Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
13
4.2 out of 5 stars
Thule Wave Surfboard Carrier
Price:£59.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 August 2016
Theoretically this is a great design and it works really well when it's just me surfing, you can put the straps safely in the car when surfing and its secure and quick. HOWEVER, i often end up going surfing with someone else or occasionally take 2 boards if the conditions are unpredictable. The straps which are provided are such a squeeze with two surfboards that i am literally forcing it on to the frame because there is no slack to tighten it. I have also tried repositioning the attachment blocks so they are right next to the boards and it still doesn't give enough room to be able to pull the strap through. If these were 20cm longer it'd be ace, as it is it's annoying and may potentially break. I can't believe that someone tested these and decided this was a good length to sell at?!?! Frustrating.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
The quality of the clips and actual board carrier mounts is excellent as you would expect for a Thule product. HOWEVER the straps are far too short and for the sake of 20 cm of nylon webbing this could have been a 5 star product.

If you have an SUP or 2 boards you will probably need the Thule 841000 Lockable Tension Belt......
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2017
Great product, works well with my board (7 foot mini mal) on 2007 e91 BMW (3 series touring). Straps hold board securely on 260 mile trip with no need to re-tighten anything on the journey. I also added a ratcheting tie-down strap across the board and through my roof bars, just to be on the safe side; for shorter non-motorway trips this probably isn't necessary.
Although this is sold as compatible with Thule roof bars I was able to adapt the carrier to fit genuine BMW roof bars, all that was required was to swap the mounting bolts for longer (75mm) ones, plus I added nylock nuts and mudguard washers on top of the thumbscrews for additional security. Product was delivered on time with good instructions. 4/5 rating wrt the price (could be a bit lower).
Overall a really smart and easy way to carry a surfboard :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2017
Bought for use on my van's roof to hold a 9'1 longboard - already had roof bars up there which turned out to be too thick for the supplied fixings but wasn't too difficult to make it work. Really quick and easy to use. Haven't tried it with two boards but, as some of the other reviews say, it could be a bit tight to fit another board in with the size of strap supplied.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2016
Easy to fit , takes 2 large surfboards. Very secure and no dents on boards. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2016
I brought this just to see if it was any good.
Having install this and used it a few times now I have to say it is the best invention to have come out!!!!!
It holds the surf board within the brackets and grips really well. Doesn't move once in!!!!
Then tighten the straps and off you go.

The only bad point I have is the screws could of been a bit longer that attached the bracket on to the roof wing/bar. However they work fine.

If you carry a surf board around then buy one of these and you won't regret it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
expensive but well worth it keeps the boards safe and easy to transport
not so easy to fix on bars depending on boards
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2016
Was a bit dubious about putting my board on at first but is actually ace. No movement and no dings from the brackets or straps. Tight fit on the wingbars tho. Would 5 star if they had an slide in attachment rather that screwed nuts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2016
Ridiculously short straps. Fiddly clips. No way of using the T Track. I'd swear it was designed by someone who had never heard of or seen Thule products before. Currently looking for a better product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)