Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
119
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2008
I am a hugh fan of all things Christmas and this movie is one if not the best Christmas movies I have ever seen, its right up there with the Muppets Christmas carol!! Class film for all the family. Buy It!!!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2016
Christmas film to cherish. Especially the dancing dj part!
Good quality bluray, step up from the dvd, and well worth the price.

Audio 5/5
Video 5/5
Film 4/5

Overall 4.5/5
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 15 December 2014
Fred Claus is a brilliant Christmas film and Paul Giamatti is wonderful as farther Christmas, if not the best I have seen since Tim Allen(the santa claus). The best part of the film was when the head Elf shouts to the SNOW GLOB!! and all the elfs run with the beautiful song silent night, and when they look in to the snow glob you see all the children opening their presents on Christmas Day, and it just fills your heart with the joy of Christmas.

This film also has a great part played by kevin spacey(the Christmas scrooge/super man)but my hat really goes of to paul giamatti, he is up there as one of the unsung heroes of Hollywood. Oh and the Blu-ray is just perfect, one of the best I have seen.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
I think this is a terrible film. Santa is a wimp and his brother Fred appears to be a delinquent. Despite all the colour and the gloss the moralising theme is out of place in Santa's family. Fred does his best to obliterate Christmas forever but then reforms and finally delivers the presents for his brother who spends Christmas in bed with a bad back. judging by the positive reviews received this is apparently a film you either love or hate . Sorry but I hate it. I think it is a waste of money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 December 2014
It does exactly what it says on the Xmas Movie Tin. Poorly received by the critics and equally unsupported by the internet hordes, Fred Claus may be guilty of sentimentality, but for those in need of a pick me up during yuletide then it delivers the requisite smiles to faces.

Vince Vaughn is Fred, brother of Santa (Paul Giamatti), who has grown up resenting his elder brother. When Fred is in desperate need of cash he gets in touch with Santa to ask for a big loan, Santa will oblige if Fred comes up to the North Pole to work for it. Anger, mirth and bonding does follow as Fred causes mayhem among the elves and finds himself pitched in the middle of a nefarious plan being hatched by Clyde Archibald Northcutt (Kevin Spacey).

Not all the gags work but there are some genuinely funny moments, while the romantic threads are a touch too twee. Yet this wears its Xmas movie heart firmly on its red clothed sleeve, and there's nothing wrong with that. 7/10
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
Fred Claus suffered his younger brother Nick's saintliness as a child. Jump ahead: Fred is a fast-talking, genial but self-centred guy in Chicago looking for $50,000 to open an off- track-betting shop.

When one scam goes awry, he calls Nick at the North Pole for a loan: Nick will give him the money only if Fred comes up to help a few days with the Christmas rush.

Santa's facing an audit from an efficiency expert, and it's not pleasant. Fred's job is to review charts and determine who's naughty and who's nice.

Fred Claus is the literal naughty child of Christmas movies. It has brash humour, a real cheeky side, but all in all, it's heart is in the right place.

The cast are great and Vaughn is in his prime in this movie, fast talking from start to finish.

It does hint a little bit of Elf time and time again, but it's funny for all the right reasons, even if it is very predictable.

It's slickly produced by Joel Silver, and although it's not the best film on first viewing , it's a grower for sure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2009
First of all, I wont be as naive to say that this is a Christmas classic, but for token fun and turn your brain off fare,this is highly enjoyable. Vince Vaughn fans wont be disappointed, and the support cast is good. Paul Giamatti,Rachel Weitz,Kevin Spacey,Kathy Bates,Miranda Richardson and the gorgeous Elizabeth Banks. I waited for a year for this to come out on DVD, and in the mean time I saw Vince Vaughns Christmas effort for this year, 'Four Christmases'. Given the choice between the two, I would go and see Fred Claus, it is a better movie. It does what all Christmas movies does, and that is make you feel really happy when you walk out of the cinema! Basically the story is that Vince Vaughn is the eldest of 2 brothers, the younger brother (Paul Giamatti) being Santa Claus, and unable to do anything wrong in his parents eyes, although he is a perfect child. Because of this Fred becomes bitter because his parents always spend their time having a go at him for his less than perfect life. It takes Fred (Vince Vaughn) to be thrown in jail, and to have to ask his brother to bail him out, only on condition that he helps him at the South Pole, for him to change his life, and in the end do the right thing. Throw in a sub plot with Kevin Spacey, trying to wreck the Toy shop, and Rachel Weitz as his long suffering girlfriend, and you have the ingredients for a great Christmas movie! I have the Blu Ray, and the picture is certainly of a better quality.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2012
We have become Xmas film collectors, and at bargain prices too, after all it is only once a year! Open a box of mince pies, put the kettle on or perhaps pour a glass of red. Feet up, tv on, DVD inserted. It's Christmas, enjoy the film, we did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2008
I watched Fred Claus in the cinema last year and LOVED it. You see Saint Nicholas' birth and some of his childhood growing up with his older brother Fred. Unfortunately due to Nicholas' saintly nature poor Fred feels that he is living in his brother's shadow and holds an anger aimed at poor Nicholas because of this.

This Christmas is different to other Christmasses as it looks like poor Santa is being shut down as Children's present requests are increasing every year and Santa hurts his back and is therefore unable to do his duty on Christmas eve. Only a Claus is able to ride the sleigh....

Will Fred Claus be able to understand the meaning of Christmas and help his brother, and if he does is there a chance he will be able to deliver all of the presents in time before sunrise. I am definately buying this dvd so I can watch it this Christmas as well.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2012
I absolutely love this christmas film! I have now made it part of my 'Christmas marathon' of dvd's I will watch each year, and only the very best get put in the list I might add.
This film is full of festive happiness, and will be one for all the family to enjoy. It's funny, romantic, festive, and full of quality acting. What more could you want for the xmas holidays! A definite must see :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)