Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 28 August 2008
I have never played ANY Ratchet and Clank Games before,but i took a gamble and purchased this little gem last week.It is a great game.The graphics are really excellent,the different enviroments and planets that you visit are very large..with lots to see and do,plus you can generally find something to smash up within the envioments.The Puzzles in the game are not too tough,and with a few attempts you can master them.There is lots to see and do throughout the game,plus the makers have also included sub menus and some really diverse challenges.The weapons selection is awesome...to many to list here,you can upgrade your weapons throughout the game,and once upgraded they can really punish your enemies.I have given this Game 5 Stars as i think all round that it is fantastic value for money,easy controls,absorbing storyline,and most importantly LOTS of Fun and enjoyment and superb value for money which is what a great game is all about.This game will appeal to all age groups.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2017
I bought this for my 8 year old nice and myself (more myself if I'm honest) as some of the puzzles are a bit tricky. I have completed it and am currently playing again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 January 2018
funny game for the children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2014
My chap loves it and at 46yrs old too - whats not to like??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Everything was fine, I received it quickly and the game was as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2011
Three years on and in 2011 the Platinum release of Ratchet and Clank Tools of Destruction still has the same glitch for some PS3 systems.

But the same fix still works... Thank goodness some things don't change, including the game which we think is brilliant, or "extremely cool" as our young lad said!

So, if you receive a message telling you that you do not have enough space available on your HDD (419MB needed to install the game), despite having plenty of available space on your HDD... Just delete a demo / game you don't use that is over 500MB, or if you have internet connection for the PS3 and plenty of space on your HDD, just download a demo game from Playstation that is over 500MB, reboot the PS3, then load the game and it should work fine..

Worked for us.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 24 August 2009
Those of you who have played the PS2 versions of this game will know what you're letting yourself in for and will love this. Those of you who haven't played the PS2 versions of this game won't know what you're letting yourself in for and will love this.

The PS3 debut for our furry friend and his tin-pot sidekick is the best yet and makes full use of the console's processing power and graphics although it is only in 720p. It is a true blast all the way through with bold and bright colours, mad weapons, great moves and more enemies than you could shake a Pyroblaster at ! It is the usual chaotic fare with crate smashing, humour, jumping across swamps, space cities, ruined cities, rocky outcrops, space ships and is lots and lots of fun. It's one of those games that your parents (oops, that's me) will tut at but not fail to notice how well it is put together, how big and beautiful and playable it really is. I started this on my trusty Trinitron CRT but when that went pop and I upgraded to a my full HD Sony Bravia it really shone.

A platformer come shoot-em-up the attention to detail and design is excellent. The controls are faultless, use the L2 button to strafe, back flip and arab spring sideways whilst keeping your guns trained on the swamp monsters. Turn on a sixpence and let loose guided rockets from your Raptor Launcher. Use the 6-axis to fly high with your robo-wings. The weapons are superb and you need to get used to most of them to defeat the enemies who may come at you by the dozen. Launch the deadly Mr Zircon and he will float above you taking out the bad guys, cackling away in the process. Throw up a Groovitron and your confused enemies will dance to your tune, literally. Confuzzler Gas will make them turn on each other, that's if they're not being turned already by the your Tornado Launcher! Bump into the weapons vendor, fill up with ammo at the touch of a button and buy or upgrade as many weapons as your bolt and raritanium supply will allow. The mini games as Clank and his droid team make a welcome break from the Ratchet rowdiness, a kind of lemmings affair as he instructs his minions to help him on his way.

It's difficult to find fault with this game; if I was being picky I would say it is a bit déjà vu and the space-ship battles are pretty weak. Replay value isn't great unless you're a gold bolt hunter too but as it does not have trophy support that may reduce your motivation somewhat. It is also less of a challenge than the earlier versions but it is a big game and the humour and gameplay will keep you going back for more. The gold bolts allow you to buy extras such as different skins - I'm currently playing as Dan Johnson (whoever he is!).

Overall, it's an unashamedly fun game that does the R&C franchise great justice.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2008
This has to be the best platformer around! It improves on everything since Ratchet and Clank 3. The graphic are amazing as is the gameplay. It also makes good use of the Sixaxis controler.
The gameplay is similar to the other Ratchet and Clank games (apart from Gladiator) and fans will instantly feel at home. The environments are very impressive as are the weapons and gadgets!
Children and adults will enjoy.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 October 2008
I have never played a ratchet and clank game before, but this is truly awesome. On a HD TV the graphics are the best I have seen on any game! It is simply stunning. The gameplay is first class and a good mix of being challenging but not frustratingly so. Its humour is great too, with many laugh out loud moments (especially when ratchet our hero has to disguise himself as a pirate and dance like a pirate!) and some of the gadgets at Ratchet's disposal are superb like a groovitron which sees the baddest of enemies having to dance uncontrollably instead of attacking you! Everything about this game oozes class and I cannot believe how low it is in price either. A bargain that will provide you with days and days of addictive gameplay, its a big old game!.....10/10
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2011
Tools of destruction

I have owned all of the Ratchet and Clank games and this one being the first I bought for the PS3 I was expecting greater graphics and wishing for a similar super funny adventure story, and I was not disappointed.

As soon as the game starts with Ratchet and Clank on top of a building remodelling transport you can already tell the intricate details and a stunning graphic enhanced environment and proceedings simply get better from there. Captain Qwark looks rather strange I'll admit at first!

Having Qwark inevitably adds priceless comedy value to a story that is otherwise lacking in strong direction and humour. The villain cannot be taken seriously in any situation sadly. The humour at making him appear as a soft villain and a grumpy childlike mastermind does not come across too well. However the final boss against him is quite tricky and beautifully designed on a rock in space.

As with every Ratchet and Clank game there are new weapons and gadgets to enjoy. The best weapon I personally found was the Raptor launcher which allows accurate targeting. There is a tornado launcher which you control by tilting the remote. Tricky at first but thoroughly enjoyable later!

The remote is used an awful lot actually which has its good and bad points. There are pirates involved heavily in this story and to enter certain rooms you must "dance a pirate jig" meaning you must tilt the remote certain ways in order to gain entry. Slightly amusing but incredibly quick and hard to pass on occasion.

The great thing about this game is like all other releases from PS2 there is always plenty to do. Collecting bolts, exploring the scenery looking for hidden items, upgrading weapons and fighting different bosses all combine for a good entertaining experience. If not quite as strong as Ratchet Gladiator there is plenty of fun to be had and even though the play is harder all round, it is still very enjoyable.

The story ends quite sharply and leads into "Quest for Booty" a short game which I have not played and have instead jumped straight into "A crack in time" which I have to say is great so far and is easier, funnier and sharper than this release.

8/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)