Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
172
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.07+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 April 2016
Star Wars has always fascinated me. I was excited when I heard that they were going to bridge the gap between episode II & episode III with both a movie and TV series. As the movie was/is not as good as the TV series I did like it. It is very "kiddy", but as a kick off point for The Clone Wars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2017
Awesome film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Its an okay movie but adds almost nothing to the series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
I needed to get this for my autistic son who had wanted this for a long time when he got it he was so happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2017
Great contact and item quality. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
Great start to the series, which just keeps getting better and better the further in you get.

I think this series is the best example of Star Wars available, much better than the movies. The SW universe works much better as an animated franchise than it does in live action in my opinion. Much easier to suspend disbelief and get taken along with the narrative. The movies (especially the prequels) can seem a little ridiculous at times.

This show contains the definitive portrayal of Obi-Wan, and it even manages to make Anakin likeable and shows a more gradual fall to the darkside than we got to see in the movies with his bizarre 'boo-hoo, i had a bad dream about my girlfriend' turaround. We also get to see Yoda being a bad @ss in this show, and get introduced to cool new characters like Ahsoka; Anakin's Padawan learner.

This show is much, much better than the current 'Rebels' show that replaced it, and i dearly wish that Lucas had waited just a few more years before selling SW to Disney so that The Clone Wars could have been finished. Perhaps we would also not have gotten the steaming pile of doggy do 'The Force Awakens' that was just a complete rehash of A New Hope. The Prequels may have been awful, but at least they tried to be their own thing rather than copying the entire first movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's a new star wars movie.

It's set betwene episodes two and three.

It's a cgi cartoon.

And it appears to be three episodes of the new tv series the clone wars edited together into one feature film.

the story involves anakin skywalker and his new apprentice - whom he didnt want to take on - having to rescue the kidnapped son of jabba the hutt from separatist forces under the command of the evil count dooku and his associates. the jedi and the clone troopers who fight on their side face a hard journey to reunite jabba with his son.

the animation is rather stylised like a japanese cartoon. whilst the characters do look rather good the backgrounds can be a bit static.

very few of the original voice cast actors [just samuel l jackson as mace windu, anthony daniels as c3po and christpoher lee as count dooku] reprise their roles. all the other characters who have been seen before are voiced by new actors who try and impersonate the performance of the originals.

anakin's apprentice talks like a californian valley girl.

and jabba's son is nicknamed stinky.

so this could all be horribly dumbed down.

but the movie succeeds because it contains the one element that the first three star wars films had, and the second trilogy so conspicuously lacked.

It's fun!

It's never dumbed down.the apprentice may talk like a valley girl but she's a fully rounded character and never gets annoying.

and it contains action scene after action scene all of which are really gripping.

this is quality star wars entertainment of the kind we thought we'd never see again, and it's a hugely enjoyable experience for fans of all ages. if they're prepared to give it a chance.

the dvd has language tracks in english and hebrew and english for the hearing impaired. it also has subtitles in arabic hebrew and icelandic.

it offers direct scene access to the film, and the sole extra is a commentary from the director, the producer, the writer and the editor.

the lack of other extras is disappointing, but the quality of the movie is such that the dvd rates a five stars. unleash the inner star wars fan in you again. it's worth it
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2016
got In a galaxy far far away... The STAR WAR saga. ?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2009
The kids will love this over-glorified toy advert ! You get the light-saber fights , trips to Anakin's home-world , the Hutt's up to no good and the Sith playing their usual underhanded tricks. It is nice to see Yoda , C-Threepio and R2D2 - some comic light relief is nice. I have watched it a couple of times knowing in advance that it would not blow me away like seeing A New Hope for the first time did many moons ago. I did recognize many of the plot lines from the more recent Star Wars films so the writers got their continuity facts absolutely right. Seeing an entire Star Wars film done in computer generated animation was interesting to say the least and even if the plot-line was pretty predictable it is no reason for not attempting such an enterprise again. Technically it was fine and the people who did the voice-overs did very well indeed. For any future Star Wars films done like this a more creative storyline could. move an average movie to a superb one. It is not a bad effort and there are certainly worse ways to pass the time- especially when Amazon are selling it at such a fair price
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse