Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 31 October 2011
Hi,
This tool is of breathtakingly poor quality. The central pin which is intended to push the cycle chain link in and out it simply pressed into the threaded bar and so becomes loose when used once and then runs horribly out of true making it impossible to use. I accepted a replacement when this happened the first time and the tool Amazon replaced it with was just as poor. I got a refund but only after wasting considerable time. Made in China of course. Pass by this product, buy a German one from Rose Cycles.
Kind regards
James
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2015
I needed a tool quickly and didn't want to spend a fortune. After reading a few reviews I bought this one. While it did the job of getting a new chain on my bike, that's all it did. When I attempted to use it to replace the damaged links on my old chain with the spares from my new one, part of the tool snapped off meaning it wouldn't hold the chain properly. In the end I gave up and the tool is now completely useless. I bought another chain tool of a similar price and haven't had any issues with it. Maybe I wasn't using it correctly, despite following the instructions provided or maybe I just had bad luck but I'd certainly advise caution if buying this particular chain tool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 October 2015
Very strong quality build. Before owning this i had another tool made by bell that was very bad quality and nearly damaged my eye when breaking, compared this chain tool seems very strong and well build, the pin that pushes the chain link out is straight and strong and takes a lot of force without showing strain.
If you need a chain link tool chose this
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2016
Works well. However the main casting is a little things as one of the locating lugs broke on first use. I guess this should have only been used for thin chains. I have successfully removed & rejoined chain links no a box chain
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2016
I thought this one was fine came next day delivery and did the job no problem and gave me confidence in its usage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 April 2017
Fast delivery, tool is OK although would have liked slightly bigger handles for more leverage
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 August 2015
Good, solid quality and quite well made. Good size for good leverage so should be able to cope with most chains.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2016
Good value - works well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 September 2012
Bought to change the chain on my BMX to a white one which I have bought, the tool works fairly easily and did the job for me, only downside is that I have quite big hands and its hard to hold the small tool while putting pressure onto the chain!

Apart from that I am pretty satisfied with the product as it was so cheap... 4/5!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 June 2012
I hadn't ever removed a chain before and read all the other reviews carefully before buying this rivet extractor. It definitely deserves 5 stars. Easy and straightforward to use, I used it several times on two different chains and was very happy with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)