Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
145
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.18+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 March 2014
Recently decided to get this again as i realised there are 2 versions and was intrigued as to how much adult content was there to start with, so i am reviewing the UNCUT version, as a film fan i only really ever want to see uncut versions of films so watching it again i did enjoy it, i remember when it was released in cinemas in '86 headlines were saying that parents were dragging their kids out in disgust as Howard was bedding women and swearing on screen..well yes he does but Howard has always been portrayed this way in the comics so they were just trying to remain faithful to those i feel.
At the end of the day there are a few bits which could seem unsuitable but considering what some 15 year old kids are allowed to watch like Inbetweeners and Ted , i don't think this would cause younger viewers any harm.
The effects hold up ok especially the final creature which was made using Phil Tippets Go-motion which makes it look more articulate like the Dragon Vermithrax in Dragonslayer.
The humour is cheesy but charming and Lea Thompson looks great in the now infamous pink panties scene which caused outrage at the time.
Seeing this again kinda makes you wish they could do another one and make it even more adult.
33 comments| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2007
Ha - "Howard The Duck", more notorious for the way it cut a swathe through Lucasfilm's reputation in the mid-'80s than for anything as mundane as plot, is finally coming to DVD in an (albeit probably bare-bones) Metrodome DVD Region 2 only release. Yes, I realise that it hasn't been released yet, but as I have seen the movie countless times since it's 1986 release, I feel qualified to comment early.

The story - Howard is plucked from Duckworld by means revealed later in the story, only to find himself stranded in Cleveland surrounded by the "Hairless Apes" who treat him like a freak - Apart from Beverley, teased-haired Valkyrie who fronts a band that makes Kajagoogoo look like Black Flag, and Lab Assistant Phil Blumbutt (Tim Robbins! Everybody has to start somewhere) who soon find themselves caught-up in an adventure involving The Dark Overlords Of The Universe, An Experimental Piledriver (or something) and Cajun Sushi. How can anybody NOT be excited about this?

As an added bonus, this version is apparently the uncut film (two scenes involving a condom and Jeffery Jones plugging into a car cigarette lighter via a mouth tentacle have long been excised as being too disturbing for the kiddies), and lest we forget, "The Phantom Menace" is one of the top grossing films of all time, and this one knocks it out of the park. Okay, not the hardest of feats, but trust me on this.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 February 2008
Let me tell you something about film critics. It's easy to pick faults in someone else's work, even if you do not have it in your power to create an equal work of art. The average film critic, by his very nature, is just a pretentious know-it-all who is quite frequently talking from the wrong end of his alimentary canal. When HTD came along in 1986 it was the first true victim to the pop culture critic. George Lucas was a juggernaut of filmmaking and there were many who want to see him fall.

For 30 years it has been called 'the biggest flop of all time' and other such terrible labels. Well, it cost $30 million dollars (nothing compared to today's budgets, inflation or no inflation) and took $37 million worldwide and that's not even counting the higher-than-you-think rental revenue. Add it altogether and HTD is most definitely NOT the flop it is accused of being. But since it was a rather eccentric (and occasionally raunchy) family comedy (an easy target) and one of the first films to significantly under-perform at the domestic box office (George Lucas expected the returns to be astronomical) it became a scapegoat for bad studio spending and taste.

I guess that the world needs something or someone to blame when pop culture goes wrong and the jackass critics I mentioned already seized upon Howard's failings to make a name for themselves. Derogatory soundbites are easy to come up with and everyone who hated the film used some kind of duck-themed insult to put it down and make themselves feel clever. But, when you think about it, these are basically the same people who will deliberately give a bad film a great review just to see their own name on the poster. You ever see a recent M. Night Shyamalan movie with quotations on the poster? They exist.

The film also suffered a further bad rep when George Lucas publicly disowned the film. It's under-performance forced him to sell off a part of his company which went on to become Pixar (think of how much he could have earned if he didn't) and it really made him quite angry. Wouldn't you be? But I consider this a good thing as Lucas owning Pixar would have been disasterous. Howard's failure stopped Lucas from having too much power and I am happy with that.

I am a huge fan of the late Steve Gerber's comic-books. HTD was basically the first BIG comic-book movie and came surprisingly soon after he found success in his own series. Howard first appeared in an issue of Man-Thing and starred in a few other issues of Conan and even Spider-Man before Marvel gave him his own wings in the late 70s. The comic-book stories are the most surreal, archaic and satirical I have ever read and it's a shame that they had to tone it down for the movie, but that's to be expected.

