Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2017
excellent product, fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Collecting all these want the complete set good condition and discs where fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Season 7 starts off looking spectacular. The opening episode offers much via story and action especially with the battle of the two Clarks. However after the 2nd episode the usual Smallville quality starts to slide very quickly. Lana returns from the dead and the "Clana" romance is quickly resumed, with Kristin Kreuk departing at the end of the season the writers seemed to have given up on her character - she proves an untrustworthy ally at several points and is reverted back to her previous role of victim for freak-of-the-week villains. The most irritating occurrences are Lana's attempts to leave, always resulting in Clark begging her to stay, believing she is the only one for him. The episodes with Helen Slater guest-starring as Clark's biological mother, Lara, are high points especially with Laura Vandervoort joining the cast as Clark's cousin, Kara, who will become Supergirl. Also spot 90's Superman Dead Cain and Marc McClure (Jimmy Olsen in the Superman movies) in episodes Cure and Persona respectively. This season is also the most "Clois"-less with Tom Welling and Erica Durance only sharing screen time in about 6 of the 20 episode run. However this is made up for in the Welling-directed episode "Apocalypse", an episode which explores an Earth without Clark Kent. Here, stripped of his usual allies, Clark partners with government-fugitive Lois to save the world from Lex and Brainiac. The finale episode "Arctic" has too much going on - Kara's fate seems rushed, Lana leaves a "Dear Clark" DVD (a little cold considering how hard Clark holds on to her throughout the first 8 years of the show), Chloe gets hospitalised, saved and arrested in the last 10 minutes! Finally Lex brings the Fortress of Solitude down on both his and Clark's heads - and we viewers are supposed to buy that both survived!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
It's a Good Movie, You learn a lot about the real life and how to make decisions in difficult situations.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2008
smallville season 7 what can i say except wow !!!!! season 7 has truly done what season 4, 5 and 6 could not it is truly back.

lets first look at season 4, 5 and 6 they were good dont get me wrong but there were too many bad episodes in the seasons and the whole thing of clark pinning over lana and not wanting to tell her the truth about who he is and what he can do begins to grate on ur nerves and lana whinning about how nobody wants to be honest with her easily becomes annoying and so over all the season were not great especially season 6 which featured very lttle of the worlds greatest superhero and finnally season 7 has removed all of that it is action packed and exciting with clark finally beginning to relaise his father jor-el is right and that he has greater destiny than just being a farm-boy, kara is a great addition to the show but the writers should have given her a better story line and more action bizzaro the second greatest villain of all time after lex lutor who has finally become the villain we hope he would, although if im honest the ending was'nt great the orignal ending was meant to be lex's memory was meant to be erased by jor-el and clark was fianlly meant to fly out of the fortress with "S" on his chest and then season 8 was meant to show how hard it really was for superman to become a hero but never the less fantastic job roll on season 8 which i wont talk about and ruin it for everyone but trust me it is different - good different - trust me when i say but this boxset especialy from amazon the best place to buy - so for now up, up and away !
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2008
30 something actors are playing 22 year olds. The security at Lex Luthors' mansion and at the Fortress of Solitude is as bad as ever (clearly they use the same security company). Clark still can't fly. But hey who care?! This season takes of from the cliff hanger of season 6 and quite literally ends on an earth shattering finale of its own.

Season 7 demonstrates a real maturity in terms of the characters and the wider Smallville universe. For the characters themselves we obviously have to start with Clark and Lex.

What I love about this series is that you don't notice subtle changes that are going - its only when there is a sudden abrupt change that you realise that it had been going on for ages and you find yourself saying "Ah!". Clark in this season is gradually waking up to the fact that his old life is practically gone - most friends and family have moved on. This really hits home with an episode that sees the (thankfully brief) return of Pete. This was a subtle episode that demonstrated that Pete and Clark are very different now - they are friends but have both moved on. Clark towards his greater destiny - Pete to his, well, lesser destiny. But the real tear jerker that forces Clark to face the changes is the video left by Lana in the series finale. Understated and brief - its all the more powerful. Lana functioned as a sort of bubble for Clark - a link back to his carefree past - her leaving all but cuts this.

