Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
fab thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 September 2008
At long last the excellent soundtrack to the Torchwood series is finally released. The CD has nearly 79 minutes over 32 tracks of great music from Ben Foster and Murray Gold.
Like the first two Doctor Who OSTs this one does not disappoint although I must confess that I found this one slightly more enjoyable than the other discs by Murray Gold.
The CD has tracks that mainly stem from the second season of the show and it covers all the classic scores for a sci-fi series. It's dramatic (The Chase), poignant (Out Of Time), haunting (Pearl and the Ghostmaker), sad (Death of Toshiko) and strange (Look Right Then Leave).
It's not until you listen to this score that you realise just how much of an impact the music has on the show. There are some great examples of leitmotif, especially for Jack and Owen, which crop up again and again in other tracks.
The tunes are evocative and for fans of the show you will find yourself picturing the events in your mind as you listen. The final track for the Torchwood Theme is slightly longer and very nicely done.
While there are several tracks which are very dramatic and reflect the energetic nature of the show, the disc has its share of softer, almost bittersweet moments as well. The balance is about right and it's definitely done to provoke and emotional reaction.
Murray Gold has worked his usual magic but working with Ben Foster has given the score a very different feel to the work on Doctor Who and it's all the better for it.
A definite must have for any sci-fi music fan or those who love a great soundtrack.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2008
For whatever reason, the American iTunes store has released this album for download quite a bit before the scheduled release date in the United Kingdom, and being the fan that I am of both Murray Gold and Ben Foster, I jumped at the chance to get the album in digital form ASAP.

I can't comment on the presentation of the disc itself as it isn't out yet, but the music itself is astonishing. While Ben Foster isn't quite as seasoned as Murray Gold on the composing front, he more than holds his own. The themes and motifs he's written to represent these characters range between grungy rock and heart-wrenching orchestra.

Stand out tracks include Owen's Theme -- a piece of music that was particularly popular among fans -- and Gray's Theme, which utilizes the voice of Annalise Whittlesea in much the same way Doctor Who utilized Melanie Pappenheim. Captain Jack's Theme is an epic composition that many fans will remember from the series 2 trailer that aired at the end of Kiss Kiss, Bang Bang.

While there's plenty of tracks that get the pulse racing, there's also a lot of quiet emotion on display here. Often the music is much more somber and reflective than what is heard on the parent show, but it manages to avoid the trap of becoming nothing more than atmospheric noise, and it certainly never gets dull. The last 5 tracks on the disc are almost entirely comprised of soft mournful melodies, but it works to great affect.

The extended version of the Torchwood theme is... odd. It begins by pasting the opening titles music (all eight seconds worth) onto the ending titles theme, but then segues into a piece that was used as incidentals on the show. The editing is a bit bumpy, but it works well enough.

The one sticking point, for me, is the lack of music composed by Murray Gold. He did some excellent work in the first episode of series 2, all of which is missing here. This album is almost entirely Ben's baby, and while it's strong enough to stand on its own two feet, some more of Murray's music would have been nice.

If you're a fan of Torchwood -- or a fan of electronic meets orchestra -- definitely pick up this album. It's worth it. Despite having purchased it on iTunes, I will definitely be picking up a hard copy as soon as it's available.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
Torchwood * * * *
It has been a while coming but finally a CD to the music of Torchwood is here courtesy of the Doctor Who label Silva Screen. First up is 1: Everything Changes, an eerie piece, full of synthetic hits and slowly drawn strings, which brings the viewer slowly into the series proper. 2: The Chase is the first of one of the many fast paced cues on the disc incorporating a driving 7- note rhythm backing, with a repeating three note melody. Utilised for full orchestra, it's a rip-roaring piece slowly drawing to a lovely crescendo.

5: Toshiko and Tommy is a lovely piece of music incorporating a 5-note motif describing the romance between the two characters. Scored for purely strings, piano and woodwind it's one of the quieter passages of the disc. 7: The Mission is another driving punchy track, utilising that 3-note motif again. It is a lovely piece, counterpointed by strings with the brass taking the main theme, then switched to strings with a 5-note motif.

One of the more outstanding pieces is 8: Gray's theme, Jack's long lost brother. A choral led 7-note motif is used here and it is lovely, embodying the need of Jack to reunite with his long lost brother. Equally absorbing is the six note motif given to 9: Jack's Love Theme, first developed on the strings, and then solely so, giving a tender feel to the romance.