As an ordinary duck working for an advertising company on his home planet of Duckworld, Howard is blasted across the universe right out of his living room by an experimental laser developed by Dr. Jenning (Jeffrey Jones). He lands in Cleveland, where he meets Beverly Switzler (a super-duper cute Lea Thompson) a rock singer who takes him under her wing...I mean arm. Now trapped in a world he never made the one attempt at sending him back home unleashes the forces of the Dark Overlord of the Universe on Earth through the possession of Dr. Jenning and he intends to bring more of his demons through the portal. Yeah, that sounds pretty heavy. (Weight has nothing to do with it)

I'm actually a sucker for duck-related stuff. I don't know why. Donald Duck, Daffy Duck, Duck Tales, Darkwing Duck, Duckman etc. The list goes on and on. What I particularly like about the HTD movie is how most people seem to be completely at ease at talking to a humanoid bird and Howard himself is A-D-O-R-A-B-L-E.

Some of the fairer critics claimed that the film might have been a bigger hit if they had used CGI or traditional animation to bring Howard to life, but I must disagree. Part of the appeal of Howard is the fact that he is actually physically there and not some ghost who has been photo-shopped in afterwards. I love the duck suit, to me it is completely convincing and Chip Zien's voice work is perfect. I'd totally love to have Howard as a pal. The special effects are also a perfect mix of genuine stuntwork, optical fireworks from ILM, and outlandish stop-motion creatures courtesy of Phil Tippett.

No joke, this film has a unfairly notorious history and a totally wrong perception by the general public or those who turned their noses and beaks up when it came out in 1986. Clear your head of any preconceptions that you might have and enjoy it on its own level. Though we really could have done without that silly narration over the opening title.

The Blu-ray looks great in 1.85:1 1080p with DTS HD-MA 5.1 sound and a lot of good extras. Totally worth buying
33 comments| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ok, so Tim Robbins and others may want to forget this but I really love this movie and have waited for a DVD release, shame there are no real extras but no doubt many of the big names involved here have "moved on" and would regard this movie as a blot on their past history.
Sure it's not aimed at the same adult audience who loved the comic book, there's no hard hitting satire but it is at heart a fun movie and the special effects are superb.
It's a simple story of a bored duck flung out of his own world by accident and now trapped in a world he never made. He befriends a female rock singer and her "scientist" friend and an attempt to send him home threatens to bring down alien dark overlords.
Lea Thompson looks stunning with 1980's big-hair.
Watch this with an open mind and a beer, just as Howard himself would.
11 comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
Howard the Duck is a Marvel based superhero of some sort. The reason why I wanted to see this film, is due that the character appeared in the Lego Marvel Superheroes game. It's not that massive. It's a quite a good film about a humanoid duck from a parallel universe brought to our world in 1986. Howard the Duck experiences his curiosity on earth and meets up with an adult girl and there is another being coming to earth and Howard must stop the invasion.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2016
Bit of nostalgia for me, haven't seen this film for years, still as good as i remember. Given the date of production the effects are quite good, sure kids today would scoff at the lack of CGI but it's funny and a good film, not too scary or rude if the kids do decide to watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2016
Marvel fans seem to hate it, critics panned it but I kinda like it! It's funny, Thomas Dolby Cameo and soundtrack, has most of the scenes reinstated that were axed for the UK Cinema release, guilty pleasure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 November 2012
I've personally just watched this movie for the first time, I was lent a copy by a friend after I spied it in his DVD collection. I was instantly intrigued, I mean, a movie with George Lucas's name attached, called Howard THE DUCK??? I just had to see it.

Having finished watching it, I have to say I thought it was great, no masterpiece by any means but it gave out exactly what it promised.
Sure it was cheesy as hell, and some of the jokes were just terrible, but the charm it oozes comes at you in bucket loads. The movie is over 20 years old and yet some of the special effects are better than in some of the dross out nowadays, and are definitely better than most movies out in the 80's.

The humour is hit and miss at times but I thought it far funnier than anything the likes of Adam Sandler has done to date. The big no no for me was the music which I have to admit was really pants. Not so much the songs the band play during the film but the actual score itself. But that's just a minor gripe.

Tim Robbins was so over the top and Jeffrey Jones was a hoot.
Amusing, cheesy, plenty of fun action, decent effects for the time, ridiculously over the top and packed to the hilt with an 80's nostalgic feel, I'm sorry but I have to say it is a very good movie for what it is. Far better than I was expecting.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2013
Will you be a better person if you watch Harold the Duck? No. Will you be a more knowledgeable or wiser person? No.

On the other hand it _is_ quite entertaining and despite the disturbing use of duck boobies it's got some scenery chewing performances that make it really quite amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2013
watched this as a kid and it must have had an impact for me to remember my kids like watching it good film don't make much like these anymore mac and me and garbage pail kids are all good films all different in there own right be worth the watch you eaver like them or you don't but my kids do so that,s all that matters and still do aswel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)