Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 January 2001
This is a must for any family, what a great film. Join Kevin after he is left home alone and see how he defends his home against two great would be burglars. But this time they have definately met more than their match.
Loads of action and loads of fun.
Oh and next time you leave the house, make sure you've got everything!!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
If you're sat at home on a gloomy October afternoon with nothing to do, and it's raining outside and you just can't wait any longer for christmas to come around, then this is the film for you!
Macauly Culkin plays the cutest little boy who finds himself 'home alone' at christmas, and does all the things any normal kid would only ever dream of!
This film puts you into full-on christmas mode and can lift any negative feeling that christmas is still miles off!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
The film is very good and in my opinion, the best one out of the lot. As you may know, it is about an eight-year-old boy, Kevin McCallister (Macaulay Culkin) who is accidentally left home alone when his family rush off to France for Christmas. He has to defend his house when two cat burglars, Harry and Marv (Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern, respectively) try to break in and hilarity ensues as Kevin sets a ton of booby traps around the house.
The picture quality is wonderful, a real step up from the DVD release. The film on Blu-Ray is 1080p HD and 1.85:1 aspect ratio (16:9).
The special features are excellent and not just a trailer or three, as with the DVD releases. There is the `Angels with Filthy Souls' featurette from the film but as a proper clip. This appears to be slightly different from the version shown in the film but good nonetheless. The deleted scenes are also very good and some of them should have, in my opinion, been left in the film as they are that good. There is also a `Making of Home Alone' feature which is very interesting and gives a real insight into the production of the movie. There are many more special features, all of which are very well done.
My only complaint is none of the special features are in HD, not even the aforementioned deleted scenes but you can't blame them really as many of them weren't made that way, such as the making of the film and a press featurette from 1990.

So, all in all, it is a great release, the movie is good and there are plenty of good special features to keep you occupied. A worthwhile buy and plenty of value for money.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2001
If you havn't seen this film I strongley reccommend you do. It's full of laughs and fun from start to finish. Brilliant acting from Culkin,Pesci and Stern. An excellent way to spend a Saturday night in December. On the sofa watching this film and you can't get through Christmas without seeing it at least once.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2012
Home Alone on Blu Ray. I am only relatively new to the concept of Blu Ray and if there was any Christmas film I was going to buy on Blu Ray, it was this!

I'm not going to review the plot of the film - a well constructed review on the internet can do that for you. I shall review the overall Blu Ray product. So, without further ado...

Picture Quality: 9/10. The picture quality gets a solid 9 from me. I had read some reviews of this film on Blu Ray that said the picture quality was very good. Essentially, I agree with the reviews. The picture quality is very good; colours and textures look stunning and backgrounds look really well in Home Alone. For a film as old as Home Alone is, the picture quality is a real improvement over any DVD counterpart.

Sound Quality: 9/10. The sound of this Blu Ray is amazing, one of the best I've ever consulted, in fact. Dialogue is crystal clear and it gave me great pleasure to hear John Williams' masterful score with such clarity. Top drawer stuff!

Overall, Home Alone is a real bargain on Blu Ray. Considering its age, it looks very well now in HD! The sound is also top drawer. Finally, the special features are quite fun and are well worth checking out.

Buy this. Money well spent.

Thanks for reading this. I hope it helps.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 24 December 2014
One of the best Christmas films, and me and my wife watch this film every year.
I could go on for hours how good this film is, so instead I will just review the dvd.
There are some good features, I have listed them below.

Fun Featurrettes
-The Making of Home Alone
-How to Burglar proof your home
-The stunts of Home Alone
-Where's buzz now?
-Angels with filthy souls
and 1990 press featurette

15 Exclusive Deleted scenes
Alternate Takes
Hilarious Gag Reel
Set-top Games: "Battle Plan"
Trivia Quiz and head count-and many more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2016
A classic Christmas film! This film delivers everything you need for a family Christmas film. I leaves you feeling good but is full of entertainment and laughs. No Christmas should be without Home Alone! Maculay Culkin plays Kevin, who is accidentally left behind when the family go away on their Christmas holiday (not very likely really but it's not a documentary I suppose!). Kevin repeatedly outwits the evil thieves and enjoys plenty of freedom whilst his family are away. A perfect film for the festive season.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2011
Ok now we have all seen Home Alone, Who hasn't? I don't think anyone hasn't, its on the Tv every year at Christmas. I have Dvd's but I decided I wanted to try the Bluray and I was expecting bad quality just like a Dvd look or something. I was Amazed at the Sound Quality and the Picture was so Hi-Defination not as Hi-Def as newer films, but they have made a Fantastic Bluray version of this. So anyone wanting to watch this and remember the wonderful Home Alone, Watch it in Hi-Def its fantastic, Well worth the money!

Just want Home Alone - Lost In New York (Bluray) Whens it Released in UK????
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 April 2015
With plenty of silly moments and wonderfully funny set pieces, courtesy of the famous booby-trapped finale, this delivers lots of heart in a story full of witty and charming moments. It made an international star out of Macaulay Culkin, and it's easy to see why at just 8 years old. He delivers everything you’d expect from a little one home alone; joy, sadness, fear, confidence and pride.

Coupled with fine support from Catherine O'Hara and John Heard as Kevin's parents, who head the family and their chaotic race back to America, this is a wonderfully family orientated film. From spending too much time together, from NOT spending enough time together and then bickering, laughing, fighting and valuing each other, this film has it all which we identify straight away from the opening scene. The chaotic family Christmas is made more relevant and easy to slip right into the frantic world of the McCallisters.

When the jokes and mad-cap fun and games of being home alone settle, we have some really nice tender moments seeing how scary the world can be for a child who has to learn to grow up far sooner than they should. Branded as a shop-lifter by accident, learning to conquer the fear of his basement and navigating a supermarket are all shown here in a nice way, but Culkin and the others convey a real sense of isolation and sadness away from the joy of the season that heightens how much family is important at this time of year.

BUT Kevin has much more time to raise smiles with his cheeky ways at fending off the ‘Wet Bandits’ time and time again, and his inner-monologues as he discovers adult pleasures such as eating as much junk food as you want, looking at nude Playboy pinups and using Dads aftershave are also a relatable sight!

And kudos to the dastardly duo, our ‘Wet Bandits’, Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern (who has THE best scream on film ever). They easily make the film something memorable with their imposing little and large appearance and their toe-curling, painful suffering at the hands of Kevin in the finale, which has nothing to do with ‘Skyfall’ thank you very much. They’re a great comedic pair and work so well together; Pesci being the brains, Stern being the oaf. And we have no swearing or no graphic violence – action comedy films CAN be just as effective without it (or it could be back in the 90s).

With a brilliant festive soundtrack, wonderful dead-pan performances and a very original premise that all children have dreamt about at some point and full of memorable one-liners and action, this works its way up to be a real classic Christmas family film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Classic film that I watch every Xmas. Get's better every year!

I had the pleasure of watching this with my young nieces and nephews and they were enraptured by it!

Well worth watching again and again. If you haven't seen it, watch it now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)