Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
114
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 May 2017
A great metaphor on how everyone watching reality TV like zombies. It would've been fun if they'd continued with say a Dead set based on I'm a celebrity. Almost a decade old and still fun to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
Better than what people give it credit for, is there anyone else out there who'd like to see the tv series BIG BROTHER invaded by flesh eating angry zombies?.. i would hense why i bought it..
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2015
Awesome short series with unexpected events that keep you on the edge of your seat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
Superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Dead Set is without doubt a watchable gore-fest, but could've been much better.
For me, it is spoiled by a bizarre post-production treatment... An annoying multi-image blurring used during every action scene. At first I thought it was done to cover up the lack of special effects. However, from watching the extras on the DVD, it is clear that the SFX are present and very convincing, but we can no longer see them!

An enjoyable zombie romp, but it could've been a classic.

(Is a re-cut from the original footage too much to ask?)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
It was ok but without giving anything away I hated the ending
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2008
im got/get so excited when i watch this, a mini series abt zombies set in England!!! i think theres a market to be exploited here, more please!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2012
This is a must buy for any horror fan, its an excellent zombie story equal to anything before it like dawn of the dead ect, it has an amazing cast who are all brilliant, Jaime Winstone is a great and sexy lead actress, for a u.k based horror series its amazing, one of the best zombie stories ever made, full of gore and bloody violence and at the same time has its really funny moments, if you have not seen this then buy it now you wont be disapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 June 2011
NO SPOILERS. A zombie thriller centred on the Big Brother house with Davina as a zombie. It sounds like it will be a mess - popular culture in-jokes colliding with a zombie spoof to make something barely watchable and instantly forgettable. However, from the moment that the familiar real-time video of the Big Brother house with geordie voiceover is replaced by the darkened and very cinematically shot interior of the control room, I knew that this wasn't a spoof. The characters are surprisingly strong, and the plot remains tight through all five episodes. Patrick is my favourite character overall. The cinematography is excellent (it looks like a movie) - the zombies are surprisingly scary and the special effects extremely well done. The soundtrack also adds a dimension too - nice and creepy. The special features are well worth watching - giving an insight into how the creative team overcame a standard TV show budget to make something that looks like a movie. There are a couple of moments that maybe are a bit over the top, however nothing that ruins the overall effect. Judged as a movie/TV show I would probably give it four stars, but I've been watching zombie movies for over twenty years now and I have to say this is up there with my favourites - Zack Snyder's remake of the Dawn of the Dead being my number one. What Dead Set very much has in common with that is that it remains overall a character drama and never decends into an excuse to use gore for it's own sake. 5 star zombie classic.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
There are a few mistakes on Amazon's listing of "Dead Set (re-package) [DVD]:

1) Product Details/ Product Description: It is NOT an "Uncut version" timing in at 160 minutes. It is the same length as the previous "version" (original package) at 141 minutes; I confirmed this by playing through the entire disc and timing it, plus its run time is stated as 141 on the back of the case. This 141 minutes includes each episode in its entirety, with opening/closing titles and the usual snippets of previous episodes which set up the current one.

It would have been nice if these had been edited out for the "Play All" setting, with the episodes stitched together to make a feature length presentation. Unfortunately, one must be interrupted by the credits and snippets in order to progress to the next episode.

There are deleted scenes, but these are not integrated into any of the episodes. Instead, they are part of the "Special Features" for each particular episode on each episode-specific menu.

2) "From Amazon.co.uk": The last sentence of the second/last paragraph in this section says that "this text refers to an alternate DVD edition". It does not say from which edition or what information is being quoted from this "alternate DVD edition".

3) "Product details: Format - PAL; Region - All Regions". This is noted on the back of the DVD case as well. While not a mistake, a caveat is required. Some DVD players for use in the US (Region 1) will play region-free PAL discs and others will not.

I have a Region 1 (NTSC format) player which will play DVD-r, Region 0 PAL, etc., but not Region 2 PAL. I have two other Region 1 players which will NOT play anything other than Region 1 NTSC discs and a Region 1 Blu-ray player which is just as picky. I also have a region-free Blu-ray player which plays everything I have tried on it. Suggestion: Region-Free players are inexpensive and worth the money to allow viewers the opportunity/freedom to enjoy discs which may not have been released in the country or format in which the viewer lives.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)