Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
44
Diff'rent Strokes - Complete Season 1 [DVD] [2008]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 June 2016
Season one of diff'rent strokes. Over 9 hours of episodes. The casting, writing and characters are superb. Willis and Arnold have great chemistry and are full of zany antics, the show focuses in on their adjustment from rags to riches. Conrad Bain plays the stern but loving father and Kimberly is his sweet natured daughter. The show is set in New York and takes place mostly inside the home. The show has some serious points to make about race and the changing nature of families in 1980s America, it never gets preachy though. A lot of the episodes are based around a secret the two boys try unsuccessfully to keep, sometimes for noble reasons and sometimes not. The characters are all usually a little wiser at the end.

I could only find season 1 on region 2 but I was still pleased to find this at all. All in all there are 24 episodes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2017
Watched this in the 70s and 80s and have just introduced my kids to it - they love it, just as I did!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
i bought this DVD to finally show my grandkids the source of the saying "What you talking about Willis?" which so many people still quote in many scenarios. it is some what dated (as you would expect) the concept of poor kids lifted into wealth more than a fantasy but the humour still holds up well & the grandkids loved it! it still raises todays issues which show we have not learned everything yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2017
My daughter loved this. Brought back memories of watching this years ago.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2014
most of you might never have heard of this ,a millionaire looking for heirs to his fortune not just for his daughter pick out two orphaned down and outin this funny 3 disc set see the fun,jokes ,laughter and smiles even memmories for people like me,recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2014
i am now 36 and i love this now as much as i did back in the 80s.this is funny and touching at the same time.i really do hope all the other seasons are released on region 2.a real gem
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2014
loved this series never watched all before as was to young.my husband recommended buying it. good to watch over and over again thanks janexxx
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2016
Great memory
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2017
I love Diff'rent strokes. I watched it a small child and thoroughly enjoyed it top marks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 January 2013
Brought for my dad as a Christmas gift. Very good, brought back a lot of memories even for me! Recommended for those that love and remember the show.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)