For Lex - wow. Smallville always managed to avoid having him as a cartoon baddie. What really took off on this season was Lex rushing towards his destiny as the powerful enemy of the "Traveller". We get to see the childhood of Lex and his inner struggles. The moment that he and Lionel have their final encounter - powerful stuff. But what really hits viewers is Lex's view of what his destiny was. The link he has with the Traveller, the impact that has had on his life and how it will ultimately play out - this was biblical stuff.

For the overarching storylines of the series. Well a special mention goes to the Veritas saga. Debate rages on message boards across the land about whether or not writers had planned this from the start of the series. Regardless if they did - the Veritas storyline weaves together almost 7 years of storylines. Smallville has always managed to pull of the secret legends stories, particularly in Season 4 and 7. But there is a real epic storylines going in season 7.

Other storylines wortha mention: the return of Brainiac - always a joy. Bizzario is also great fun. Tom welling clearly enjoys playing a baddy instead of straight-laced Clark. That and he gets to wear a blue jacket and red tshirt, instead of vice versa. And Lionel finally meets his maker.

Few gripes though with this season. Kara could have been a great character. But instead it feels like the writers didn't have a clue what to do with her - Kal-El's blonde flying cousin - bout it. Too much screen time is given to Jimmy Olsen - one episode focused on him - and it is the weakest of the series. He is perhaps the most unengaging characters of the season.

I have seperate views of how much longer Smallville can go on without losing quality. But that does not negate the fact that Season 7 is trully mind blowing.

In the final scene where Lex says "It has to end this way". We always knew where it was going - but so far its been one hell of a ride getting there.
55 Comments| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've heard that Smallville starts to decline in the second half of the show's 10 year run. I didn't see that with season 6, but I did feel that with season 7. Part of it might be the writer's strike, but overall, I just felt the writers got a little sloppy.

As always, the season starts off by resolving the cliffhangers from the previous season. In this case, Lois Lane (Erica Curance) and Chloe Sullivan (Allison Mack) are trapped under the dam that is crumbling. Meanwhile, Lana Lang (Kristin Kreuk) is presumed dead after she was scene getting into a car that exploded. And Clark Kent (Tom Welling) is fighting is doppelganger Bizarro.

In the middle of all this getting resolved, someone new with powers rescues Lex Luther (Michael Rosenbaum). That someone is Clark's previous unknown cousin Kara Kent (Laura Vandervoort). Kara, aka Supergirl, has been frozen for the last 17 years and wakes up with no idea how to react to the human world she is finding herself in.

Meanwhile, as the season gets rolling, Lana and Clark finally seem to be making their relationship work as they move into the farm house. A doctor thinks he has a cure for the meteor infected, which is great for Chloe since she is freaking out about her new found powers. And Chloe's secret leads to problems between her and Jimmy Olsen (Aaron Ashmore). A superhero movie is filmed on the Kent farm. A new editor at The Daily Planet gives Lois a job at the paper. Pete Ross (guest star Sam Jones III) returns for a final episode. And thanks to Kara, Clark learns a bit more about his family while Lionel Luthor's (John Glover) past in Veritas comes back into play.

As you can see, there is plenty going on this season, and overall, I did enjoy it. These characters are great, and I enjoyed spending time with them. There is still a great mix of action, comedy and pathos. The story can be very compelling.

Which is why it is frustrating when things just don't work as well as they could. The worst example of that is Kara. Here's this great new character, but they obviously don't quite know what to do with her. Early in the season, as we are getting to know her and she is revealing information about Clark's past, she's a great addition to the show. But in the second half, the writers seem to go out of their way to write her out for several episodes at a time and then to treat the character poorly when she comes back.

There were also some times when the story seemed to jump a bit with no real idea how the characters got to where they were. Some of that was filled in eventually, but it was rather jarring. Other parts of it were only filled in by the deleted scenes in the set, and there were plenty of them.

Both of these problems I am laying squarely at the feet of the writers. It's certainly not the actors who are all in top form here. Laura Vandervoort fits right in with the rest of the established cast, who are still masterful at bringing their characters to life. Fun guest stars this season include Dean Cain, a former Superman himself, and the movie's Jimmy Olsen, Marc McClure.

