minimal packaging and the films themselves hold up very well. A must-have for Carpenter fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
I was attracted to this collection due to the fact that Carpenter had directed 3 of the most chilling films ever made, Assault on Precinct 13, The Thing & Halloween. Add to the mix, Escape to New York & the Fog and we're talking an outstanding legacy. All these films are included in the collection, and all the traits of a good Carpenter film are present: tight scripts, genuine shock & horror, distinctive soundtrack music (mostly provided by the director himself) and all clocking in around an action-packed 90-100 minutes.
Prince of Darkness, I hadn't seen before and while I wouldn't regard it as a classic it still puts a lot of contemporary directors to shame. The one dud is They Live, a good idea but not delivered with same aplomb as the others.
In summation, 6 out of 7 ain't bad, so well worth an investment.
33 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2011
Spanning a period of a little over 10 years, this is a great collection of films from a master of nihlism and violence. Starting with Assault on Precinct 13, we have what is essentially a classic western put into a late 20th century context. This is then followed up with by the best film of the collection, and one of the best horror fims of all time, Halloween. There are a variety of genres into which Carpenter inserts his visions, though his style is recongisable throughout as is his home-made music which pervades the soundtracks of all the films. Towards the end, we have a bit of mixed bag. Prince of Darkness is undoubtedly the weak link in this collection, though the follow up, They Live, is a subversive work of brilliant political satire.

That said, we need to put these films in context. They are not cinematic masterpieces with great acting or sharp scriptwriting, for the most part. They are just fun films, with little depth but a huge fount of enjoyment if you what you like is suspense, violence and a dose of insanity.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2014
It's John Carpenter, how could I possibly fault it?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2011
Absolutely classic boxset! All the great films. Doesn't play through an HD DVD cable though , as has interlacing problems (I have seen this on a number of modern re-release disks.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)