Another couple of tracks that really excel are the punchy 11: Look Right Then Leave circled around an 8-note repeating melody on bass, synth and woodwind, with occasional synth twists and 12: Welcome to Planet Earth. Here Foster unveils a lovely 6-note melody mostly on strings full of wonder and awe. 13: The Plot is a superb piece, building with driving synth, woodwind and percussion as the team puts a plan together. A lovely 6-note motif is run through various permutations on the strings and horn ending on a classic Torchwood cliffhanger.

15: The Death of Dr Owen Harper naturally enough is a sad affair, featuring mournful woodwind coupled with a descending scale of a piano as Owen's life dribbles away, or does it? 18: The Woman on the Roof starts with a deep tri-tone coupled with Owen's piano led 8-note theme, encompassing the tragedy of the situation of a potential suicide. Indeed, Owen gets his own take in 19: Owen's Theme where the 8-note theme gets a proper workout. Starting off on piano we get flourishes and then a build with electric guitar, drums, strings and full orchestra as Owen runs fuming, off the jetty.

20: Pearl & The Ghostmaker has an 'olde world' feel to it, encompassing a simple two note melody and a descending 7-note motif on piano. This perfectly sums up the creepy ringmaster from the travelling circus episode. 23: Toshiko Sato - Betrayal and Redemption perfectly sums up her unrequited love for Owen with a tragic 5-note motif on piano, accentuated even more by the addition of slow strings. A solo horn then ramps up the piece and builds with a fast paced 8-note motif.

We do go up a gear with the next one as 26: Captain Jacks Theme fully expands on the action theme. With the 8-note theme firing in on synth and strings counter pointed by brass hits, we then get treated to a full version of this theme. Foster then employs a slower version on drawn strings, coupled with heavy backing from the bass. A superb track.

28: Memories of Gray reuses the main theme from 8, building to a false climax, on tender strings for the long lost memory. Then, building to a powerful conclusion on the strings, Jack's despair is laid for all to see. 29: Goodbyes wrap up the end of the series. The cue featuring piano then leads into Owen's theme as Owen breaks Toshiko's heart at the power plant. 30: Death of Toshiko is a slow, painful 7-note string led motif that covers the tragic death of the character in the series with a bullet hole in the chest, courtesy of Jack's brother. My, was this sad in the series.

32: Torchwood Theme is the Murray Gold headliner for the series featuring echoed voices and a driving bass line coupled with a brass led 5-note scale and an oscillating 5-note motif on the strings which is quite unique to the series. Here it expands more with a repeating 3 - 3 note motif on piano.

It's not as easy listening as the Who discs but most certainly competent, and there are quite a few tracks on here that really rock the rafters. Though oddly enough, you will probably enjoy the incidental stuff more than the main theme. Because let's face, it it's damn hard to whistle the Torchwood theme!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2009
The CD was fantastic and a lot of the tunes were familiar as they are often used in the series. The Character themes being one of the best tracks on the album, that being said itwas a bit of a dissapointment that we didn't get Ianto's theme on the album and Captain John's theme which was one of the best songs from sason 2.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2008
I love Ben Foster and Murray Gold's Music and I love Torchwood So one excellent CD.
I think you will love the CD too!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2015
GREAT CD, GOOD SOUNDTRACK FOR A GREAT SERIES - RECOMMEND
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2016
item as described - great soundtrack. prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2008
absolutely brilliant, Ben Foster continues to achieve brilliant music just as Murray is on Doctor Who, while Torchwood music on the whole is completely different to Doctor Who music, and that comes with the different feel of the show and the different target audience, it still amazes me just how good the music is. On most shows i don't really notice the incidental music its just their but in Torchwood and New Series Doctor Who i actually watch the episode and think wow that was some amazing music, I really want to get that on cd.

My favourate tracks:

Grays Theme
Captain Jacks Theme
Owen fights Death
Owen's Theme
Another Day Another Death
Toshiko sato Betrayal and retribution

Anyway to sum up if like me when you watch the show you think wow what brilliant music this is for you but if you are expecting music like the brilliant stuff Murray produces on Doctor Who this isn't for you because the music has a much darker feel just like the show.

Hope i Helped

Billy (17)

P.S. my title comes from Capitan Jacks theme, in an interview he said that the music in the scene in countryside in season 1 where captain jack came in on a tractor was based on "Here He Comes In A Ruddy Great tractor", this then became jacks theme. Listen and you'll see what i mean.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2014
I love the Doctor Who soundtrack, and the Torchwood soundtrack is easily just as good - while there are better pieces and worse pieces, they're all brilliant, and definitely worth buying if you're a fan of Murray Gold.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)