The special effects are still great as well, which is important for a show dealing with super powers on a weekly basis. Trust me, you'll believe everything you see as you watch.

After my complaining earlier, I have to praise my favorite episode of the season. "Siren" brings back Green Arrow and also introduces Black Canary. The dynamic in the episode is pure fun, especially as Lois learns something surprising about Oliver Queen. I would have enjoyed it even if I hadn't seen Arrow introduce Black Canary this year as well. Once again, I enjoyed comparing and contrasting the two very different takes on the heroes.

This was the season that aired during the writer's strike a few years back, and thanks to that event, there were only 20 episodes in the season. (Might that have affected the writing story elements I was complaining about earlier? Possibly, but I can only judge based on what we got.) All of them are preserved in wide screen and full surround on five of the six discs in this set. The sixth disc contains a look at Supergirl over the years and a fun featurette with four actors who have played Jimmy Olsen talking about their experiences (why weren't either of Lois and Clark's Jimmys present?) There's also a digital comic book and a collection of Mobisodes featuring Kara. The deleted scenes I referenced above are scattered throughout the discs with the episodes they came from. There are also audio commentaries on two of the episodes from the middle of the season.

This season also marks the end of the road for the creators and three of the original cast members, who moved on to other things. I'm quite interested in seeing how that changes things for the final three episodes of the show. Meanwhile, season 7 of Smallville proves to be entertaining while still being a step down from the last couple of years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2010
Season 6 really set Smallville off in a grand new direction, expansion of the DC Universe with Green Arrow and other members of the Justice League, Lex is the villain and the season finale had a pretty decent cliffhanger. It is frustrating therefore that season 7 overseas a detereoration in the show's quality as two characters are pretty much ruined and whole seasons past undermined. This doesnt mean the season is a complete write off though, there are still moments when it shines brightly but on the whole it comes across as pretty mediocre.
The season can be pretty much split into two halves, the first half revolves around newcomer Kara-El (Laura Vandervoort) or Supergirl who has arrived to Smallville leaving Clark with a lot of questions about his family while Lex Luthor is determined to find out who she is. This first half is when the season is at its best, Kara's presence makes Clark take up the role of head of the family and makes him more of a lead for the first time, with this also comes a little bit of back story when it comes to the history of the House of El which culminates in 'Blue'. From this point the season becomes focused on the return of Brainiac (James Marsters) while Lex is trying to uncover the mystery of the secret society known as Veritas.
Admittedly, your view about the Veritas storyline really depends on your point of view, after all it does explain why the Luthors were so interested in the strange and unexpected in Smallville but yet it also raises the issue of why Lionel helped to push through a shady adoption for the Kents when he already knew what was coming? For me personally, I found the storyline a little too much to digest and seemed to take something away from the earlier seasons when Lionel and Lex's obession with the weird added alot of tension and suspense. However the Brainiac storyline seems rather aimless with him merely showing up and looking tough without seemingly having a grand scheme compared to the fifth season. Seasons 7 comes across a little bit as having no new ideas as to what to do and for me the story telling shows this. The final confrontation in 'Arctic' should hold so much emotional wieght but comes across as rather flat. Also Lana and Lionel's characters change to such an extent in this season that the original characters that we loved from earlier seasons no longer exist and both of them become rather annoying and pointless.
The season however does bring quite a few positives. As said above Tom Welling does start to come into his own as a lead some more and Laura Vandervoort is a welcome addition to the cast. It is also great to welcome back James Marsters despite my misgivings in regards to the story. However once again the real star of the show is Michael Rosenbaum's Lex Luthor who is well on his journey as the shows primary villain. This precipice is reahced in 'Descent', a show stealing episode this season and the point of no return for Lex Luthor. Tom Welling also makes a great villain as 'Bizarro' is wisely used to demonstrate finally how Clark Kent and Lana Lang begin to go their seperate ways.
It's a season I think that will be judged based on individual tastes. I'm a die hard fan of this show who was simply blown away by the sixth season and frankly the seventh season didnt even come close to repeating that nor did it take Smallville in any bold new direction. However it is still a worthwhile purchase and has some great episodes in there, if you are a Smallville fan then the seventh season is still something for you to enjoy.
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)