Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
8
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2008
It is perplexing how under-rated Jimmy Giuffre is. He played in similar settings, at times, to that other great baritone sax player Gerry Mulligan, although Giuffre also played clarinet and tenor sax.

He used a number of settings but only occasionally with piano. His range went from, what ultra conservative jazz pundits like Wynton Marsalis call, real blues based jazz to more loose, less rhythmic free chamber jazz, of which Giuffre was a pioneer. This latter style of jazz became the staple of the German based, highly influential and successful ECM record label. Giuffre later recorded for that label with Paul Bley and Steve Swallow with whom he previously recorded his classic Free Fall album for Columbia.

There are many gems here that are worth checking out and I will not go through them here, I love The Train and the River from The Jimmy Giuffre 3 album although I have to say that the live version on the Jazz on a Summer's Day soundtrack album has a slight edge on the original.

This package is a fine tribute to a man who was a true great of jazz and I have no hesitation in recommending it.
0Comment| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2009
It is hard to believe that such fresh sounding jazz is in fact 55 years old. Amongst the many beautiful sounds on all 35 tracks on the two albums in this set I liked the interplay between a cool Jimmy Giuffre and an erratic but inspired Pee Wee Russell on "Blues in E Flat". As all the best reviewers say "Thoroughly Recommeded".
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
This release covers two albums recorded for Capitol, 'Jimmy Giuffre' (1954) & 'Tangents In Jazz' (1955), and two from 1956 for Atlantic Records - 'The Jimmy Giuffre 3', and 'Historic Jazz Concert at Music Inn' (featuring Jimmy Giuffre, Pee-Wee Russell, George Wein, Oscar Pettiford, Connie Kay, Teddy Charles, Percy Heath, Herbie Mann, Dick Katz & Ray Brown).

As an additional bonus there are two other tracks, both taken from the 1957 Columbia LP 'The Sound Of Jazz', featuring Jimmy Giuffre Three, and Pee-Wee Russell / Jimmy Giuffre Quintet.

35 wonderful classic cool Jazz tracks in total on 2CDs. Too good to be true?

Avid Jazz have no access to any of the original master tapes and generally clone/copy all the music from other existing original CDs or good condition vinyl LPs.

The sound on this 2CD set lacks tone and sounds rather flat when compared to the Japanese Atlantic CD editions of the same titles.

Avid Jazz titles are generally cheap and soundwise the company tinker with the source by either increasing bass/treble levels, or dumb all levels down (as is the case here) making the great music sound rather dull & lifeless.

Misleadingly these albums are packaged claiming the discs have been digitally remastered for possibly the best sound ever. This is deceptive marketing in an attempt to disguise the fact it is pirated music issued on the cheap. As is the case with most or all CDs on Avid Jazz you get what you pay for.

I actively avoid purchasing any music that I know has been pirated,cloned/copied, and as such cannot recommend this, or any other CDs issued on this label.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2010
At under 4 quid this has to be good value and I am happy to have spent that just to get the haunting track "The Train and the River" which I have only heard once since first hearing it as the opening soundtrack on the film "Jazz on a Summers Day" over 40 years ago. So why only 3 stars? The other tracks are just too polite, too controlled, too ultra West Coast for my taste. I shall play it now and again but I know it will never become one of my favourites.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2017
Jimmy Giuffre had a unique approach to much of his musical arrangements. Sometimes the rhythm section will pause to let the soloists swing on their own. I first heard the band play this way on the film 'Jazz on a Summers Day'. These 4 albums consolidate that impression. Its vibrant and imaginative jazz music from another era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As can be generally expected this is another great value for money release from the Avid stable. I've had my copy many years, and had the album "The Jimmy Giuffre 3" many years before on vinyl, and then CD. It is worth getting this release for that one album alone, it is a masterful album of cool jazz, modern chamber music featuring the multi-instrumentalist Giuffre together with star guitarist, Jim Hall and bassman Ralph Pena. The tunes are great and the interplay between the three marvellous and no one misses piano or drums! Yet there are three more classic albums included. The earliest from 1954, is "more conventional modern jazz" with a traditional modern line up. The second, from 1955, features a pianoless quartet (about the samr time as Gerry Mulligan formed his famous quartet with Chet Baker). The music is very free and here we see the start of free music, long before Ornette Coleman. The final album features four tracks recorded in 1956 at a sort of festival (actually a summer school) and features a medley of famous musicians in a variety of combinations and still there are two bonus tracks from 1957.
A value pack double CD, with enhanced sound plus a useful booklet. A must have purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2011
Wonderful to hear this much loved album from so many years ago but without all the 'clicks and pops' we endured on vinyl. Superb.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
Very avant guard, you will enjoy this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse